• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Has a DisplayPort Problem Which Only a BIOS Update Can Fix

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
38,863 (8.42/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
NVIDIA "Maxwell" and "Pascal" graphics architectures introduced support for modern display connectivity to keep up with the breakneck pace at which display resolutions are scaling up. The two introduce support for DisplayPort 1.4 and 1.3, however the implementation is less than perfect. Some of the newer monitors that leverage DisplayPort 1.4 or 1.3 standards don't function as designed on "Maxwell" (GeForce GTX 900 series) and "Pascal" (GeForce 10-series) graphics cards, with users reporting a range of bugs from blank screens until the operating system loads, to frozen boot sequences.

Unfortunately, these issues cannot be fixed by driver updates, and require graphics card BIOS updates. Luckily, you won't be at the mercy of lethargic AIC partners looking to limit their warranty claims by going slow on BIOS updates, or NVFlash rocket-science. NVIDIA released a tool which can detect if your graphics card needs the update, and then updates the BIOS for you, from within Windows. The app first unloads your driver, and flashes your graphics card BIOS (a process which must not be interrupted, lest you end up with an expensive brick).

Update: We have confirmation that the tool is intended for both reference-design and custom-design graphics cards.



DOWNLOAD: NVIDIA Graphics Firmware Update Tool for DisplayPort 1.3 and 1.4 Displays

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,545 (1.82/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
I would advice lurkers/non tpu members to not use this if you don't need it/have any problems or don't use display port at all.
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,882 (2.06/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Found this description on PC Gamer.

'Nvidia's tool doesn't update your graphics card's video BIOS, so you won't see a change in tools like GPU-Z after applying it. Instead, it checks the firmware for the UEFI GOP (graphics output protocol).
It also reapplies the current video BIOS during the firmware check, so if you're using a custom or modified BIOS, you should avoid running this tool, as you could run into issues.'
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (1.02/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
I've had these issues for a few years with my Acer G257HU... it's a shame it took them so long to acknowledge this.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,567 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Liquid Gold for Company's like
well Giga for one but take your pick

Your RMA request has been Refused because your Bios was flashed ( not flashed as Required ) without Our Approval
Thank you for your custom
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,548 (4.11/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
We're unsure if the tool works only on reference-design "Founder's Edition"
Because there are so many Founder's Edition Maxwells out there :wtf:
This probably includes a BIOS flash that works on reference design cards. But hearing it straight from Nvidia would be nice. Having it clearly stated in a readme that comes with the tool would be even nicer, but that ship has sailed.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
2,385 (1.97/day)
Processor i5-8400
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Phoenix
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Corsair K60
I suppose now we know why DP 1.3/1.4 support has been with an asterisk on Nvidia's specs pages:
Nvidia Specs said:
DisplayPort 1.2 Certified, DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 Ready.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,548 (4.11/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10

MATx

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I update my MSI GeForce GTX 980 GAMING and works fine.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,617 (0.47/day)
Location
United Kingdom
Found this description on PC Gamer.

'Nvidia's tool doesn't update your graphics card's video BIOS, so you won't see a change in tools like GPU-Z after applying it. Instead, it checks the firmware for the UEFI GOP (graphics output protocol).
It also reapplies the current video BIOS during the firmware check, so if you're using a custom or modified BIOS, you should avoid running this tool, as you could run into issues.'
How could reflashing the current BIOS cause issues?
 

Dark_Phoenix

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I ran this on my system with an Asus Strix GeForce GTX 1060 6GB and it worked without an issue and updated my bios.

No issues reported
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,548 (4.11/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
How could reflashing the current BIOS cause issues?
If you have a custom BIOS and reflash with a generic one, the problem would be obvious. But that doesn't seem to be the case here.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
394 (0.14/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5Ghz 1.33vlts
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3466Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080
Storage 512GB Gigabyte Aorus NVMe (Boot) 1Tb Crucial NVMe (Games)
Display(s) LG UK850 27in 4K Freesync/G-Sync/HDR 450
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Windowed (Dark Tint)
Audio Device(s) Corsair HS70 Special Edition Wireless Headphones & 7.1 Sound
Power Supply Corsair RMx 850w Gold
Mouse Corsair Glaive RGB
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite Mechanical RGB (Cherry Red)
Software Windows 10 Home
If ever a piece of software was designed to brick your system....this is it.

Will Not Touch.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
499 (0.10/day)
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
I've replaced hundreds of video cables trying to figure out what the problem was, this is a very welcome update.

Just updated both my 1080Ti's through the tool so now maybe I can move away from HDMI (which has worked okay until now just without HDR at 4K).
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
515 (0.14/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 8400
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370N-Wifi
Cooling Silverstone AR05
Memory Micron Crucial 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming 8G
Storage Micron Crucial MX300 275GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Case Silverstone RVZ02B
Power Supply Silverstone SSR-SX550
Keyboard Ducky One Red Switch
Software Windows 10 Pro 1909
Still using HDMI. Lucky I won't need to bother. Seems to work fine for most people though
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,073 (5.10/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I ran it on my 1080Ti Strix and it worked perfectly. I don't even think this messes with the BIOS at all. It just updated the UEFI GOP section of the firmware, which is separate from the main BIOS. That's why it is a universal tool.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,878 (0.35/day)
The update will not work on modded BIOSes. You'll have to flash an original rom, apply the update, and remod it again.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,820 (0.82/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
I suppose now we know why DP 1.3/1.4 support has been with an asterisk on Nvidia's specs pages:
Kinda reminds me of DX12 support LOL
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
421 (0.43/day)
Location
France
System Name White Rose ( https://imgur.com/gallery/l7Lg4Wj )
Processor RYZEN 7 2700
Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-i
Cooling NOCTUA NH-L12S
Memory Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4000Mhz 16Go PVS416G400C9K
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
Storage XPG SX8200 Pro 512 go NVMe + SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) SAMSUNG U28D590D 4K 28''
Case Nouvolo Steck
Power Supply CORSAIR SF600
Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy
Keyboard Ajazz ak33
Software Windows 10 1909
I would advise to anyone who has standard bios to make the update regardless ! Just updated mine ( even tho i had not issues with DP ) it takes literally just a few seconds so i don't see why you shouldn't.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
1,104 (0.57/day)
I would advice lurkers/non tpu members to not use this if you don't need it/have any problems or don't use display port at all.
And in the future you can completely avoid problems like these if you don't buy from companies with horrific software.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
77 (0.06/day)
System Name RED
Processor Intel Core i5 2500
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 2x8GB 1600MHz DDR3 @1333 [Avexir]
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Windforce 2X OC
Storage 1*Samsung 840 Series SSD 250GB, 2*Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDDs
Display(s) LG W1934S
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Red Devil Edition
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 520W (80+ Bronze)
Mouse Cooler Master Devastator II Mouse
Keyboard Cooler Master Devastator II Keyboard
It says there are no required updates for my GTX 1060 3GB (a Gigabyte one).
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,376 (0.51/day)
And in the future you can completely avoid problems like these if you don't buy from companies with horrific software.
That's not helpful, because that means you can never buy a GPU ever again. AMD's drivers are hardly any better then nvidias, and often fall behind. And dont even get me started on intels.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,732 (0.72/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
1.png



Wasn't planning on updating anyway, just wanted to see if anything is available.
 
Top