• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Native Resolution

Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
Do LCD monitors look really bad when they are not displayed at their native resolution? I just ordered a 20 inch LCD monitor with a native resolution of 1680 X 1050. I am going to be running a X1950 Pro in my new computer. I just don't know how long it will output with a decent frame rate at that res with future games.
 
Last edited:

GJSNeptune

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.49/day)
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
I can't imagine that card even breaking a sweat with that resolution. I suppose you can say the native resolution looks the best, but the monitor isn't the biggest factor in making stuff look good. I would never have a resolution smaller than the native. Going larger probably won't be significantly different.

Unless, of course, it's a cheap, generic display. What monitor, by the way?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
I can't imagine that card even breaking a sweat with that resolution. You should be absolutely fine.

Awesome. I can always back down by lowering AA / AF / HDR , etc.
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.59/day)
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
should be decent man but if you like maxed graphics on all your games you might not be able to.. unless you oc it.. The 1950pro is not much better than my 1900gt rev.1 stock and at 1200/1024 The game fear made the game unplayable with maxed graphics unless I heavily overclocked (like 690/810).

Is yours a 512 version if so you will be really set for high AA/AF @ high rez, prob without overclocking.

Edit: FEAR could bring my card to its knees stock but with many other games it flies trough it.. Company of Heros is a breeze for my card will all but one thing maxed..

ofc the 1950pro has way better memory clocks.. so you might not need overclocking since I think it uses 810mhz memory clock stock.. I think my mem is what slows me down when Im not overclocking it.
 

GJSNeptune

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.49/day)
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
Heh, you didn't mention gaming. That's a big resolution for a Radeon Pro card. I don't doubt you could OC it though. Just make sure to stop OCing if you run into any snags. If your case tends to be hot, you might want to refrain or OC slightly. Some games are insanely more graphically intense than others. Just be careful. Try to play new games with medium settings. Don't just max everything the first time you jump into the fray.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.59/day)
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
you should be ok I run that rez now aswell, you said you dont mind turning down AA/AF so your defilently fine.. what version did you get 256 or 512?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,753 (0.52/day)
Location
louisiana
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 512 GB 840 PRO SSD Main Drive and Samsung 512 GB 840 EVO SSD Backup Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit Edition
monitors only look good or bad according to which video cards running them. thats your only concern about upgrading later on.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
you should be ok I run that rez now aswell, you said you dont mind turning down AA/AF so your defilently fine.. what version did you get 256 or 512?

256 Version. The 512 one cost ~$40 more. I was stretching my budget really far. I bought an E6600 for $200 last night instead of a E4300 for $125. Then other "minor" upgrades in other parts added up to even more.

And thanks for everyone's comments.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.95/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
no, if its not at its native resolution it doesnt look bad, per se. It looks weird.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
no, if its not at its native resolution it doesnt look bad, per se. It looks weird.

Haha ok. I can't wait to get mine. The only other LCD monitor I have checked out throughly is a low end Dell 17 inch monitor.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,483 (3.96/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
sorta off topic but does this native resolution apply to CRT's too?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
sorta off topic but does this native resolution apply to CRT's too?

No. They adjust to whatever the resolution is set. They will always look the best at the highest resolution they support though.
 
Top