• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Oblivion and instability..

Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#1
is any other forum member having problems with oblivion..

i dont mean performance or frame rate issues.. just simple but often crashing out to the desktop during texture load problems.. crashing during shutdown seems another common one but i dont suffer from that..

instead of the little loading screen appearing its instant desktop sometimes.. this can be after sleep.. going thru a door.. fast moving locations.. or simply loading a saved game..

this is happening on both my machines in a similar fashion.. i am %100 certain the problem isnt my machines..its a game problem its not affected in the slightest by hardware speeds or anything else i have tried..

the game seems to run okay on some systems but not on others.. i am trying to find a pattern to which type of machine combination is haveing problems with it..

trog
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#2
well mine seems to be running perfect. only thing i cant do is alt tab at main menu.
P4 - 9600xt 128mb - 1024mb ram - ide hdds
 

Kith

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I've got:
Athlon XP 3000+
Visiontek Radeon 9600xt 256Mb
1Gb of mismatched ram (1 is 512 3200 1 is 512 2700 both are off brands)
Using latest unoptimized Catalyst drivers
After playing the game for about 70 hours, mostly in bouts of 12 to 13 hours at a time it never crashed on me.
When I switched to Omega drivers and OC'd my Video card and Proc it started goin belly up on me whenever large amounts of activity ocurred or whenever the camera started to rotate on my toon.
Never on loading or unloading or "zoning"
Personally I think its a driver issue.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
i hate to break it to you trog but it might be because of an oc i mean ut2k4 kills me sometimes because its really picky i cant oc alot if any or boom it wont do it i whent through with a 19hour prime 95 run stable and can to anything i whant for hours at a time even farcry but i cant play ut for more than 20min without a crash to desktop but...if i put everything on default np it doesnt do it anymore but still it did. oblivion might just be a really sensative game like ut2k4 or halo thought that was more bugged.
 

Kith

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Bethesda does suggest you dont OC to play the game.
Then again, doesnt every game manufacturer say that?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#6
i did say hardware speeds didnt affect it in the slightest.. try reading before u patronize.. overclocked dosnt make it worse.. underclocked or default speed dosnt make it better..

i dont rely on prime for stability testing.. and the first thing i do at the sign of the slightest instability in any software is to slow everything right down to even below default speeds to make sure it isnt a hardware problem..

it does kinda get a bit boring having to defend your machine just cos a single game is unstable.. there is nothing wrong with either of my two machines.. do me favour and take my word for that.. he he..

folks are having crashing problems with this game.. others are not.. i am looking for as to why.. the fact i have exactly the same issue with two simliar machines kinda convinces its the game not a machine fault..

amd 3000.. ati x850.. ax8 mobo.. none exotic type memory and enough of it..

amd 3700.. ati x1900xtx ax8 mobo.. none exotic type memory and more than enough of it

both machines even when overclcocked are capable of playing every recent game i have without a problem.. neither will play oblivion stably under any circumstances..

the game needs a patch.. my efforts in several places are to speed up that patch..

my cause aint being helped by constantly having to defend the stability of my own machines.. he he he.. believe u me i have already tried sacrificing six virgin chickens and scattering their blood to the north wind.. he he he

and before i go mouthing off accusing a game of being unstable.. i am pretty sure of my facts.. it aint probelms with either of my two machines.. the problem is a buggy game.. it aint all that uncommon and does happen.. and has to be shouted about before it gets fixed..

i know some folks are not having problems.. but some are.. i belong to those that are..

trog

ps.. they especially say dont overclock when they know their product is unstable.. in the end they release a patch when enough folks shout loud enough about the problem.. "picky" is just a euphemism for "unstable.. he he he.. so is "sensitive to overclocks".. he he he
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
i did say hardware speeds didnt affect it in the slightest.. try reading before u patronize.. overclocked dosnt make it worse.. underclocked or default speed dosnt make it better..
excuse me i did read and i know what it said i was simply saying that it might be im sorry trog but as YOU should have read in mine you see that i sad my system was stable to yet could not play ut. and one other thing just because you think your systems aer stable does not mean they are if you whent through alot of prime and other games fine ok then their you go congrats than i would say its a driver problem you could always try and reinstall the game iv had to do that to fix things before. but plz do not accuse me of patronizing you asked for help i told you what i thought was wrong you should have expected an answer like that you cant say For EX:


i need help my computer wont boot and it buzzes
but the mobo is new so that isnt it
the processor is also new
the psu is 600w so im getting enough power
and theirs nothing else connected to the mobo exept a couple hdd's that work

soo tell me whats wrong becuase i know this stuff works.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#8
I have this too, a friend of mine as well. Mainly when loading games it crashes.
Even worse, sometimes when i bot the game my computer shiuts down completely, obviously iv've been checking all my hardware because of this but everything is fine. On google I found quite some people with similar problems.
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
A friend of mine has stability problems as well. You may just have to wait it out until the next patch. I hate how almost every game these days is realeased with major problems. I guess they are more complex than in the past, but should that really be an excuse?

Come on, you guys should know by now Trogg is sensitive about his overclocking.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
ya sorry trog my bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#11
no probs.. but the makers never want to admit their game has a problem.. this game does have a problem..

when enough folks start to blame the game instead of spending hours checking their own hardware or tweaking bloody ini files .. the problem gets fixed.. folks seem far to inclined to help out the buggy game releases by assuming the complainers have dodgey hardware..

the game is buggy bethesda havnt owned up to it yet.. its time they did..

the problem seems kinda wierd really.. the game cant seem to do a simple thing like load data in a reliable fashion..

it bombs out just before data loading.. after sleep.. changeing locations.. going thru doors.. loading a saved game.. loading data while moving fast thru the country..

i think the bomb during shutdown is connected to data loading..

wierd cos it dosnt seem a hard problem to fix.. ever other piece of software on the planet can load data reliably.. why cant oblivion... he he he he

trog

ps.. stop blaming your own hardware.. shout load and clear.. Bethesda.. fix your bloody game.. he he he
 

Satchmo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
406 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Location
cali
Processor A64 3200+ @ 2.7ghz Venice S-939 33c idle 40c load
Motherboard MSI RD480 Neo2-FI Crossfire 200
Cooling Arctic ALPINE 64 on CPU, Arctic silencer on GPU
Memory 2x 1GB Wintec Ampo DDR450 2.5,3,3,6 T1 DualChannel
Video Card(s) X1600XT HIS @ 650core/810 44c idle 62c load
Storage HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5" S-ATA@150mbps
Display(s) CRT 17" E-View
Case Spire BlueFin SP-6190U Blue/Silver
Audio Device(s) Azalia High-Defintion integrated audio
Power Supply Aspire 520 Watt W/ 35a 12v Rail
Software WindowsXP Pro SP2, 6.4 Catalyst, ATI tool .25 beta
#12
oh, its the game, trust me, having top of the line hardware does help alot, and of course having ur rig running its best helps, but yes there are definetly alot of issues to be addressed in the patches to come.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ sandiego
Motherboard asus A8N-E
Cooling Artic cooling - Freezer 64 pro
Memory ddr400 ocz 2x1gb at 2-3-2-5
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GTS 640mb
Storage maxtor 250gb PATA drive with 16mb cache
Display(s) samsung 17inch crt monitor
Case aspire X-Superalien case with 6 blue led fans
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi xtreme music
Power Supply antec Truepowa Trio 650W
Software win xp home sp2
#13
strange i havent had a problem like that while playing oblivion
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,923 (1.35/day)
Likes
818
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#14
its not really strange.. most people dont have the problem.. but quite a few do.. its somehow certain types of hardware related i think.. lots of folks have framerate problems on lesser systems buts thats to be expected..

the game plays nicely for me except for the unstable loading business.. it does it exactly the same on both my machines.. which do have similar hardware set ups.. not identical but same make/type of mobo same make of cpu and same make of grfx card..

the other similarity is they are both in the same house.. he he he

your basic system is similar to one of my machines (same card same cpu) except for the mobo.. one of my machines has pata drives the other sata.. the only identcal thing on my two machines is the abit ax8 mobo.. and they both have the same 600 watt psus..

it might come down to the game just not likeing my pair of abit ax8 mobos.. ????

enough people have the poor loading and shutdown problem for me to know it just isnt me.. the abit ax8 mobo.. ati card.. amd 64 cpu combination cant be all that rare..

trog
 
Last edited: