• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No More Clean-Installs for Vista Upgrades

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.03/day)
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
When users were upgrading to Windows XP, the procedure was that users could simply insert their old Windows 98 or Windows 2000 CD at the appropriate time during a clean install without the need for the old OS to be installed at the time. However, Microsoft has decided to change this for Vista, and now requires a fully installed and activated version of your old OS already on the machine. This comes as an attempt to prevent illegal use of upgrade CDs, but could be inconvenient and time consuming when the time comes to reinstall. The new procedure for a reinstall is as follows:
  • Install your old copy of Windows XP
  • Activate it either online or over the phone
  • Install Vista

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,135 (2.29/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
they are trying like fook to stop the plethora of hooky os discs,but will it work?

my xp is fully activated so it dont affect me,or anyone who has legit windows.personally,i think it is worth buying the os,its less messing around than trying to get it free.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.29/day)
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
Dunno why you'd buy an upgrade disc when an OEM copy is £77 (Home Premium)in the UK. And from what I've read here, you can change any component (including mobo) in your rig as long as you re-activate within 3 days.

Personally, I've never felt the need to speak to Microsoft support. If you wait a couple of months the tech sites will be full of people with just as much knowledge of Vistas' foibles as MS tech monkeys. And if its anything like XP they'll give that knowledge for free....God bless 'em!
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,135 (2.29/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
i'm not gonna buy an upgrade,i've got my eye on a vista home premium oem this week.
 

jocksteeluk

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.30/day)
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
Granted vista is relatively cheap fromt he get go but i could see Microsoft moving onto micro transactions to download updates and patches t is pretty obvious it will be the next step.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (2.27/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Auburn Fast
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 16 GB (2x8GB) ADATA XPG GAMMIX D10 DDR 2666
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2 (Newegg Eggxpert), Samsung EVO 840 SSD, OCZ Trion 250 GB SSD (Newegg Egg), WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) LG 29" 2560 x 1440 IPS AMD FreeSync Monitor (Newegg Eggxpert)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox K500 RGB w/ Full Tempered Glass Window (Newegg Eggxpert)
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard w/ DJ Urko Modded Drivers
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB (Newegg Eggxpert)
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Kind of pointless really. Everyone figures a way around these things, it just takes time and Im sure hackers have been working feverishly on this for awhile. On that note, Ill bide my time to get Vista, when I have to, not because I want to. XP is fine for me.
 

EastCoasthandle

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.32/day)
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
Wait a minute, didn't they do that with Win95 and was broken?
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.03/day)
I'm a little confused here. I thought the Upgrade/Retail version allowed you to make unlimited hardware changes and Microsoft would reactivate your OS when there was a "Hash Mismatch" which triggers the re activation balloon.

Now we find out that the upgrade will work only if you have installed a copy of XP on your drive. Will the OEM version allow unlimited upgrades or will we have to buy the "Full Retail" version? :confused:
 

regan1985

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,450 (0.30/day)
Location
Coventry UNI England
Processor yorkfield core 2 quad Q8200 3.2ghz 1.26v
Motherboard asus p5Q SE
Cooling akasa ak965
Memory Kingston 1066 2x2gb 1104mhz 2.2v
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD 2600 XT DDR3 857/1078
Storage 2X Samsung spinpoint 500GB 7200 4x 1tb samsung eco 5400
Display(s) 2xSamsung P2270 22" Widescreen
Case NZXT Hush Quiet Case in Black
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500w Silent Power Supply
Software windows 7 64
the thing is people who did used to use fake windows, will carry on doing so when a crack comes out, where as they might have gone for the new vista and paid but now they will think its going to cost loads for both xp and vista so why get the real thing!!!

im still not sure about vista, im going to wait a few months and there is always problems in the first year!
 
V

v-zero

Guest
Wow MS really have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off this round. What's next, a tax for not using MS peripherals?
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
I'm a little confused here. I thought the Upgrade/Retail version allowed you to make unlimited hardware changes and Microsoft would reactivate your OS when there was a "Hash Mismatch" which triggers the re activation balloon.

Now we find out that the upgrade will work only if you have installed a copy of XP on your drive. Will the OEM version allow unlimited upgrades or will we have to buy the "Full Retail" version? :confused:
There is a reason the OEM version is magically $100 cheaper. Having all the hardware upgrade benefits of the RETAIL version for half the cost, is not it.
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
Wow MS really have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off this round. What's next, a tax for not using MS peripherals?
No, pirates and hackers have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off. MS didn't introduce windows with these anti-piracy features. They are protecting their products and interests, and have every right to do so.

I still don't understand all of the anti-ms , anti-activation, my rights are not being upheld baloney. The majority of you brought this upon yourselves, so deal with it. You don't have any rights, you are licensing the software to be used on your computer, you don't own it, you never will, get over it.
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
the thing is people who did used to use fake windows, will carry on doing so when a crack comes out, where as they might have gone for the new vista and paid but now they will think its going to cost loads for both xp and vista so why get the real thing!!!!
Huh? Who said you have to buy both? This for people with legitimate copies of XP , who wish to install the upgrade version of Vista. Boohoo, the pirates can't upgrade their copy of XP. They can still go out and buy the full version of Vista without any problems.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,307 (0.47/day)
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
No, pirates and hackers have gone right out of their way to piss everybody off. MS didn't introduce windows with these anti-piracy features. They are protecting their products and interests, and have every right to do so.

I still don't understand all of the anti-ms , anti-activation, my rights are not being upheld baloney. The majority of you brought this upon yourselves, so deal with it. You don't have any rights, you are licensing the software to be used on your computer, you don't own it, you never will, get over it.
:rockout: and that's putting it in the real:rockout:
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.17/day)
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
wow that is one long procedure to do a format like that lol
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,303 (5.27/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.03/day)
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,303 (5.27/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I expect that this would then require the software to be installed but it would format the drive once it's seen XP is installed and do a clean install, so you would probably still need to reinstall your old version of XP first.
Yeah, that could be the case. I'll probably never know since I buy full OEM copies anyway, but I would still like to know how this works for sure out of curiosity.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.20/day)
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I heard that you need some sort of key to install the oem version,what ever that is?
Anyway s ill be going for the retail version (Home Premium) :)
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
I need to dig up a cheap vendor of retail home premiums.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.03/day)
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
I need to dig up a cheap vendor of retail home premiums.
Here in the UK home premium costs about three times as much as OEM. I'm not planning on getting three new PCs in the time Vista is around, so I think I will personally go for that when I upgrade. Can you change the hardware on a retail version as much as you want, or are you still limited?
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
Here in the UK home premium costs about three times as much as OEM. I'm not planning on getting three new PCs in the time Vista is around, so I think I will personally go for that when I upgrade. Can you change the hardware on a retail version as much as you want, or are you still limited?
Retail you can do whatever you want, OEM is locked down. I really don't feel like calling Microsoft everytime I change out a motherboard. Which is bound to happen a least a few times in the next 5 years.
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.03/day)
Retail you can do whatever you want, OEM is locked down. I really don't feel like calling Microsoft everytime I change out a motherboard. Which is bound to happen a least a few times in the next 5 years.
Does that include the Upgrade version as well as the Full version?
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
Does that include the Upgrade version as well as the Full version?
OEM is OEM man, it's locked to the hardware it was installed on. That's why it's at least half the cost.
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.03/day)
OEM is OEM man, it's locked to the hardware it was installed on. That's why it's at least half the cost.
I know man, MS has confused the hell out of me, LOL. Ok let me ask the question another way. Is the Upgrade and Full versions both considered retail versions?:confused:
 
Top