1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking my m3a32-mvp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sinister_steve, May 3, 2008.

1. sinister_steve New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi I am totally new to this but want to figure out how to overclock my mobo and cpu and ram...Ive read all the posts on here about this mobo but still cant quite get a grasp on what to do..ive updated my bios to newest version...So can someone who can step by step me with this please...Thanks...Steve

2. jbruneau

jbruneau New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi Steve,

You need to give us some more specifics to find out what kind of voltages we can push on your components, what kind of timings the ram is going to run best at, and it will give us an average idea of how far your front-side bus (FSB) is going to go.

Examples -->
    CPU: AMD Athlon64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
    RAM: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5
    MOBO: ASUS M3A32-MVP Socket AM2/AM2+

sinister_steve says thanks.
  3. jbruneau

jbruneau New Member

Thanks Received:
    Okay, found your CPU in another thread, argh ... make one thread and stick with it dude ;)!

MOBO: ASUS M3A32-MVP AM2/AM2+
    CPU: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ AM2 (200x15 = 3000MHz Stock)
    RAM: ????

So, what memory are you running in your system?

Last edited: May 3, 2008
  4. sinister_steve New Member

Thanks Received:
    info

Hey man im running DDR2 two 2 gig sticks of transcend

5. jbruneau

jbruneau New Member

Thanks Received:
    Okay, Transcend makes multiple types and speeds of DDR2 memory, but luckily each of them run timings of 5-5-5-# with 1.8V.

Gives me a basic idea of what kind of performance you will get out of these.

My only other question at this point is: are they PC-5300 (DDR667) or PC-6400 (DDR800)?

6. jbruneau

jbruneau New Member

Thanks Received:
    Here, these may help:

PC-5300 (DDR667) http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=26943