• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC crashes, most likely my R9 390?

Matratzke

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hello

today i experienced crashes of my pc. the screen just goes to black. in games the sound jams too, but in videos the sound just keeps playing for a minute, but the pc doesnt response.

i just watched a show on netflix and nothing happened there, but when i started a video on youtube in 1444p after nearly 5 minutes in crashed.

im from germany and its pretty hot atm, so i thought about the temperature.

i watched it with gpu-z and it was constantly on 40°C to 59°C.
but i noticed the GPU Load was at the time of the crash at 100%

can anybody help me?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,028 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor Tracer II 15 VR800 I7 7700HQ/GTX1070 16GB DDR4/2133MHz /ASUS GL553VW GTX 960M 4GB i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#2
Hello

today i experienced crashes of my pc. the screen just goes to black. in games the sound jams too, but in videos the sound just keeps playing for a minute, but the pc doesnt response.

i just watched a show on netflix and nothing happened there, but when i started a video on youtube in 1444p after nearly 5 minutes in crashed.

im from germany and its pretty hot atm, so i thought about the temperature.

i watched it with gpu-z and it was constantly on 40°C to 59°C.
but i noticed the GPU Load was at the time of the crash at 100%

can anybody help me?
Post your system specs
CPU
Memory
GPU
Motherboard
PSU
any extras may be helpful too.
Also list errors in system logs at the time of issue. Do system and Application errors. thnx and welcome to TPU.
 

Matratzke

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#3
system specs:

Intel Core i5 6600
Sapphire Radeon R9 390 Nitro
ASRock H170 Pro4S
500 Watt be quiet! Straight Power

everything bought in 2016


what do you need from the list errors in the system logs excactly? they are in german, i dont know how much the complete logs will help you

first it says:
Die Beschreibung für die Ereignis-ID "56" aus der Quelle "Application Popup" wurde nicht gefunden. Entweder ist die Komponente, die dieses Ereignis auslöst, nicht auf dem lokalen Computer installiert, oder die Installation ist beschädigt. Sie können die Komponente auf dem lokalen Computer installieren oder reparieren.

Falls das Ereignis auf einem anderen Computer aufgetreten ist, mussten die Anzeigeinformationen mit dem Ereignis gespeichert werden.

Die folgenden Informationen wurden mit dem Ereignis gespeichert:

ACPI
1

Die Nachrichtenressource ist vorhanden, die Nachricht wurde in der Nachrichtentabelle jedoch nicht gefunden

and after that:

Die Beschreibung für die Ereignis-ID "56" aus der Quelle "Application Popup" wurde nicht gefunden. Entweder ist die Komponente, die dieses Ereignis auslöst, nicht auf dem lokalen Computer installiert, oder die Installation ist beschädigt. Sie können die Komponente auf dem lokalen Computer installieren oder reparieren.

Falls das Ereignis auf einem anderen Computer aufgetreten ist, mussten die Anzeigeinformationen mit dem Ereignis gespeichert werden.

Die folgenden Informationen wurden mit dem Ereignis gespeichert:

ACPI
5

Die Nachrichtenressource ist vorhanden, die Nachricht wurde in der Nachrichtentabelle jedoch nicht gefunden
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,604 (3.89/day)
Likes
4,997
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830\Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Could be a PSU issue, why i say this is that the 390 can run my system as high as 440w and PSU's the more strain they are under the more they wear out.

Maybe you have a spare PSU or a friend has one to test ?, maybe all so check if your PSU is under warranty as well.

All so set GPU-Z to record the temps to file to make sure your seeing max temps, 59c is nothing to a GPU and even less to VRM.
 

Matratzke

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#5
Yes i have a spare psu, but its even older, hope it will work.
And switching the psu is something im not looking forward to ^^
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,604 (3.89/day)
Likes
4,997
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830\Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
Always worth trying if the PSU is of a decent brand and has high enough wattage\ampage.

Good Luck.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,845 (5.45/day)
Likes
6,457
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
Always worth trying if the PSU is of a decent brand and has high enough wattage\ampage.

Good Luck.
AsRock went through a stint of trials himself, he replaced the psu and I believe the thermal compound, I dont know if Sapphire changed compounds but Im on a 290 VaporX which spurred the Nitro series cards to the 580 and Vega.
 

Matratzke

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#8
Ok i only can get a replacement with 400 Watt. Is that enough to try or should i get a stronger psu first?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,845 (5.45/day)
Likes
6,457
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
4 (0.50/day)
Likes
2
#11
These types of issues are usually either graphics driver related or PSU related.
i have found that in the past if its PSU related, the entire PC turns off and you do not get sound playing without graphics, etc.

Usually when this happens its due to an issue with the driver itself, either a routine is being run that it cannot process properly or its caught in a loop.
I am having a similar issue with my Vega as of 2 weeks ago but it pertains to anything that runs flash.

I would check in your event logs first.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
860 (0.26/day)
Likes
450
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#12
Hallo Matratzke.
Willkommen im Techpowerup-Forum!
Bitte fülle deine sytem spezifikationen in deiner signatur aus damit es die leute beim Helfen einfacher haben-danke!

vielleicht mal ein netzteil oder grafikarte von einem freund borgen wenns möglich ist?
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
115 (0.16/day)
Likes
47
#13
Simplest solution is to test gpu in other desktop if you have any friend and to eliminate 390X from equation.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
694 (1.03/day)
Likes
529
Location
Croatia
System Name Tamagotchi Extreme
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W (80 Plus Gold)
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT
#14
Hello. I would recommend at least 600W from the reputable brand or, even better, 650W. Make sure that that specific PSU has single +12V rail and that it can deliver no less than 580W actual power (48,3A).

A 500W PSU is unsuitable (too weak) for such system. The same goes for 550W, regardless of what people say.

I recommend FSP Hydro GE 650W, Coolermaster G650M, Coolermaster Masterwatt 650, Rosewill ARC 650, EVGA 650 BQ, EVGA 600 BQ... whichever is cheaper or "on sale". I would recommend the bold ones.

Do not run R9 390 on a 400W PSU. Buy 650W and you should be be fine.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,604 (3.89/day)
Likes
4,997
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830\Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#16
These types of issues are usually either graphics driver related or PSU related.
i have found that in the past if its PSU related, the entire PC turns off and you do not get sound playing without graphics, etc.

Usually when this happens its due to an issue with the driver itself, either a routine is being run that it cannot process properly or its caught in a loop.
I am having a similar issue with my Vega as of 2 weeks ago but it pertains to anything that runs flash.

I would check in your event logs first.
True could be a driver problem, but do you think he should be pushing the PSU each time he's playing a game. Although that all so depends on the game he's playing too.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#17
ok, again my system crashed.

Event-Log says Event-ID 56 ACPI 1 and then Event-ID 56 ACPI 5, what does that mean?
when i look for it online, i only find problems with network drivers, could that be my problem?

or can this event-log mean many different things?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,845 (5.45/day)
Likes
6,457
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,604 (3.89/day)
Likes
4,997
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830\Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#20
You have a spare HDD\SSD and just disconnect other drives and plug the spare in and reinstall and see if it still has the issue.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
440 (0.37/day)
Likes
266
#21
https://tpucdn.com/reviews/Sapphire/R9_390_Nitro/images/power_maximum.png

Its only 277 in peak gaming but that max of 365 means it's likely getting there in short bursts. Looking at other reviews, it would seem that when overclocking you can raise the power limit by up to 50%.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/powercolor_radeon_r9_390_pcs_8gb_review,8.html

Guru 3d recommends a 500 - 600 watter... at worst, Id look for a Seasonic S12 or M12 520 minimum but 620 definitely if OCing anything on the table

As for the system logs ... In Event Viewer, look at the Windows System Logs for any Warning or Error indicator in 1st (level) Column, click on it and do a web search . If noithing interst shows up, take a peek at application and setup logs.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9 (1.13/day)
Likes
2
#22
Thx for your answer John, but the crashes have appeared out of games too, like in Videos. So i personally dont think its a Problem with the gpu or the psu.
But i keep a stronger one in mind
 
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
33 (0.77/day)
Likes
13
System Name System 1 (main)
Processor i5-6600k 4.5ghz 1.27v
Motherboard GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
Cooling Be quiet! Silent loop 280mm AIO
Memory Corsair vengeance lpx 32gb (4 x 8gb) 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Evga gtx 1080 ti ftw3 @ stock
Storage kingston ssdnow uv400 480gb ssd (os) toshiba x300 6tb (everything else)
Display(s) ElectriQ 4k 28" TN 60hz
Case Be quiet! Dark base 700
Audio Device(s) Beats studio 1 Headphones (wired, red)
Power Supply Seasonic snow silent 750w
Mouse Havit gaming mouse (amazon keyboard+mouse bundle)
Keyboard Havit gaming keyboard (amazon keyboard+mouse bundle)
Software Windows 10 pro + Kali linux
#23
650W minimum, I personally use 750w at the bare minimum. if you want to get a 750w get a seasonic snow silent 750w or a be quiet power pro 11 750w i own both and they are excellent but the seasonic is better.
 
Top