• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Laptop CPU (i7 12800 HX, unlocked) with ThrottleStop

MicrobeMossberg

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2022
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Hi all,

I've recently been tweaking with the clockspeeds and voltage settings of my CPU. I've found that XTU provides the fullest control over (albeit buggy sometimes) both clockspeeds and voltage settings of my CPU.

See below an extreme example:

Provided 50 mV overvolt to get to overclock factory settings. 5 GHz on P cores and 3.8 on E cores (factory clocks are 4.8 GHz on P and 3.4 GHz on E).

1662287631883.png

1662287732333.png



Ofcourse, having a overvolt is not regarded as best practice due to heating. But I just wanted to demonstrate how far XTU could go potentially clockspeed wise with overvolting. 5.2 GHz P and 4.0 GHz E are possible.

Now, when using ThrottleStop, even with the Overclock option checked, I cannot seem to overclock my CPU above factory specs (4.8 GHz P and 3.4 GHz E), no matter how high I set the Turbo Ratios. See example:

1662288006690.png


1662288032103.png


I have seen example of people overclocking using ThrottleStop. It's not clear to me however how one does so.

Any advice on this matter is greatly appreciated! Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
17,461 (2.64/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K P-Cores @ 5Ghz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
Good luck with it's longevity.....
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,162 (1.25/day)
Try checking the MMIO Lock box in the TPL window and let me know if that works.

Without access to any 12th Gen hardware or access to the full Intel documentation, there is no way ThrottleStop can fully support Intel's latest hardware.
 

MicrobeMossberg

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2022
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Good luck with it's longevity.....
Mind you, I am running the laptop with an undervolt of -145 mV or so, it hardly throttles. I am just curious how much flexibility I have with TS

Try checking the MMIO Lock box in the TPL window and let me know if that works.

Without access to any 12th Gen hardware or access to the full Intel documentation, there is no way ThrottleStop can fully support Intel's latest hardware.
Hey unclewebb, thanks for the quick reply :)

MMIO Synced:

1662306196628.png



1662306261693.png


Turned on OC and 50 Turbo ratio with some UV


1662306295923.png


The UV registers but not the set turbo ratios:

1662306375657.png


Unfortunately...
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,162 (1.25/day)
Try checking the MMIO Lock box
MMIO Synced
You checked the wrong box. Clear the MMIO Sync box and check the MMIO Lock box on the upper right hand side of the TPL window.

Hidden in there is some code that unlocks the maximum multiplier. I am not sure if this code will work with your 12th Gen CPU but it might.

1662307863685.png
 

MicrobeMossberg

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2022
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
You checked the wrong box. Clear the MMIO Sync box and check the MMIO Lock box on the upper right hand side of the TPL window.

Hidden in there is some code that unlocks the maximum multiplier. I am not sure if this code will work with your 12th Gen CPU but it might.

View attachment 260632
Well, it seems it did!

Did a quick 49x multiplier without the UV hassle:

1662310332839.png


1662310393309.png


Thanks a lot and have a great day!
 
Top