1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NAS Vs Microserver

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by FreedomEclipse, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    Just because i have an avatar of a chick, everyone automatically assumes im one? ::roll::roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Unholywar

    Unholywar

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    67 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    You can get 180 day trial of server 2012
    If I don't find any advantage to the server 2012 then I will go back to windows 7
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,151 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,195
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Because the women who try to make it obvious complain every time I say "him". :confused:
    I should just stop using pronouns on TPU. :p
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    after spending part of the night reading about raid arrays and messing about with synology's raid calculator. I decided it would be best to go with a microserver just because there are better options when it comes to expansion so in a sense its more 'futureproof'

    I'll be looking at getting four 2 or 3TB hard drives for a RAID-5 config. I have seen a 2TB Toshiba going for under £70 and its ludicrously cheap for the price. however its not as energy efficient as WD Reds & I have read quite a few reviews on newegg about the drive being DoA or having problems not long after installation.

    Ideally getting a load of WD REDs would be the best option. However this isnt cheap move. Cheapest price of a 3TB WD RED in the UK is £115 the price on newegg is $150 and when its converted to GBP is just under £99 so we get shafted on price.

    after looking into more hard drives for RAID, I found out that i can purchase a 3TB Toshiba drive for the same prices of a 3TB seagate so thats another option.

    The market seems to be pretty messed up when it comes to pricing. why should a 3TB hard drive come to £99 when there are some that sell for £115???


    Due to the pricing im gonna hold off on the project for a while but I might take a gamble on the 2TB Toshiba drives for £68. I'd get 4 for RAID-5. If one goes down at least they would be cheap to replace.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    We don't get shafted in price, that conversion is pretty much spot on when you factor in VAT, we get shafted in taxes though ;)

    May look at grabbing one of those micro servers myself, not too bad for the cost especially with the £100 cashback offer
     
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,356 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Home
    VAT?

    Ill get the Toshibas, if you are going to raid them one or two failing is not going to affect much.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    Yeah, after further calculations 4x2TB@£68=£272 provides best bang for buck. I could run with 3x3TB for better energy efficiency and less shit that can go wrong with raid but 3TB Toshiba DT series (lower power) drives go for £100 each and that would end up costing £300 to set up and my prices dont even include price of the microserver yet.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,151 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,195
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Just remember, RAID is not a backup, it is only redundancy. You still should backup your data regularly to another device like an external hard drive or something so consider that price of that as well if you're really serious about doing this. You don't want to be stuck down river without a paddle.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    Ive already got backups covered - I have 2 hitachi 4TB External drives
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,151 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,195
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    What are the warranties like on the drives, though? I tend to go with WD black because of the 5 year warranty and the performance is pretty good. The reds get 3 years.
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    website states 2 Year Manufacturer Warranty.

    Ive just found out that i can shove a hotswap bay into the optical bay. The more and more i look into having a NAS/Microserver the more the price goes up.

    Its not going to be as cheap as i hoped.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,356 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Home
    No its not, but that is the cost of having multiple backups and redundancy.
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,795 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,992
    Location:
    London,UK
    well Its gonna cost me around £400-500 anyway you look at it. Im trying to see if i can build a cheaper microserver based on an AMD E-350 for less.



    ::Edit::

    Ok, scratch that Idea - its not gonna work...
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2013
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)