• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA's New Entry-Level GF108 GPU Pictured

Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
294 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Location
Szekszárd, Hungary
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V Evo
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyperx DDR3
Video Card(s) GigaByte Radeon HD3870 512MB GDDR4
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 250GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster F2380M
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy ES 5.1
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64
#26
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.87/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#27
Is it like a £2 coin, because I can't figure out the size of the chip then.

Compare it to the size of the chokes instead, they look fairly standard.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#28
definitely. no company's ever put more than that on entry level graphics. the 9600GSO was mainstream at release so that doesn't count :p.

so its gonna have 128SP's yet perform worse than or around GT 240 level's. Nice, more products from nvidia that are less efficient per sp than the G200 core.
It can hardly perform worse than Geforce GT240 which had only 96SPs and that were those bulky 24SPs/cores from GT200 and only 8ROPs. GF100 might not shine in all it's glory ... it's ugly oversized product like first GT200 and bigger on much worse node than highly reliable 55nm (which was much easier and faster implemented)
So in fact we should expect good performance of this chip if it support 128 bit memory bus which it should cause it support budget ddr3 chips and even 3year old g84 aka 8600gt came out with faster gddr3-1600 ntm gddr3-2200 on 8600gts. It would probably overtake 320SP Redwood chips carrying gddr3-1600 in 5550/5570 case. Somehow i dont believe it will follow GT215 (GF GT240) 8ROPs only wrong philosophy, and feature like full 16ROPs just like GF106 and other mainstream predecessors G84/G92/G94 from the past, and with that be much closer in performance to HD5670 even with limited gddr3 128bit bus. But it will probably consume far more power than 35W (HD55X0) and more like 55-60W like GDDR5 equipped HD5670
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,685 (0.97/day)
Likes
402
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#29
o no but it can lol. u know the GT 240 is only on par with the 9600GT half the time and the 96GT only has 64 SPU's, but the higher clock def helps along with the 16ROPS. Really could be anything. If it's 128SPU's are clocked high around 650 or higher, with 16ROP's(8800GTS/9800GTX config) then yea should be between the 9800GT. Would be kewl to see if nvidia ever come out with a card that has a high clock. Course...why couldn't it have say 12 ROP's?

I mean if this comes out with say an 875core and 17XXmhz shaders, would be a bomb card. But that's just my imagination.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.51/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#30
the difference is that the GF106 uses GDDR5, it might not seem like much of a difference, but it is
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,685 (0.97/day)
Likes
402
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#31
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,484 (0.71/day)
Likes
628
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980Ti Strix 6GB GDDR5 (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro / Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#33
Of course it performs worse when GT240 (g215) is damn 128-bit card with ONLY 8ROPs while 9600GT (g94) was fully featuring 256-bit card. It means a lot in gaming/3D when you use only half memory bandwidth.
9600GT packs GDDR3 over a 256-bit bus, while the GT240 packs GDDR5 over a 128-bit card. While the ROP difference is noticeable, there is practically no difference in memory bandwidth (IIRC, I don't remember the exact clocks, but at identical base clocks, GDDR5 over 128-bit is identical to 256-bit GDDR3).
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#34
9600GT packs GDDR3 over a 256-bit bus, while the GT240 packs GDDR5 over a 128-bit card.
but at identical base clocks, GDDR5 over 128-bit is identical to 256-bit GDDR3).
Thank you for confirming what you just quote :cool:

I think it's pretty clear now, 26 month after ATi's hd4870 release, what gddr5 brought to the world over gddr3 and it's called memory bandwith (doubled per pin (aka.bit) in case gddr5 vs.gddr3 (if they work on the same base clock))

While the ROP difference is noticeable, there is practically no difference in memory bandwidth (IIRC, I don't remember the exact clocks, ...
There's in fact huuuge practical difference in the number of ROPs in envydia's case ;) (hint every pair of ROPs in G80/GT200, and every quad-ROPs in GF100 generation were connected to 32-pin (bit) memory line)