• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC doesn't turn on or instantly turns off.

mniao

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2024
Messages
4 (0.31/day)
PC turns on and instantly turns off

My computer was working fine just a few days ago but after I shut it off and tried turning it on the next morning it refused to turn on.

The only way for it to give any sign of life is if I completely turn the PSU off for a few seconds and try to turn it on again which causes the computer to light up once for a fraction of a second then turn off again.

I tested the PSU with the paperclip test thing and it turned on.

What I've tried doing:
1. Turning it off and holding the power button for 30 seconds.
2. CMOS Reset.
3. Tried removing GPU, HDD, SSD
4. Tried running with just one stick of ram (Tried both slots).
5. Tried turning it on with a screwdriver.
6. Tried replugging the PSU cables.

SPECS:
MOBO: B450M DS3H
PSU: EVGA 500W BRONZE 80 PLUS
SSD: Lexar 1tb nvme m2
CPU: Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: Geforce RTX 2060 12GB
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
2,190 (1.16/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
While there is certainly potentially a hardware problem...

Have you tried unplugging the Power and Reset switches? A stuck/shorted/failed power or reset switch could be causing this sort of problem.
If you have a steady hand, you can 'short' the power-on pins w/ a screwdriver, etc. (for a moment) to manually test power-on w/o a momentary switch.
 

mniao

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2024
Messages
4 (0.31/day)
While there is certainly potentially a hardware problem...

Have you tried unplugging the Power and Reset switches? A stuck/shorted/failed power or reset switch could be causing this sort of problem.
If you have a steady hand, you can 'short' the power-on pins w/ a screwdriver, etc. (for a moment) to manually test power-on w/o a momentary switch.
I've already tried shorting the power pins and it only leads to the same results sadly.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,802 (0.44/day)
Location
louisiana
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 512 GB 840 EVO SSD Main Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR RM-750X 750W Modular ATX
Software Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit Edition
PC turns on and instantly turns off
test the power output voltages are at the correct voltages

it might be as simple as a power supply issue
 

mniao

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2024
Messages
4 (0.31/day)
have you tried turning on just the PSU, completely unplugged from everything

if it comes on and has power, then test the power outputs are at the correct voltages

it might be as simple as a power issue
Yeah it turned on normally while doing the paperclip test thing, how do I check if it's outputting the correct voltages? I don't have another system or PSU available
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,382 (3.79/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Lenovo ThinkCentre
Processor AMD 5650GE
Motherboard Lenovo
Memory 32 GB DDR4
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Mouse Lenovo
Keyboard Lenovo
Software W11 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
161 (0.04/day)
Just based on the things you've tried thus far, my mind would be leaning towards the motherboard.

CPUs very rarely go bad, but that's another possibility.

The PSU is another possibility, although the fact that it's turning on by itself is a good sign (but doesn't guarantee it's not the problem, as it could even be a cable).

You took the storage and graphics out of the equation and the issue remained so it reasons it's unlikely to be one of those.

You tested different RAM in different slots. This should reasonably rule that the RAM/RAM slots are good?

That leaves the motherboard, CPU, and PSU (and its cables). I would do as others suggested and really minimize it further if you can by taking it out of the case and disconnecting fans to rule out a short. If you had a spare PSU, that would really help as I think its likely to be between the PSU or motherboard.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,802 (0.44/day)
Location
louisiana
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 512 GB 840 EVO SSD Main Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR RM-750X 750W Modular ATX
Software Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit Edition
Yeah it turned on normally while doing the paperclip test thing, how do I check if it's outputting the correct voltages? I don't have another system or PSU available
use a volt meter and test for correct voltage, yes its a very basic test, but its all i can think of

if you arent getting 5v or 12v to all wires you are supposed to read 5v or 12v, this will tell you

just be sure if you buy a voltage tester, that it goes up to 50v DC, since many of the cheap testers under $20, only test up to 4-5 dc volts
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
510 (0.09/day)
Location
Pacific Coast
System Name Z77 Rev. 1
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x G.Skill F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) Samsung 28" UE590 UHD
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 600W Titanium
Mouse EVGA TORQ X10
Keyboard Leopold Tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 7695
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,225 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock through Kryosheet
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 40
Try powering up without CPU ATX power plugged in. If it runs, then CPU or CPU VRM is fried.

It not, then look on secondaries, bottom board. I hope at least you took out the battery tried to run without it.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
510 (0.09/day)
Location
Pacific Coast
System Name Z77 Rev. 1
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x G.Skill F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) Samsung 28" UE590 UHD
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 600W Titanium
Mouse EVGA TORQ X10
Keyboard Leopold Tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 7695
If you think it is a short or fried VRM, you think OCP is triggering it to power off. Problem is, it doesn't turn off if they jumper it. So, unless the OP is also disconnecting everything in the jumpering process, nothing which is connected could be the source of the short.
 
Top