• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ocz fatal1ty timing settings with Asus M3A78-EM

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#1
Hello all. I just recently purchased OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB PC2 8500 model OCZ2F10664GK. I have an Asus M3A78-EM motherboard. According to OCZ, the memory timing settings is 6-7-7-20. However, in the BIOS, I can't set it exactly to 6-7-7-20, but I got it close as I could. Is this sufficient, or should I replace the memory?

I'm trying to oc the Asus 9950, and I'm running into stability issues, so I was wondering if this was a cause to my problem. Thanks

- Josh
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
Have you set the voltages manually, to whatever it requires?

Looking at your system specs it appears you are using a video card for a hard drive. That could also cause problems.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#3
Have you set the voltages manually, to whatever it requires?

Looking at your system specs it appears you are using a video card for a hard drive. That could also cause problems.
http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/uptime.jpg
Yes, I did set the voltage manually to what it to 2v what it requires. I forgot to set that. Maybe that is what is causing my problems.

Also there was a typo in my system specs. I now have a hard drive listed in its proper section now.

- Josh
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
i could only have imagined the laughs, if it wasnt a mistake, and your PC somehow worked anyway.

Lets see how it goes with the voltages, thats a fairly common step that gets missed (not that the ram companies ever inform you that you need to set it manually...)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#5
I'm a little confuse here. Lol.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#7
i could only have imagined the laughs, if it wasnt a mistake, and your PC somehow worked anyway.

Lets see how it goes with the voltages, thats a fairly common step that gets missed (not that the ram companies ever inform you that you need to set it manually...)
The timings for the ram is 6-7-7-20. I set them to 6-6-6-18 I think. That's the closest that the mobo settings would allow. I did set the voltage for the memory at exactly 2 v though. Is that ok, and when I oc the processor, do I have to raise the the voltage for the memory? Thanks.

- Josh
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
check if there is any bios updates
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
The timings for the ram is 6-7-7-20. I set them to 6-6-6-18 I think. That's the closest that the mobo settings would allow. I did set the voltage for the memory at exactly 2 v though. Is that ok, and when I oc the processor, do I have to raise the the voltage for the memory? Thanks.

- Josh
when you OC the CPU, your ram goes up too. So yes, you may need to raise ram voltage to get it there.

Lower is faster with timings, so running lower than stock means you're already OCing your ram.
By closest you didnt specify if the other options were lower (faster/tigther) or higher (slower/looser) - as said above, a BIOS update may give you more options there.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#10
when you OC the CPU, your ram goes up too. So yes, you may need to raise ram voltage to get it there.

Lower is faster with timings, so running lower than stock means you're already OCing your ram.
By closest you didnt specify if the other options were lower (faster/tigther) or higher (slower/looser) - as said above, a BIOS update may give you more options there.
The other options I set them to was lower slightly. Checked BIOS for updates. I'm using current BIOS. I'm try to stay current on that. I check for BIOS updates once a week, when I check for program updates.

= Josh
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
sorry, OC testing crashed my PC so my message got eaten.

edit: nevermind, found the right ram, will make another post.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#12

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Not sure. How would I check that?

- Josh
He's asking if your ram is set to 800Mhz or 1066. I dont see why that would be relevant to timing options not being available.

http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_8500_fatal1ty_4gb_dual_channel
Your ram.

6-7-7-20 at 2.0v... jesus christ OCZ has got the worst ram they have ever sold, and slapped that idiots name all over it.

at 2.0V, the ram should do 5-5-5-18 or something, not these poor timings. I think you bought a poor product.

With timings that high, many motherboards may not even support it. Most cap out around 6-6-6-21.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
goto jumper free config in the bios... scroll down till you see memory dram timing config...
there you'll see memory clock mode.... set it to 1066mhz
how is this going to

A: help get the correct timings

B: help overclocking

?
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#15
He's asking if your ram is set to 800Mhz or 1066. I dont see why that would be relevant to timing options not being available.

http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_8500_fatal1ty_4gb_dual_channel
Your ram.

6-7-7-20 at 2.0v... jesus christ OCZ has got the worst ram they have ever sold, and slapped that idiots name all over it.

at 2.0V, the ram should do 5-5-5-18 or something, not these poor timings. I think you bought a poor product.

With timings that high, many motherboards may not even support it. Most cap out around 6-6-6-21.
Should I set the timing settings to 5-5-5-18 instead of the ones that I put in?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
Should I set the timing settings to 5-5-5-18 instead of the ones that I put in?
i doubt it would work. Its likely these are bum ram chips that are incapable of faster timings, or they'd be sold with faster timings.

I just got 4GB of 1066Mhz ram that does 5-5-5-15 for $50 Au, so i'm kinda angry that OCZ would even sell this ram.

If you set this ram to 5-5-5-15, you'll more than likely end up with a PC that wont turn on until you reset the BIOS.


fullinfusion: There is nothing wrong with trying to help. But random advice that isnt related to what he's asking for is off-topic, and pretty much irrelevant. His question was asking what should he do since he cant set default timings. overclocking his ram by running even lower timings, is NOT solving his problem of getting it to run at STOCK.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#17
i doubt it would work. Its likely these are bum ram chips that are incapable of faster timings, or they'd be sold with faster timings.

I just got 4GB of 1066Mhz ram that does 5-5-5-15 for $50 Au, so i'm kinda angry that OCZ would even sell this ram.

If you set this ram to 5-5-5-15, you'll more than likely end up with a PC that wont turn on until you reset the BIOS.


fullinfusion: There is nothing wrong with trying to help. But random advice that isnt related to what he's asking for is off-topic, and pretty much irrelevant. His question was asking what should he do since he cant set default timings. overclocking his ram by running even lower timings, is NOT solving his problem of getting it to run at STOCK.
Although Fullinfusion's suggestion about setting it to 1066 MHz mode was irrelevant, it was somewhat of a help. The closest thing that I saw regarding clock speed of the ram was the memclock value in the BIOS. The settings for that is 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 333 MHz, 400 MHz, and 533 MHz. When I explorred those higher memclock value settings, I had higher values for the timing, so I can set the timing values higher. My question is, if I use 1066 memory, what memclock value should I use? Thanks.

- Josh
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#18
Although Fullinfusion's suggestion about setting it to 1066 MHz mode was irrelevant, it was somewhat of a help. The closest thing that I saw regarding clock speed of the ram was the memclock value in the BIOS. The settings for that is 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 333 MHz, 400 MHz, and 533 MHz. When I explorred those higher memclock value settings, I had higher values for the timing, so I can set the timing values higher. My question is, if I use 1066 memory, what memclock value should I use? Thanks.

- Josh
533mhz.... 533x2=1066mhz mate... glad my irrelevancy was some what helpful... what i was trying to get at b4 getting >>>> well... on asus changing the memoy clock opens up different timings...
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#19
533mhz.... 533x2=1066mhz mate... glad my irrelevancy was some what helpful... what i was trying to get at b4 getting >>>> well... on asus changing the memoy clock opens up different timings...
I stand corrected. Your irrelevancy was more than somewhat helpful, it was really helpful. You are right... on Asus motherboards, changing the memory clock does open up different timings. That is exactly why I didn't see the correct timings for my OCZ Fatal1ty ram. And I thought the ram was either bad or incompatable when in reality I just had incorrect BIOS settings. Thanks again. Greatly appreciated it.

- Josh
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
I stand corrected. Your irrelevancy was more than somewhat helpful, it was really helpful. You are right... on Asus motherboards, changing the memory clock does open up different timings. That is exactly why I didn't see the correct timings for my OCZ Fatal1ty ram. And I thought the ram was either bad or incompatable when in reality I just had incorrect BIOS settings. Thanks again. Greatly appreciated it.

- Josh
your welcome mate, that's why i take a different approach to things like this.... gota read between the lines...... glad it opened up for ya...:D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
that is very strange that a motherboard would give different timing options, at different frequencies. Thats not exactly normal.

533 is what you need for 1066, when OC'ing drop it to 400.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#22
that is very strange that a motherboard would give different timing options, at different frequencies. Thats not exactly normal.

533 is what you need for 1066, when OC'ing drop it to 400.
When oc'ing, should I up the voltage while I'm at it or keep it at 2V? Thanks.

- Josh
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
When oc'ing, should I up the voltage while I'm at it or keep it at 2V? Thanks.

- Josh
set it lower. if its 800MHz ram, set it to 667 before you start OCing

edit: since you have 1066, set it to 800 before starting. If you set it to 1066 at 266 FSB, god knows what it would be running at when you raised the FSB to 333.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#24
set it lower. if its 800MHz ram, set it to 667 before you start OCing

edit: since you have 1066, set it to 800 before starting. If you set it to 1066 at 266 FSB, god knows what it would be running at when you raised the FSB to 333.
OK, so I lower the timing settings down to 6-6-7 and lower it down to 800 MHz before oc'ing. How much should I lower the voltage down to?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
OK, so I lower the timing settings down to 6-6-7 and lower it down to 800 MHz before oc'ing. How much should I lower the voltage down to?
leave the voltage at stock. The idea is that as you increase the FSB, your ram gets closer and closer to its stock clocks - so by leaving stock voltage, you're giving yourself that headroom.