• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVidia Control Panel in Windows 10 problem

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
I just installed Windows 10 and went to install the driver. Rebooted and got a pop-up notification that the control panel could not be found. It then tried to send me to the MS store, which because I'm using a customized install, is not present on the system.

Am I missing something or has NVidia pulled a sneaky and removed the control panel from the driver install to try and force MS store adoption?

EDIT;
In TPU's driver download section, there are Standard and DCH drivers. I can not find the Standard set in NVidia.com nor Geforce.com. Does anyone know the difference?

EDIT2;
Just tried the 441.87's that I downloaded earlier this year and the control panel is present. This must be a recent change then?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
289 (0.86/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F11
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
DDU the dch driver and just grab the regular one that doesn't require the contextual "automatically" dl'ed MS one. Unplug your network to boot back into windows in order to install the regular one. Sometimes you cant decompress the driver fast enough to install before MS adds their DCH driver automatically.
 

las

Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
815 (0.29/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.2 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 32GB DDR4 4000/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2+ GHz
Storage 970 Evo Plus 1TB + 64TB NAS
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/IPS/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C9 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
NCP is in the Microsoft Store now, its been like this for a long time - You only need to install it once. It's not a Nvidia decision, but a Microsoft one (can't remember why)

I think Win 10 downloades the control panel automaticly when it detects and download the nvidia driver. I always install GPU driver first and never had issues with this method
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
155 (0.09/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4 3600cl16 16GB EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1SSD / 1HHD
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
Standard driver, no
I just installed Windows 10 and went to install the driver. Rebooted and got a pop-up notification that the control panel could not be found. It the tried to send me to the MS store, which because I'm using a customized install, is not present on the system.

Am I missing something or has NVidia pulled a sneaky and removed the control panel from the driver install to try and force MS store adoption?

EDIT;
In TPU's driver download section, there are Standard and DCH drivers. I can not find the Standard set in NVidia.com nor Geforce.com. Does anyone know the difference?

EDIT2;
Just tried the 441.87's that I downloaded earlier this year and the control panel is present. This must be a recent change then?
Yup was a push a while back, to insiders
Capturestandard.PNG
, i just use the standard ,after DDU.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,735 (8.30/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
Others have covered it, but why not join in!
Win update gives you the DCH version, and the CP comes from the MS store. no idea why, but its not an issue for most people.

Going offline and doing a manual install (after DDU) will fix you up.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,491 (1.98/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I got the DCH with the standard nvidia control panel

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
331 (0.23/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
yes had same problem and had to go to the ms store to download the pathetic NVIDIA control panel....
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Solved the problem, sort of. Dowloaded the non-DCH version. However, the "standard" version is not easily found in the NVidia sites. Seriously stupid.

For the record;
I do not and will not use an MS account.
I do not and will not use the MS Store.
I do not and will not allow driver updates through Microsofts update system.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
Solved the problem, sort of. Dowloaded the non-DCH version. However, the "standard" version is not easily found in the NVidia sites. Seriously stupid.

For the record;
I do not and will not use an MS account.
I do not and will not use the MS Store.
I do not and will not allow driver updates through Microsofts update system.
Me too, and also:

I do not and will not use the Windows 10 start menu

 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,565 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
So in case you haven't been told, its because of the DCH driver. :toast:

So you're entering the Windows 10 world with a tweaked install huh? This could be fun :)

I've already learned that idea should be redirected to the 'not recommended' list. But, YMMV
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
155 (0.09/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4 3600cl16 16GB EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1SSD / 1HHD
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
None standard,this is waiting for you:slap:
Capturestamdard.PNG
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,155 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Solved the problem, sort of. Dowloaded the non-DCH version. However, the "standard" version is not easily found in the NVidia sites. Seriously stupid.

For the record;
I do not and will not use an MS account.
I do not and will not use the MS Store.
I do not and will not allow driver updates through Microsofts update system.
For me, I installed the DCH version and the moment I connected the computer to the internet the nVidia control panel is automatically downloaded and installed. No MS Store or Account necessary. You'll find Realtek Audio drivers now do the exact same thing.

I don't know if it still uses the MS Store mechanism to download the nVidia Control Panel, and hence the DCH version won't work properly on your install. But that's one of the reasons I wouldn't completetly disable it, there is only going to be more and more things that use the Store mechanism to download driver components. If you don't like it, simply don't use it, but completely disabling it seems like it's going to cause more harm than good(cause there really isn't any good).
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
331 (0.23/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
It might be outdated with Windows XP layout, but it launches very quickly, everything is organized and doesn't crash... unlike "other vendors".
Never had a crash with AMD control panel
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,572 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
DCH driver uses the app control panel (separate download), non-DCH uses the classic control panel (included with download)

NVCleanstall will let you install the control panel app without MS Store or login, and you can also get rid of all the other junk
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
For me, I installed the DCH version and the moment I connected the computer to the internet the nVidia control panel is automatically downloaded and installed. No MS Store or Account necessary. You'll find Realtek Audio drivers now do the exact same thing.
I don't allow that kind of access to the internet. If a program needs the internet as a part of it's primary function, then yes. We're talking about drivers and the control panel that manages them. They have no business getting on the net and it is not allowed.

But I'm not opposed to sideloading apps.

DCH driver uses the app control panel (separate download), non-DCH uses the classic control panel (included with download)

NVCleanstall will let you install the control panel app without MS Store or login, and you can also get rid of all the other junk
I discovered this. As I mentioned, didn't have this problem with the 441.87 drivers, just the newest release. Looking back at the last few months, it seems to be a new thing. Finding it really irritating. Thanks for the info on NVCleanstall. I'll check it out soon.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,733 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
I do not and will not use an MS account.
You can for now get away with downloading from the Microsoft Store. You can bypass the account login prompt, and continue on with the download.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
You can for now get away with downloading from the Microsoft Store. You can bypass the account login prompt, and continue on with the download.
Really? Everything I've ever seen requires an MS account and being logged in. I might have to try that just for giggles, not that I'll use it..
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,733 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Really? Everything I've ever seen requires an MS account and being logged in.
Click on the "No, thanks" button in the dialog box.
No thanks.jpg

Automatically will download, and install.
Untitled.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,733 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,747 (3.81/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
What happened?
Nothing. To try it out I'm going to have to install different version of W10 on a spare drive. Sorry, should have been more clear. The version of W10 currently installed is customized to remove the Store app, Edge, IE, Cortana and WD along with a few other mild tweaks. I effectively turned W10Pro into something akin to LTSB/LTSC.
EDIT:
If you're wondering how, behold;
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
234 (0.18/day)
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Well I have sort of the same problem with latest Nvidia hotfix driver (445.98 hotfix) and 445.87 that are downloaded from TPU or Guru3D but that won't allow me to use DLSS in any game (Nvidia NGX was installed). DDU won't fix it no matter what, so I downloaded the WHQL driver from Nvidia and voila DLSS came back, that was really weird.
 
Last edited:
Top