• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help updating my graphics card bios

Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
System Name Old Rigs can Rock
Processor Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz OC 3.12 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5QPL-AM
Cooling Stock cpu cooler - Stock GPU cooler - Silent OEM Fan Case
Memory 3GB DDR2 333MHz - Kingston
Video Card(s) 9600 GSO 512 MB (lite version)
Storage Main- Maxtor 6V160E0 Secondary- Western Digital Cavir WD800BB
Display(s) LCD- Samtron 73v
Case OEM case
Audio Device(s) no sound card
Power Supply Magnum PRO 235 (OEM)
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Haven't done it yet
#1
So i've got this card and I wanted to know if someone could help me update it's bios has it seems to be a pretty underclocked graphics card.

Any help would be accepted and no point in telling me to buy a new gpu has I don't have any money to spare on a new one.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Expecting a magical BIOS that will significantly improve that card would be a misguided endeavor. You're much better off using software overclocking or buying a new card.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
System Name Old Rigs can Rock
Processor Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz OC 3.12 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5QPL-AM
Cooling Stock cpu cooler - Stock GPU cooler - Silent OEM Fan Case
Memory 3GB DDR2 333MHz - Kingston
Video Card(s) 9600 GSO 512 MB (lite version)
Storage Main- Maxtor 6V160E0 Secondary- Western Digital Cavir WD800BB
Display(s) LCD- Samtron 73v
Case OEM case
Audio Device(s) no sound card
Power Supply Magnum PRO 235 (OEM)
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Haven't done it yet
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuarezCause View Post
seems to be a pretty underclocked graphics card.
your link shows more than a 20% overclock on that card
well that was with a software, ok I should my problem better, the memory bandwith and texture fill rate is like half of what it should be plus the default clocks are pretty low. That's what I wanted to update and if there's a way to upgrade my card a bit more without buying a new one then I'm in.

I would appreciate if someone simply helped me with this if possible.

EDIT: Take a look at this card for example.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#5
well that was with a software, ok I should my problem better, the memory bandwith and texture fill rate is like half of what it should be plus the default clocks are pretty low. That's what I wanted to update and if there's a way to upgrade my card a bit more without buying a new one then I'm in.

I would appreciate if someone simply helped me with this if possible.

EDIT: Take a look at this card for example.
what your asking cannot be done there is no bios that's going to give you more bandwidth or a higher fill rate

just to up the memory and gpu clocks bios editing and flashing would be overkill not to mention the very real risk of something going wrong and bricking the card
use MSI afterburner or something to OC if that is not enough buy a new card

"Highlight
96 stream processors More than enough"
lol
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Your card is exactly as it was intended. You have the lowest version of the 9600 GSO, with a G94 core and 128-bit DDR2. Other versions have G92 (double the shaders and TMUs) and/or 192/256-bit (G)DDR3.

That Jetway card you linked is a G92 based card.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
System Name Old Rigs can Rock
Processor Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz OC 3.12 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5QPL-AM
Cooling Stock cpu cooler - Stock GPU cooler - Silent OEM Fan Case
Memory 3GB DDR2 333MHz - Kingston
Video Card(s) 9600 GSO 512 MB (lite version)
Storage Main- Maxtor 6V160E0 Secondary- Western Digital Cavir WD800BB
Display(s) LCD- Samtron 73v
Case OEM case
Audio Device(s) no sound card
Power Supply Magnum PRO 235 (OEM)
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Haven't done it yet
#7
what your asking cannot be done there is no bios that's going to give you more bandwidth or a higher fill rate

just to up the memory and gpu clocks bios editing and flashing would be overkill not to mention the very real risk of something going wrong and bricking the card
use MSI afterburner or something to OC if that is not enough buy a new card

"Highlight
96 stream processors More than enough"
lol

Thank you for your response, I read somewhere that by changing the bios to a card of the same serie (9xxx) and same gpu core, that my gpu would have the same specs so if I used the bios from that jetway I would have the same clocks and bandwith.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
System Name Old Rigs can Rock
Processor Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz OC 3.12 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5QPL-AM
Cooling Stock cpu cooler - Stock GPU cooler - Silent OEM Fan Case
Memory 3GB DDR2 333MHz - Kingston
Video Card(s) 9600 GSO 512 MB (lite version)
Storage Main- Maxtor 6V160E0 Secondary- Western Digital Cavir WD800BB
Display(s) LCD- Samtron 73v
Case OEM case
Audio Device(s) no sound card
Power Supply Magnum PRO 235 (OEM)
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Haven't done it yet
#8
Your card is exactly as it was intended. You have the lowest version of the 9600 GSO, with a G94 core and 128-bit DDR2. Other versions have G92 (double the shaders and TMUs) and/or 192/256-bit (G)DDR3.

That Jetway card you linked is a G92 based card.
:p you're right. Then i was mislead. see upper post. Thx for checking it out.