• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Newb With one last question

Kurtis

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ amd athlon64 San Diego 2.6 32c-45c idle-load
Motherboard ABIT kn8 SLI
Cooling 2intake 2exhaust 80mm /stock HS w/exhaust fan
Memory 2x1 gig kingston hyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) 2x6800gs EVGA at 510/1010
Storage 1 sata 37gig 10k WD Raptor 8mb cache
Display(s) 19 WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Antec TruePower2.0
#1
I gave up on my intel board sold it and bought a brand new amd anthlon 64bit 3700 san d core and a elite group rs482-m. I only have a 20 pin power supply that I just bought for my last board and my new board requires a 24pin. Can I use one of those 20 to 24 pin convertors ?? Has anyone had anyproblems with those ??
 

noneed4me2

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
619 (0.14/day)
Likes
9
Location
San Bernardino CA
System Name TheloneFrakker..;)
Processor Q6600 GO FSB333@3.04ghz
Motherboard Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Stock for now
Memory 2x1gb/Gskill DDR3 1333@9,9,9,24 1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD2900XT
Storage Seagate Barrucuda 7200.11 500gb SATAII 32mb cache
Display(s) Sceptre xw20g Naga 20.1"
Case Thermaltake Bach VX w/Side window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Hiper 580w Modular
Software XP Pro/Vista Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores None yet, coming soon...
#2
i would consider getting a better or newer PSU especially if you want to overclock. The newer system would probably perform better with a good PSU. At least 400w or better and don't skimp on quality as PSUs are really "you get what you pay for" type of hardware. Congrats on the new system.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
20 pin works fine, you dont even need an adapter, as long as your psu can do it
 

Kurtis

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ amd athlon64 San Diego 2.6 32c-45c idle-load
Motherboard ABIT kn8 SLI
Cooling 2intake 2exhaust 80mm /stock HS w/exhaust fan
Memory 2x1 gig kingston hyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) 2x6800gs EVGA at 510/1010
Storage 1 sata 37gig 10k WD Raptor 8mb cache
Display(s) 19 WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Antec TruePower2.0
#4
well in my motherboard manual it says it has a slight chance of being able to run and if it did it would be unstable. Ive tried my 450w 20 pin psu and all it just keeps beeping with long pauses in between like it just keeps rebooting. I just purchased a 480w 24pin psu anyways so its all good.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,956 (1.36/day)
Likes
830
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#5
thats more down to your old power supply not being up to the job than the pins thow.. mine did pretty much the same.. never got past the post stage..

trog
 

Kurtis

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
99 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ amd athlon64 San Diego 2.6 32c-45c idle-load
Motherboard ABIT kn8 SLI
Cooling 2intake 2exhaust 80mm /stock HS w/exhaust fan
Memory 2x1 gig kingston hyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) 2x6800gs EVGA at 510/1010
Storage 1 sata 37gig 10k WD Raptor 8mb cache
Display(s) 19 WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Antec TruePower2.0
#6
ya I was just wondering if I could save some money and still use my old one with one of those 20 to 24 pin adapters but I just went ahead and bought a new psu for 20 bucks good deal on a brand new super talent if you ask me.

Now I need suggestions on a new ati pcie , a sata hard drive , and some dual channel ram under a 300 dollar budget.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#7
trog100 said:
thats more down to your old power supply not being up to the job than the pins thow.. mine did pretty much the same.. never got past the post stage..

trog

It is completely dependent on how quality your psu really is.

My Antec 350w smart power 1.1 powered a winchester, x700 and a dfi lan party perfectly fine. with the 24 pin adaptor, and a pin mod.

If your pc wont boot with the adaptor, that psu is mostlikely not capable of handling the setup anyways.

so, yes. the adaptor works, BUT you have to have a quality psu.