• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old card gets artifacts in 2D.

Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.10/day)
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
Hello, guys. Using a old PC with ATI R9200 giving me artefacts in 2D... kinda weird, 3D is ok!

2D


3D


What this could be? Bad caps or something like that? :eek:

PS. I did not even installed the ATI tool, used 7zip to unpack the install and that was it. On my W2k pasted the psapi.dll file into the dir and run. I was only intersed to see, if I can manage by repeatable way to bring the artefacts on screen - done :)
Now how to fix it?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
IIRC, this tool isnt reliable anymore these days, and you can ignore the fact that it artifacts.
If you also see artifacts in other applications, then you might have a problem, but if its only in ATI Tool, you can safely ignore it.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.10/day)
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
Unfortunately, no. Errors popping out everywhere in form of little dots... For example this forum screen is OK, however around the internal Quick Reply lines (the first shade border is OK, problems are only in the horizontal top one under it) are little dots... same here, for example:

...
 

Atom_Anti

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
176 (0.04/day)
Location
Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
System Name 3dfx High End PC
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.06GHz@3.7GHz
Motherboard Abit SA7
Cooling AC Freezer 4
Memory 512MB Patriot DDR600 TCCD
Video Card(s) 3dfx Voodoo 5 5500 AGP 193/193MHz
Storage 80GB 7200RPM Pata
Display(s) 19" LG Wide TFT-LCD
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply 400W
Software Windows Millenium Edition
Benchmark Scores 3DMark2000: 7100 3DMark2001: 4100
It is very unfortunate AtiTool ain't work with new hardware. It was the best!
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,858 (2.26/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,615 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
check if reducing gpu or memory clock speeds helps, otherwise it's probably an issue with the memory or gpu solder interface. throw the card away and get a one off ebay for 5 bucks
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.10/day)
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
I refuse to do that, W1zzard. No disrespect, but as long, as I did not see a single bug in 3D, or in Video render, then it is IMHO obvious, that GPU & memory is working fine.
(also because that will require install of the ATI Tool and I install something only when I really, really must)
What is problem is stability of the input/output buffers and transfers, witch give the 2D errors I showing up above. I'm almost certain (of course I could be proven wrong and then it will be the time to admit that) that is the known bad caps (Teapo & GSC - altrough the GSC only filter voltage for the fan and therefore it is no longer even necessary) that cause all the problems.

Look, I can suft the web for day & no problemo. Then I try type in BIG txt file in Notepad 2 and the machine freeze almost instantly. Try it one more and same result. Type here and not a problem.
See? Some bus manipulations aren't working well. The GPU and rams are working well, thanks to the Nichicon caps, that are fine.

I try to buy 9 Panasonic FM 150uF 6.3V d5 caps to replace the Teapo 100uF 10V d5 caps and Rubycon ZLH 100uF 16V d5 cap for the GSC one and we see. Let's hope they deliver their promises and in few days we know better.

You are right that the card is probably not worth the hassle, but hey - I like to find out why there are problems. Futhermore the eBay shipping to Czech republic will be far too pricey. The real value of card's like this one is too dangerously closing to zero, so the only one payment will be for the postage.
Well, I first try the caps :)
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,875 (1.15/day)
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
you shall not refuse the w1zzard, heathen!

Wouldn't the caps cost more than the card? caps are expensive here...
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.10/day)
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
Probably yes, but it is hard to place a price on hobby projects. The price of any AGP card is nearly zero. Yet still for those, who need them or those, who need them to test - they do have a value. If my AGP port works, then I would be seeking for Radeon HD3850 AGP card to get featest gfx card that I can have for AGP slot :)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.05/day)
i agree your card is nice but that bug in 2 D "kills" like a left mouse button that not always "does the click"...
for few cents you need to spend much euros .
the hope should be in recycling , may be some-days in the future they will repair with recycled parts they just grabbed .
 
Top