1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia 8500/8600 Series Overclocking and Feedback thread

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by HeUeR, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. Wyshniukas

    Wyshniukas New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom, Kent county
    Yes, it does...I have attached few screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MrHydes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    106 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    anyone allready with E8600?
     
  3. dannylill1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Hull United Kingdom
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  4. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Hi

    I've got a few noob questions seeing as I'm new to Nvidia.

    I recently got myself a Asus Nvidia 8500GT 256mb with the heatsink on. Stock speeds are 450 core and 400 mem.

    I would like to oc my card a bit to see what I can get out of it.
    What I would like to know is, what temps can be considered as safe on these? It currently peaks at 71*C (ATITool) and idles on 50*C

    See the rest of my system in my system specs.

    I'm using the latest drivers 177.68 or something and Rivatuner 2.10 with that. But I'm struggeling to activate my clocks on rivatuner...I know this sounds stupid but I don't know whats up. I would set my core to 470 and mem 410 just to see what my temps do. But I don't see the "increased" clocks on ATITools monotering tool. Am I missing a setting or what? I have followed the guide but still no success.

    Is there any specific setting that HAS to be set or saved to get the clock? Or should it be realtime like ATITool?

    I would be very greatfull for any help that you could give me on this:toast:
     
  5. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Never mind, I found a very good rivatuner guide!
     
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    my score coming soon !!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. wolf2009 Guest

    How this ?

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    Amazing work wolf good stuff i got only a couple points higher tan you with my card crazy moded but i had an old brisbane then at 2.8Ghz so if yo ever decided to try and ballz out mod like i did and you oc'd the hell out of your quad i bed you could break WR easy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    Oh yeah thats gonna happen starting with adding a zalman cooler in the next few days and then later volt modding this card some years down the line maybe a WC setup on this card, Once i get a backup PC that is !! If this PC craps out on me I'm done .

    SO taking it easy right now. This quad is going right back where it belongs 2 Ghz :D

    Btw whats the WR ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    close or 8K i do bealive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    @ Solaris17

    Hi

    I've got the 8500gt (450/400) asus card with the big heatsink on. And I've finally figured rivatuner out ( I'm a X ATItool user:) )

    What I would like to know is, what would be an acceptable maximum temp for one of these? If you could give me any idea, that would help alot.

    I normally use ATITool's scan for artifacts to heat up the card. It reaches 78C after 8mins or so. I haven't tested it yet in games.

    I will be adding a 120mm fan that blows directly on the gpu today, so I'm hoping my temps will go down a bit.

    Cheers for any info:toast:
     
  12. Dobbie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NB Canada
    Hey guys.

    I'm back. Now I have a 9600GT and I'm ready to see what it can do for OCing but ATItool (0.27b3) doesn't seem to be picking up the artifacts for some reason. Any ideas? :confused:
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    prolly round 90ºC tops :)

    turn the sensativity up atitool wigs out liek that sometimes
     
    JBravo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Dobbie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NB Canada
    I tried that but the driver fails to respond after pushing it higher. I thought that I would see artifacts being detected before seeing that.

    Any other ideas or am I wrong by thinking that? :confused:

    **Edit**
    pushing the OC higher that is
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    actually in shader intensive games the 9600GT had a problem with "black screening" it would fail befre it artifacted. what brand is it? it was mostly brands with stock vreg's
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Dobbie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NB Canada
    It's a eVGA SC which runs @ 675 core/ 900 mem stock
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    ya i think you got one :( to my knowledge the only brands that didnt use referance design were palit XFX and galexy i think. the only other way now is to OC and see if it artifacts in a game thats ow i had t do it when i had mine (BFG) because mine had a reference pcb.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Dobbie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NB Canada
    Well I'm glad I wasn't planning on keeping it ;). lol Cause I have a eVGA 8800 GTS 512 MB coming tomorrow hopefully if Fedx is good on there estimated times :D.

    But have you heard anything about those? :confused:
     
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    the 8800's are fine it was only the 9600 referance series that was affected by the issue
     
    Dobbie says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Dobbie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NB Canada
    You just made my day Solaris :respect:, because you gave me a scare there
     
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,111 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Location:
    Florida
    np man glad to let you know :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I've been ocing my asus 8500 gt (added 2x90mm fans,yes my very own mod:) ) and ive pushed it from 459/918/400 to 555/1110/495 with temps now at 40/55. But when i go higher i get artifacts. So,my question is,what do you think would be my biggest limiting factor? Core or mem? I want to see the max i can get with rivatuner,so no volt mods.

    I'll post some 3dmark06 scores tmrw to verify my oc.

    Thanks for any info:toast:
     
  23. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Just to update,i left my mem at 495 and then i could push my core to 690 and shaders to 1380...but then i maxed the settings in rivatuner...any way i can increase the limit? I'm sure i can go higher. Oh and the temps are good also, 59 max!
     
  24. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hopefully i can OC my 8600 GTS without some kind of driver error or overheating. I am only going to take it to about a 50mhz OC then i may try and get it to 700mhz if stable and not overheating.

    Using: EVGA Precision(1.4.0), Should i using Linked or Unlinked?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. brickmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Here are my 3Dmark scores and OC results
     

    Attached Files:

    CDdude55 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)