• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 to Ship in Six Variants Based on Memory Size and Type

Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,150 (2.08/day)
Likes
2,069
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#51
And your framerates are?
Depends on the game

I actually did a full mini review showings it’s performacne. You can find it under my profile content

It’s actaully holds it own very well.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,987 (4.78/day)
Likes
3,103
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#52
64-bit games (which most are these days) will use >4 GiB of VRAM if it is available.
Double-precision is rarely used, if ever for shading, in game. That is unless you meant something else ? Also, just because your application is compiled for 64-bit machines that doesn't mean there is direct correlation between that and memory usage. You can have a program that uses a smidget of 64-bit data types and yet it may use just a couple of megabytes or several gigabytes. It's more about quantity, not just data types that are used.

First AMD fanboys blaming Nvidia for holding AIBs on short leash. Then Nvidia let AIBs run loose... Still Nvidia's fault. :laugh:
You are completely out of touch with this subject.

AMD is pure shit
Nah, that'd be your comment.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
122 (0.13/day)
Likes
61
Location
Nea Makri, Greece.
System Name Dark Sith Lord / Fat Boy
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X / AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASrock X370 Gaming X / Gigabyte 990XA UD3 R5
Cooling Arctic 240 (4x120mm in push-pull) / Antec Kuhler 2x120mm in push-pull
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Aegis DDR4 3000MHz / 4x4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb / Gainward GTX 950 2gb
Storage Crucial P1 NVMe 1tb, 2x Barracuda 2TB, 1x IronWolf NAS 2TB / Samsung 840 Evo 500gb + Samsung F1 1tb
Display(s) BenQ GL2450 24'' / Samsung Syncmaster 20'' 2043nw
Case CM HAF 932 (CM 200mm [Red Led] front & side intake, Shark Evil Black 140mm exhaust) / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 on Creative Inspire S2 2.1 / Realtek 889 on Creative SBS Vivid 60 2.0
Power Supply EVGA Supernova B2 750w / Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Mouse Steelseries Rival 110 / CM Storm Alcor
Keyboard Philips SPK84 (blue switches) / Motospeed CK-104 (red switches) - All with silicone o'rings Mods
Software Win10 Pro x64 / Win7 Ultimate x64
#53
What? No 5gb version? 3-4-6... where is the 5? I guess they missed that one.

Nvidia has fucked it up, and not matter what fanboys are telling you, the RTX was a fiasco.
And people who claim 3gb are enough for 1080p gaming are twisting the truth. That is true only for esports games, that are designed to be lightweight. You CANNOT play a lot of AAA modern games because they demand more than 3gb vram EVEN in 1080p/medium/high settings (GTA V, Far Cry 4, Shadow of mordor, etc). And this will happen more often as newer games come out. So lets cut the crap, shall we?

P.S. And before you criticize me for AMD fanboy, i will tell you that in more than 20 gpus i've had, only two were AMD.
 
Last edited:
Low quality post by Nxodus
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
187 (1.36/day)
Likes
129
Location
Hungary
Processor Intel Core i5-9600K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z390-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory G.Skill DDR4 RipjawsV 3200MHz 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Samsung 860 EVO M.2 250GB / Samsung 860 EVO 500GB / Kingston AV400 120 GB / Seagate external 1TB
Display(s) Eizo HD2442W
Case Cooler Master H500
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO headphones
Power Supply SUPER FLOWER Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech M500 refresh
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 1
#54
You are completely out of touch with the subject.



Nah, that'd be your comment.
quality argument.

-Help! my game is crashing
-What's your setup?
-cheap AMD with 9 billion GDDR
-Ok please wait 2 weeks until devs fix the game so it runs properly on your crapstick
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,519 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
USA
#55
Nvidia has fucked it up, and not matter what fanboys are telling you, the RTX was a fiasco.
No it isn't. Whiners have made a bunch of needless noise. I have one. It rocks.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,987 (4.78/day)
Likes
3,103
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
122 (0.13/day)
Likes
61
Location
Nea Makri, Greece.
System Name Dark Sith Lord / Fat Boy
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X / AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASrock X370 Gaming X / Gigabyte 990XA UD3 R5
Cooling Arctic 240 (4x120mm in push-pull) / Antec Kuhler 2x120mm in push-pull
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Aegis DDR4 3000MHz / 4x4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb / Gainward GTX 950 2gb
Storage Crucial P1 NVMe 1tb, 2x Barracuda 2TB, 1x IronWolf NAS 2TB / Samsung 840 Evo 500gb + Samsung F1 1tb
Display(s) BenQ GL2450 24'' / Samsung Syncmaster 20'' 2043nw
Case CM HAF 932 (CM 200mm [Red Led] front & side intake, Shark Evil Black 140mm exhaust) / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 on Creative Inspire S2 2.1 / Realtek 889 on Creative SBS Vivid 60 2.0
Power Supply EVGA Supernova B2 750w / Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Mouse Steelseries Rival 110 / CM Storm Alcor
Keyboard Philips SPK84 (blue switches) / Motospeed CK-104 (red switches) - All with silicone o'rings Mods
Software Win10 Pro x64 / Win7 Ultimate x64
#57
No it isn't. Whiners have made a bunch of needless noise. I have one. It rocks.
I dont trust a single word from people who say that what they bought is the best. And also, 3gb are NOT enought. You are biased as hell.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,987 (4.78/day)
Likes
3,103
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#58
The point isn't that 3GB is enough or not. It's just rather pathetic to ship a card that will likely be at the very least 250$+ with just 3GB in 2019.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
122 (0.13/day)
Likes
61
Location
Nea Makri, Greece.
System Name Dark Sith Lord / Fat Boy
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X / AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASrock X370 Gaming X / Gigabyte 990XA UD3 R5
Cooling Arctic 240 (4x120mm in push-pull) / Antec Kuhler 2x120mm in push-pull
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Aegis DDR4 3000MHz / 4x4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb / Gainward GTX 950 2gb
Storage Crucial P1 NVMe 1tb, 2x Barracuda 2TB, 1x IronWolf NAS 2TB / Samsung 840 Evo 500gb + Samsung F1 1tb
Display(s) BenQ GL2450 24'' / Samsung Syncmaster 20'' 2043nw
Case CM HAF 932 (CM 200mm [Red Led] front & side intake, Shark Evil Black 140mm exhaust) / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 on Creative Inspire S2 2.1 / Realtek 889 on Creative SBS Vivid 60 2.0
Power Supply EVGA Supernova B2 750w / Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Mouse Steelseries Rival 110 / CM Storm Alcor
Keyboard Philips SPK84 (blue switches) / Motospeed CK-104 (red switches) - All with silicone o'rings Mods
Software Win10 Pro x64 / Win7 Ultimate x64
#59
The point isn't that 3GB is enough or not. It's just rather pathetic to ship a card that will likely be at the very least 250$+ with just 3GB in 2019.
It is. But the practical side is also important. You cannot build a gaming gpu in 2019 with 3gb vram, its stupid. But nvidia is milking the cow, doesnt care for anything else.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
187 (1.36/day)
Likes
129
Location
Hungary
Processor Intel Core i5-9600K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z390-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory G.Skill DDR4 RipjawsV 3200MHz 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Samsung 860 EVO M.2 250GB / Samsung 860 EVO 500GB / Kingston AV400 120 GB / Seagate external 1TB
Display(s) Eizo HD2442W
Case Cooler Master H500
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO headphones
Power Supply SUPER FLOWER Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech M500 refresh
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 1
#60
Your threadcrapping is getting annoying.
No, i'd say NVIDIA bashing is getting out of hand. Also, I really don't understand the AMD love. It's just absurd. NVIDIA needs a proper competitor. AMD is dragging NVIDIA down.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
357 (0.73/day)
Likes
251
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop4
Processor Intel Core i3-4330
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H v2.1
Cooling Standard Intel Cooler
Memory 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz (11-10-10-29 CR2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD // Mushkin Triactor 3DL 256 GB
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Keyboard 4000
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z: 327.9 ST / 973.8 MT Cinebench R20: 797 cb
#61
Wow... I like how Nvidia doesn't rely on market research and prefers to have a field day, poking the sleeping dragon /s
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,150 (2.08/day)
Likes
2,069
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra Gaming
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#62
People saying 3GB is enough, it is for some games but that’s not the case for all newer titles.

Plus let’s look at it like this

The RTX 2070 is meant to replace the GTX 1070 which is 8GB GPU aimed at 1440P gaming with ultra details

Would you really want to buy a 1070 replacement aiming for 1440 gaming with 3GB of VRAM

Also with the msrp of current RTX

RTX 2080 Ti $999
RTX 2080 $699
RTX 2070 $499

Nvidia likely will price the 2060 accordingly around $299-$399, are you really willing to pay that amount for a 3GB GPU that will become VRAM limited before it even utilizes it’s full potential
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
187 (1.36/day)
Likes
129
Location
Hungary
Processor Intel Core i5-9600K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z390-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory G.Skill DDR4 RipjawsV 3200MHz 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Samsung 860 EVO M.2 250GB / Samsung 860 EVO 500GB / Kingston AV400 120 GB / Seagate external 1TB
Display(s) Eizo HD2442W
Case Cooler Master H500
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO headphones
Power Supply SUPER FLOWER Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech M500 refresh
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 1
#63
around $299-$399, are you really willing to pay that amount for a 3GB GPU that will become VRAM limited before it even utilizes it’s full potential
Can't you people see, NVIDIA is finally opening to the cheapo market. The 3GB ones will be much cheaper than $300, why do you people assume they will charge $300 for them? Everyone knows ram is expensive, less ram, lower price.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
122 (0.13/day)
Likes
61
Location
Nea Makri, Greece.
System Name Dark Sith Lord / Fat Boy
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X / AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASrock X370 Gaming X / Gigabyte 990XA UD3 R5
Cooling Arctic 240 (4x120mm in push-pull) / Antec Kuhler 2x120mm in push-pull
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Aegis DDR4 3000MHz / 4x4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb / Gainward GTX 950 2gb
Storage Crucial P1 NVMe 1tb, 2x Barracuda 2TB, 1x IronWolf NAS 2TB / Samsung 840 Evo 500gb + Samsung F1 1tb
Display(s) BenQ GL2450 24'' / Samsung Syncmaster 20'' 2043nw
Case CM HAF 932 (CM 200mm [Red Led] front & side intake, Shark Evil Black 140mm exhaust) / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 on Creative Inspire S2 2.1 / Realtek 889 on Creative SBS Vivid 60 2.0
Power Supply EVGA Supernova B2 750w / Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Mouse Steelseries Rival 110 / CM Storm Alcor
Keyboard Philips SPK84 (blue switches) / Motospeed CK-104 (red switches) - All with silicone o'rings Mods
Software Win10 Pro x64 / Win7 Ultimate x64
#64
People saying 3GB is enough, it is for some games but that’s not the case for all newer titles.
I already mentioned that.
But you contradict yourself in the next part of your post, when you say first that it is for some games.
You contradict yourself when you are saying that the 3gb WILL be a limiting factor (in the future), while in the first part you are saying that it is not limiting factor for all games (which is true for esports games for example). But if someone is playing esports, he has NO reason to upgrade the gpu, since he can play with previous gen just fine. We buy new gpu's to play the new AAA titles with as much performance as possible, not in order to play LoL with 500 fps.


Nvidia likely will price the 2060 accordingly around $299-$399, are you really willing to pay that amount for a 3GB GPU that will become VRAM limited before it even utilizes it’s full potential
But... but... 3gb vram is ALREADY a limiting factor. Ofcourse the card will never reach full potential because it is ALREADY limited by vram. What the....?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
327 (0.41/day)
Likes
198
#65
And some people were laughing at the RX590. TBH, RX590, looks a better product compared to this complete mess.

No it isn't. Whiners have made a bunch of needless noise. I have one. It rocks.
Of course you have to defend that you have been milked in a crazy way. Those who try to defend this piece of crap can't understand our concern is not its performance but the BIGGEST PROBLEM is the less performance gain than the 700-900 series switch (it had around 40%, now it is 30%), and while the 900 series was $50-100 cheaper than their 700 series equivalents, the 20 series is $100-300 (in reality: $130-500) more expensive than the 10 series... Moreover, the other great problem is that its mostly advertised feature is only present in 1 game yet since the cards 3,5 month lifespan, which is one of the most optimized games-engines on the market, yet it couldn't squeeze out fix 60 fps in FHD with RTX level over low with a $1100-1200 GPU. And with the patch that lowered picture quality you can get this to 77 fps average. 45-55 average only in 4K. And this is achieved by the developer announcing in advance that they had to decrease the effect of RTX. Tomb Raider may hit 30s in FHD with the 2080Ti. Third game that was announced with RTX (FFXV) is now cancelled. This is the worst price-performance GPU family ever.

AMD = overheating, power hungry, unstable, bad software, no innovation BUT IT'S CHEAPER!!
NVIDIA = expensive

I really don't get the NVIDIA haters, AMD is pure shit, it's the Walmart variant of video cards
LOL. Bumhurt guy.

quality argument.

-Help! my game is crashing
-What's your setup?
-cheap AMD with 9 billion GDDR
-Ok please wait 2 weeks until devs fix the game so it runs properly on your crapstick
You know which company released a driver with WHQL certificate that crashed an AAA title? It was NV with Watch Dogs 2. Laughing at you so loud now.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,496 (6.37/day)
Likes
13,784
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#66
They do, but this is still irrelevant.
Computation requires VRAM too.

Double-precision is rarely used, if ever for shading, in game. That is unless you meant something else ? Also, just because your application is compiled for 64-bit machines that doesn't mean there is direct correlation between that and memory usage. You can have a program that uses a smidget of 64-bit data types and yet it may use just a couple of megabytes or several gigabytes. It's more about quantity, not just data types that are used.
Virtual memory address space.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,487 (0.82/day)
Likes
1,295
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#67
I see a paid shill showed up in short order to protect nvidia. Cmon, nvidia. You gotta hire Clinton levels of shills to have a chance (note: not a political remark, literally a reference in scale).
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,138 (4.22/day)
Likes
6,320
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.0-rc7 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#68
I guess nVidia's stock hasn't hit rock bottom yet.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.46/day)
Likes
891
Location
somewhere
#69
I think one RTX 2060 is plenty to fill the market. But comparing GPUs and setting prices based on memory size is pure BS. 3GB is fine for an entry mid-range card as long as proper benchmarking shows it's fine.


RTX 2060 will perform far beyond RX 570, a low-end card. Brag all you want about 8GB, there is no way that card needs it.


Memory usage doesn't mean memory requirement, many applications allocate more memory than they need. What matters is performance, or lack thereof. Stuttering might be a indicator of too little memory.
Wow, i'm reading a lot of hostility in your post. There's no need for that. And actually, there are situations where the 570 could use over 4GB, so the 8GB can make sense. Especially if i want to run high resolution textures. Something that a 3GB 2060 will not ne able to do, and hilariously may even perform less than the 570 in that situation.

The fact is, AMD is offering more value in the mid-range. And 570 isn't low-end, it's lower-mid-range. :p But feel free to defend getting less hardware for more money. Seems basically the whole idea of Intel / Nvidia these days.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,987 (4.78/day)
Likes
3,103
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#70
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,024 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,166
#71
Wow...just wow. Cant say I like this many variants...holy cow.

Not really. I have a 2080 and still turn off AA. No real need for it at 1080p and above. Most gamers prefer framerate VS AA.
I'd have to imagine youd be in a minority saying AA isnt needed at 1080p. Even on fps I notice AA off at that res. If I wanted to play minecraft, I would. :p

4k is the only place I can disable it and still manage to notice.

Now if it's an fps issue, of course, shut it down...but it's to the detriment of IQ big time at 1080p.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
1,466 (0.82/day)
Likes
764
#72
And actually, there are situations where the 570 could use over 4GB, so the 8GB can make sense. Especially if i want to run high resolution textures. Something that a 3GB 2060 will not ne able to do, and hilariously may even perform less than the 570 in that situation.
Please note that I did not say there is no use cases for having more memory, but just because some may need it, doesn't mean everyone needs it. For many, the cheaper cards offer much more value. It's no accident that both AMD and Nvidia offer their RX 480/580 and GTX 1060 in low and high memory configurations respectively.

And as I've mentioned, the fact that a game allocates more memory doesn't mean it needs it. To evaluate that, you need to evaluate reductions in performance and/or rendering quality.

The fact is, AMD is offering more value in the mid-range. And 570 isn't low-end, it's lower-mid-range. :p But feel free to defend getting less hardware for more money. Seems basically the whole idea of Intel / Nvidia these days.
If you keep expanding it, it's no longer the mid-range. ;)
In the mid-range, GTX 1060 3GB/6GB have been the better choice over RX 480/580 4GB/8GB. The only slice in there where AMD have no direct competition from Nvidia is the new RX 590, but the only argument for this one is if you can't afford GTX 1070. RX 590 is still a little odd, considering how close to GTX 1060 and RX 580 it really is. In general, AMD is hardly competitive in the mid-range, and except for possibly the RX 590, they can't claim to offer better value. This is only going to get more challenging as RTX 2060 arrives.
In the low-end, AMD have more compelling options, like the RX 570 vs. GTX 1050 Ti.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
6,911 (1.80/day)
Likes
3,575
#73
Keep it on topic.
Stop the name calling.
Keep it civil and constructive.

Thank You and have a nice day.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#74
I have a feeling RTRT will be all but useless at this level.
Good Ol NV adding to the confusion, first the 1060 now this.

If anything Skip the 3GB crap GDDR5 and make the 2050ti a 4 or 6GB only with GDDR6 only...
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,496 (6.37/day)
Likes
13,784
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#75
That's on the OS side of things and again, doesn't have anything to do with how much VRAM an application will use.
It can't directly address anything outside of 32-bit virtual address space (includes system RAM and VRAM). Like RAM, VRAM can use a physical address extension like system to get around that but performance is terrible so not generally viable for games.

Point is, the reason why 1, 2, 3.5 GiB was okay for long is because games were developed for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 that only had 512 MiB of memory. Everything was kept 32-bit because AAA games had to fit in such a tiny footprint anyway on consoles. With the transition to Xbox One and PlayStation 4 having 8 GiB of memory, 64-bit games are everywhere and with it a "smoke it if you got it" approach to memory usage. That's why the GTX 970 has aged poorly and so many in this thread scoff at 3 GiB variants of graphics cards. 3 GiB was more than enough several years ago. It isn't anymore because the 32-bit/512 MiB RAM veil has finally been truly lifted.
 
Top