• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC has power but will not boot up?

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Okay i have a really old pc but its doing really fine with a few upgrades from now and then.
So i decided to do some cleaning and cable management, took everything out and connect em back tightly ( no loose cables)
I also took out the CPU heatsink out to clean em. I did not take the actual CPU chip out, as in lift the ledge and so on, only the heatsink with the fan attached to it. Used alcohol to wipe off the old thermal paste of the chip together with the bottom of the heatsink, and applied a new layer. Installed heatsink back into place without any problem.

Problem im facing is that i can turn on my pc, i get all the RGB on my Keyboard, my led fan is lit and spinning, my GPU is also lit, CPU fan running perfectly,motherboard led is lit, ram is seated properly , ive tried with one ram stick but still wont work.
methods that i have failed:
-Reset CMOS by taking out the battery
- took out ram and tested all possible ways
- replaced current GPU with and older GPU
- reconnect all cables 24pin Pwr/4pin CPU/ 6pin pcie gpu / all sata/data cables

I use HDMI and my monitor detects that there is a device plugged in but its all black doesnt display anything, i cant even get into bios . I can get power, but i cant get the pc to boot up.

What is the problem here? Im out of ideas and really dissapointed ,to all the tech gurus out there, please help

Cooler Master MWE 500 230V
Asus P7P55-M
MSI GTX1050 Ti 4GB
Intel i5 750
12GB RAM
SP 500GB SSD
WD 1tb CaviarGreen
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
141 (1.74/day)
Location
Houston, Texas
System Name Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Processor Xeon X5670 @4 GHz.
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Alienware Area 51 X58 CPU Cooler + Onboard Fan 4-pin
Memory 28 gig DDR 3
Video Card(s) AMD Power Color 7700 Series
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) HP - 25x 24.5" LED FHD Monitor - Gray/Green 1 milliseconds 144 Hz
Case Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA 500 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse KU-0418 Multimedia USB Wired Keyboard back light
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB
When you say will not boot, you can't even get into the bios?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
163 (0.09/day)
Location
Dutchland
System Name F@H main rig / F@H second rig.
Processor Main AMD Ryzen 2600 / second i5 4400.
Motherboard Asus Prime B450M-A / MSI h87 Military class.
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L rgb / Coolermaster ML120L rgb.
Memory 16Gig Ballistix Ddr4 / 2x 8gig Corsair.Ddr3.
Video Card(s) GTX1060 3gb. / onboard(FOR now).
Storage Liteon 512Gb M.2 (Os disk) 1x Gigabyte 240Gb 1x Kingston 240Gb. / 1x Samsung 128Gb 1x WD 500Gb.
Display(s) 1x 26" Ilyama 1x 19" philips. / 1x 19" philips.
Case Gamdias TALOS M1B / cooler master masterbox mb311l.
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard.
Power Supply Coolermaster MWE450w White(!?) / Huntkey 450w.
Mouse No idea brand
Keyboard Same as above
Software Win10/linux.
Nope he can't enter the bios either.
try to rule out things aka start with one stick of memory.

i have had this a few times cleaning up rigs and i always had problems with some sticks(faulty/buggered) not loading any video output....
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,467 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
12 gb ram = 3 sticks x 4gb ?
if yes remove one and put 2x sricks in correct slots

like foldinator already pointed to
sorry should have read better

did ya try new sata cable or just reseated them
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
When you say will not boot, you can't even get into the bios?
Yes, the moment i turn on my pc, all the power comes in, fan spinning, rgb all lit, cpu fan spinning , mobo led on, but on monitor it isnt showing anything, i cant even get into AMI flash screen in order to proceed to bios

i have had this a few times cleaning up rigs and i always had problems with some sticks(faulty/buggered) not loading any video output....
[/QUOTE]

well yeah, ive tried one stick at a time with each stick, tried two sticks (I swap em around) no luck in that, same goes for 3 sticks with swapping around.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
141 (1.74/day)
Location
Houston, Texas
System Name Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Processor Xeon X5670 @4 GHz.
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Alienware Area 51 X58 CPU Cooler + Onboard Fan 4-pin
Memory 28 gig DDR 3
Video Card(s) AMD Power Color 7700 Series
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) HP - 25x 24.5" LED FHD Monitor - Gray/Green 1 milliseconds 144 Hz
Case Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA 500 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse KU-0418 Multimedia USB Wired Keyboard back light
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB
Maybe you have already tried this, but if not, If you have an onboard video connection, vga/hdmi/dp I would try plugging my monitor into one of those, just to rule out a video card issue.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,122 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Does the Motherboard have a built in speaker/ buzzer, does it make any sounds?
Does Windows sound like it is loading through your speakers?
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Maybe you have already tried this, but if not, If you have an onboard video connection, vga/hdmi/dp I would try plugging my monitor into one of those, just to rule out a video card issue.
I am pretty sure nothing is wrong the my monitor, as it detects theres input on the specific HDMI channel, i just cant get my pc to run the system. Its all powered , just not starting the pc.

Does the Motherboard have a built in speaker/ buzzer, does it make any sounds?
Does Windows sound like it is loading through your speakers?
I dont think my mobo has any built in speakers in it, i once tried turning my pc on without any ram sticks and it didnt make any sound, as for the windows question, no it is not, no sound at all, i dont think i can even get to the windows login screen to hear the windows sound, bcause i am stuck at the very beginning, no AMi flash screen no nothing

I am pretty sure nothing is wrong the my monitor, as it detects theres input on the specific HDMI channel, i just cant get my pc to run the system. Its all powered , just not starting the pc.
ive also tried using another GPU, same thing
Nothing happens when i turned pc on, only have power to all components, but pc wont start
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,342 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
bogut's posts got stuck in the spam filter for some reason, corrected that now.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
3,120 (2.39/day)
Location
Lund, Sweden
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
I am pretty sure nothing is wrong the my monitor, as it detects theres input on the specific HDMI channel, i just cant get my pc to run the system. Its all powered , just not starting the pc.
That's not what they're saying, they're saying you should try connecting your monitor to the HDMI port on the motherboard rather than the one on the GPU. This might be as simple as the motherboard for some reason defaulting to internal video output rather than external through the GPU, especially after a CMOS reset. I would also try this with the dGPU entirely removed from the system.

Edit: Never mind, googled the motherboard and saw that it actually lacks outputs for onboard video. That is a bit weird, but I guess it's not that weird given that this was the first generation with iGPUs on Intel CPUs.

Reseating the CPU might be worth a try (I know you didn't remove it, but it's still worth trying), but beyond that you seem to have tried most things I would suggest for general troubleshooting. More things to try: check your RAM slots for dust and debris. Same for the PCIe slot. Even a single stray strand of hair blocking a single contact can cause a lot of issues, and can be really hard to spot. Check that the contacts on the GPU and RAM are clean and don't look corroded (clean with contact cleaner, isopropyl alcohol or similar if dirty or corroded). Check that CMOS jumpers and the like are in the correct position. Check for physical damage (PCIe slot coming loose etc.) - if there was a dry solder joint somewhere that cracked during disassembly, that might break things.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
141 (1.74/day)
Location
Houston, Texas
System Name Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Processor Xeon X5670 @4 GHz.
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Alienware Area 51 X58 CPU Cooler + Onboard Fan 4-pin
Memory 28 gig DDR 3
Video Card(s) AMD Power Color 7700 Series
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) HP - 25x 24.5" LED FHD Monitor - Gray/Green 1 milliseconds 144 Hz
Case Alienware Area 51 Star Wars
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA 500 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse KU-0418 Multimedia USB Wired Keyboard back light
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB
I am pretty sure nothing is wrong the my monitor, as it detects theres input on the specific HDMI channel, i just can't get my pc to run the system. It's all powered, just not starting the pc.
Ok, just was thinking out loud, I have had the same thing happen before that you're experiencing, and it was my video card, not setting in the socket good, I found this out by plugging my monitor into the onboard hdmi.
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
That's not what they're saying, they're saying you should try connecting your monitor to the HDMI port on the motherboard rather than the one on the GPU. This might be as simple as the motherboard for some reason defaulting to internal video output rather than external through the GPU, especially after a CMOS reset. I would also try this with the dGPU entirely removed from the system.

Edit: Never mind, googled the motherboard and saw that it actually lacks outputs for onboard video. That is a bit weird, but I guess it's not that weird given that this was the first generation with iGPUs on Intel CPUs.

Reseating the CPU might be worth a try (I know you didn't remove it, but it's still worth trying), but beyond that you seem to have tried most things I would suggest for general troubleshooting. More things to try: check your RAM slots for dust and debris. Same for the PCIe slot. Even a single stray strand of hair blocking a single contact can cause a lot of issues, and can be really hard to spot. Check that the contacts on the GPU and RAM are clean and don't look corroded (clean with contact cleaner, isopropyl alcohol or similar if dirty or corroded). Check that CMOS jumpers and the like are in the correct position. Check for physical damage (PCIe slot coming loose etc.) - if there was a dry solder joint somewhere that cracked during disassembly, that might break things.
Yeap, sadly my motherboard doesnt have internal GPU so i am unable to test it without my GPU.
Im sure my ram and GPU is all connected in real good, ive already checked and pushed it in hard enough . I will try cleaning each ram with isopropyl alcohol to see if theres any dust that is giving trouble
Is it possible i may have moved the CPU chip when pressing down the heatsink pins? Is that why ure asking me to reseat the CPU chip? I will give it a shot, reseat the CPU chip and cleaning the ram with alcohol.
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Ok, just was thinking out loud, I have had the same thing happen before that you're experiencing, and it was my video card, not setting in the socket good, I found this out by plugging my monitor into the onboard hdmi.
Well to be frank, i did not take the GPU out for cleaning in the first session, only did minor cleaning around the GPU . But yeah i did try it with my older GPU after facing this problem, but still same thing, blank screen but everything has power (aka lights on fan spinning)
My board doesnt have built in GPU on it, im unable to do that, will need actual GPU for video input
During lockdown and my pc wont run, dang it!
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
3,120 (2.39/day)
Location
Lund, Sweden
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yeap, sadly my motherboard doesnt have internal GPU so i am unable to test it without my GPU.
Im sure my ram and GPU is all connected in real good, ive already checked and pushed it in hard enough . I will try cleaning each ram with isopropyl alcohol to see if theres any dust that is giving trouble
Is it possible i may have moved the CPU chip when pressing down the heatsink pins? Is that why ure asking me to reseat the CPU chip? I will give it a shot, reseat the CPU chip and cleaning the ram with alcohol.
Worth a try at least. Remember to check down in the RAM slots too - as I said, dust or hair there can make a lot of trouble.

Did you need to use a lot of force for anything when tearing it down or rebuilding? That might have cracked a solder joint or some such, but it's quite unlikely.

As for reseating the CPU, it doesn't so much move as there is a possibility of the LGA pins on the motherboard not making good contact with the pads on the CPU. The bracket holding down the CPU is supposed to take care of this, as well as mounting pressure from the cooler, but... well, things happen. It might fix everything, or it might do nothing at all. Nonetheless worth a try once you're going down the troubleshooting rabbit hole.

Oh, another thing to try: tear everything down and reassemble the PC outside of your case (on a cardboard box or similar antistatic surface. That should eliminate ground faults, shorts to the case, etc, and it'll let you check for pinched cables throughout the case.
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Worth a try at least. Remember to check down in the RAM slots too - as I said, dust or hair there can make a lot of trouble.

Did you need to use a lot of force for anything when tearing it down or rebuilding? That might have cracked a solder joint or some such, but it's quite unlikely.

As for reseating the CPU, it doesn't so much move as there is a possibility of the LGA pins on the motherboard not making good contact with the pads on the CPU. The bracket holding down the CPU is supposed to take care of this, as well as mounting pressure from the cooler, but... well, things happen. It might fix everything, or it might do nothing at all. Nonetheless worth a try once you're going down the troubleshooting rabbit hole.

Oh, another thing to try: tear everything down and reassemble the PC outside of your case (on a cardboard box or similar antistatic surface. That should eliminate ground faults, shorts to the case, etc, and it'll let you check for pinched cables throughout the case.
So i did everything you mentioned, but it will not work still. So dissapointed, starting to feel the regret when i decided to clean the pc in the first place. Lol
Anyways here is the update,
-dissamble everything out of the case, started up outside the case, no luck
- cleaned each ram slot and ram stick with isopropyl alcohol, tested one by one, still no luck
- reseat the CPU chip and installed new thermal paste again, ofcourse i cleaned the previous paste first

i really dont know what went wrong here, everything seems to be working fine but it will not start up! Why cant i even get pass AMI flash screen?

here are some photos on this , also a photo of my CPU chip
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
I dont think i cracked any solder joints, doesnt it take lots of force to even do that? Or maybe break the board first bfore getting to the solder joints, well i dont know, but u could tell me if u need any close up shots on which ever part of my pc to check
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 4xGB Patriot PVS416G400C9K/G440 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Have you tried with one stick in the first blue slot?
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Guysss i finally manage to start up my pc! Got into bios had to set up everything as ive reset the CMOs previously, solution was at the very last as i was trying Jesdals method but it didnt work, so i had to put in back all three in, and suddenly the computer booted up!!
The least expected time has actualy worked!

i guess u guys were right all along about the ram and maybe some dust has gotten into it.

appreciate all the help i love you guys!
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,467 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
are the ram sticks all the same? and what jesdals said one ramstick should be in the A1=first blue slot
do ya have another power supply to test?
at some point there is only the option to test every single piece of hardware against each other-so maybe ya have a friend from which ya can lend some stuff.

ok too late but it seems to work now-happy
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
3,120 (2.39/day)
Location
Lund, Sweden
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Great news! Hope it doesn't flake out on you again :)
 

Bogut

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
9 (0.29/day)
Computer booted up, but only detect one ram stick,
But its okay, at least now i know where the problem is, will check out other ram slots . Weird thing is, i am 110% sure i have already seated em correctly, top to bottom all in.
Fyi i am using a mixture of rams ( i know its not the best performance wise )
But i did get 12gb of ram previously,
pc was really fast no doubt
As to now im only on 2gb of ram, and its pretty laggy at times
This pc came with two old 2GB ddr3 kingston , and i bought one apacer 8gb ram
8+2+2

Nontheless, i will keep checking the slots till i get it back to 12gb!
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 4xGB Patriot PVS416G400C9K/G440 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
TechYesCity have some videos about cleaning motherboards
 
Top