• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New system advice on parts please.

Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#26
No, invest in a 2Gb card, you will be glad you did long term. A powerful 1Gb card will work better until you run out of VRAM which hits your performance a lot harder than a slightly slower card with more VRAM.
Ok thanks
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#27
Why that particular case and PSU?

And what put you off an SSD?

Also, what are you going to use the optical drive for?
I am just trying to keep costs down, I have picked a different case now, 550 watts should be ample for me. A SSD from what I have read is good for bootup times but real world gaming wont make a massive difference so I can't justify the cost tbh.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.40/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#28
A game that keeps dynamically loading the map and related textures (like FSX does) actually IS going to benefit from being run off an SSD... Maybe it won't be a whole world of difference, but you'd certainly notice. And having an overall agile system can't hurt either. Plus it helps with keeping the noise/vibrations down.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#29
I hear what your saying, a SSD can be added easily at a later date so I will probably add one when prices get abit cheaper. I am trying to keep the wife happy so the less I have to pay the better.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.40/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#30
Oh, I'm not trying to convince you or even presume to push you into a decision... Wouldn't want to incur the wife's wrath :D

I was simply pointing out the logic (or perhaps justification) behind claiming that an SSD is a good investment on multiple levels. If not for you directly, then for those reading this thread, having a similar dilemma. :cool:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#31
that last setup you had a shot of looks pretty good. I can definitely vouch for Gigabyte windforce cards, if the 2 fan version is anything like the three fan on my 670 (which never has gone beyond 50c, even OC'ed to 1400mhz) You should never have cooling issues with the card.

What case did you pick?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#32
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#33
You can always just use a fast hard drive like velociraptor now and add an SSD later to use as cache. It'll work on z77 intel chipset and up. It'lll also work on mountain lion OSX for macs.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#34
I recommend you try to buy everything from one place to save on postage. You may say certain shops have things cheaper, but you will likely find if you give them a call, they will do their best to price match everything you have referenced from other shops.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#35
All my parts should be here tomorrow :) Can't wait to get building again, has been along time since I last built a rig.

Ended up getting a SSD 240Gb so that will do nicely for the OS and FSX and some room left over. I opted for the GTX 650ti OC 2 Gb GFX card aswel, that should work nicely and it was well priced, so fingers crossed I should have it all up and running tomorrow night.

Thanks all for the help.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#36
All my parts should be here tomorrow :) Can't wait to get building again, has been along time since I last built a rig.

Ended up getting a SSD 240Gb so that will do nicely for the OS and FSX and some room left over. I opted for the GTX 650ti OC 2 Gb GFX card aswel, that should work nicely and it was well priced, so fingers crossed I should have it all up and running tomorrow night.

Thanks all for the help.
I'm puzzled why you picked 650ti 2GB. You could've saved money with the 1GB. That GPU is just too slow with res above 1080p for you to need 2 GB.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#37
I'm puzzled why you picked 650ti 2GB. You could've saved money with the 1GB. That GPU is just too slow with res above 1080p for you to need 2 GB.
No need to go above 1080p to use more than 1 GB of VRAM. Almost every new game overshoots 1 GB VRAM at max settings for textures.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#38
I did ask the question if I should get a 1Gb card or a 2Gb and was told to go for the 2Gb, so that's what I did, too late now i'm building it as we speak :) The whole system has cost me £700 so I am happy with that, as I have been out of the home built game for alot of years I am pretty much needing alot of input and I just went off what I was told.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#39
No need to go above 1080p to use more than 1 GB of VRAM. Almost every new game overshoots 1 GB VRAM at max settings for textures.
Again, this is a 650. He won't be able to go ultra settings at 1080p. I play SC2 on ultra with my 7850 1 GB and it's smooth unless there's like 2000 units on screen battling each other.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#40
I did ask the question if I should get a 1Gb card or a 2Gb and was told to go for the 2Gb, so that's what I did, too late now i'm building it as we speak :) The whole system has cost me £700 so I am happy with that, as I have been out of the home built game for alot of years I am pretty much needing alot of input and I just went off what I was told.
here is the general performance overview of differences between 1gb and 2gb.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Amp_Edition/28.html

The 2 GB version of this is actually and that explains most of the difference in performance numbers. The 2 GB advantage doesn't actually show itself until 1200p or higher. But since the GPU itself is too slow to take advantage of that then that difference is a mere 3-4%. I can't imagine you playing at that resolution with that card unless you're on low settings. If that's the case, you might as well play at 768p on high lol.

Is it possible to return it for a slightly hgher model with just 1 GB of VRAM? I would say 7850 1GB should cost about the same as a 650ti 2GB.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#41
Again, this is a 650. He won't be able to go ultra settings at 1080p. I play SC2 on ultra with my 7850 1 GB and it's smooth unless there's like 2000 units on screen battling each other.
He won't be able to max out everything at 1080p, but he will enjoy high resolution textures with medium shading and post processing settings.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#42
He won't be able to max out everything at 1080p, but he will enjoy high resolution textures with medium shading and post processing settings.
Then he doesn't need anymore than 1 GB for that. Any game that requires more than 1 GB of VRAM on medium/high settings at 1080p, that GPU will not be able run the game smoothly. Look at the reviews and stop trying to prove something that's not there.

He can play most new titles with that on medium to high at 1080p without 4xMSAA. You won't reach 1GB requirement. As stated in the tpu review, the performance drop at when you go past 1 GB for that GPU is not much of a difference because it's more bandwidth and gpu limited than memory limited. A quick analysis of the review data will tell you that.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#43
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#44
So you argue that some games are not 1 GB VRAM limited? Good, nothing to add there.

Here are some that are: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18255161
Mind you these are all at least year and a half old games.
those guys are talking about games like metro 2033 and bf3 and they had trouble running with high end cards. The 650ti will run out of gpu horsepower and memory bandwidth before it runs out of VRAM.

Take a look at the charts.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Amp_Edition/16.html
By the time you see a significant advantage of 2GB over 1GB, the performance is already in the gutter 2 settings before that.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Amp_Edition/8.html
same for BF3. And this is a NVIDIA advantage title
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#45
those guys are talking about games like metro 2033 and bf3 and they had trouble running with high end cards. The 650ti will run out of gpu horsepower and memory bandwidth before it runs out of VRAM.

Take a look at the charts.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Amp_Edition/16.html
By the time you see a significant advantage of 2GB over 1GB, the performance is already in the gutter 2 settings before that.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Amp_Edition/8.html
same for BF3. And this is a NVIDIA advantage title
I should be shocked that 650 Ti can't play Metro 2033 on 1080p with everything on very high?

No one sane would suggest anyone to buy 650 Ti for Metro 2033 no matter how much VRAM it has. But hey, if someone already owns one with 2 GB of VRAM, I hope they are aware that they can play Metro with maxed out textures, and other settings on medium.

Low memory bandwidth is horrible for antialiasing and higher screen resolutions, but it has much lesser effect to performance when using high res. textures over medium res. textures.

It's the open world games where I see VRAM limitations the most - stuttering after sudden change of view direction caused by RAM to VRAM transfer over PCI-E. It's the mother of all stutters. If you don't know what I'm talking about, I envy you :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#46
Got it all up and running, don't know if I am going to regret going the AMD route, but I have got FSX installed and the FPS are rather sucky, the i5 in the mac was giving me better, I may have to fiddle on with the cfg file alot more to get it even playable, quite disappointed tbh :(
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#47
Whats bottlenecking? CPU or graphics?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
#48
Have you checked drivers, overheating, GPU load, etc.?
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#49
Whats bottlenecking? CPU or graphics?
To check that compare FPS you get with highest and lowest screen resolution. If there is not much change, it's CPU bottleneck.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#50
Whats bottlenecking? CPU or graphics?
I think it will be the CPU as it is a CPU orientated game.

Have you checked drivers, overheating, GPU load, etc.?
I have all the latest drivers installed, the GFX card should be more than enough

To check that compare FPS you get with highest and lowest screen resolution. If there is not much change, it's CPU bottleneck.
I am going to have to clock it some what, I will need better cooling to start with before hand though. I am wishing I never went the AMD route, but hey ho, we live and learn.