• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New Add-On Card Makes SSD Caching More Accessible

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
While using a low-capacity SSD to cache a hard drive has shown in some cases to be the next best thing to owning a large SSD as the proper primary drive, SSD caching is limited by the availability of the right technology. On the one hand, you have Intel offering it with its Smart Response Technology, on the other you have special storage enclosures such as HDDBoost from SilverStone. Smart Response Tech for now is limited to socket LGA1155 platform, and in it, Z68 Express chipset-based motherboards. In Japan, a new add-on card design has surfaced, by a company called Kuroutoshikou, which lets you use an mSATA SSD to cache a SATA hard drive, and its installation is claimed to be fairly straightforward.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
Kuroutoshikou is not a new company, in fact my GTX 560 is made by them. They're all still made in Taiwan/China though. :)
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#3
Well pimp my drive. I was just thinking about trying to span a dynamic volume between an SSD and a hard drive. It's probably a stupid idea if you just left it there, but I'd read somewhere that you can segregate data to one or the other disk in a volume based on certain criteria. I was just on technet net seeing if I could get anything more specific.

Anyway, sounds like a great idea at a pretty decent price. Wish there was some sort of ETA so I could put it on my calendar. There's no chance I'll remember otherwise.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,454 (0.85/day)
Likes
770
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#4
No chance of using this in conjunction with an 2xHDD Raid0 volume then I see as that would require 3 ports not 2 ohwell looks like I'll need to wait some more for the prices of SSD's to go down some more before I think about replacing my HDD Raid0 array
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,962 (0.41/day)
Likes
956
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#5
You could use a port multiplier that should do the trick
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
496 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#6
or using software raid, dynamic discs in windows, they work pretty fast in my own experience. But not as fast as a hardware raid.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,454 (0.85/day)
Likes
770
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#7
or using software raid, dynamic discs in windows, they work pretty fast in my own experience. But not as fast as a hardware raid.
yeah I'd like a proper RAID card with a DDR ram cache but they're as expensive as an SSD here