• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI Exp x16 3.0 runnig always @ x8 3.0?

Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
Havana, Cuba
System Name Nameless 4 now
Processor Core i5 6600K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Fatal1ty Gaming i7
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory GSkill TridentZ 16GB (2x8GB) @ 3200MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 STRIX OC
Storage SSD Samsung 960EVO 250GB + WD RE4 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ML238H 23´ FULL HD 1080P
Case Corsair Carbide 400R w/all white fans
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W Platinum
Mouse Logitech Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K70 RAPIDFIRE
Software Windows 10 X64
#1
(Sorry about my English ) Hello guys yesterday i disassemble my PC for cleaning purposes and now when i run GPU-Z it shows that my video card is runnig at x8 3.0 instead x16 even at full load with a game or benchmark. The video card was runnig at x16 @ 3.0 before cleaning. The video card is in the 1st PCIex slot. No other cards or M.2 SSD are connected. I already try this with no results:

1- Clean the video card contacts with a cleaning contact spray and a rubber (No solution still x8 3.0)
2- Reset the UEFI (No solution still x8 3.0)
3- Put the card in the 2nd PCIexp slot and it get worse because shows x4 speed (my mobo has 4 PCIexp) (No solution)
4- Verify the power saving options for PCIexp in Windows control panel and Nvidia control panel (No solution still x8 3.0)
5- Force GEN3 option in UEFI instead of Auto for PCIexp slot 1 (No solution still x8 3.0)

I really don´t understand what happens it was working just fine at full speed 3.0 @ x16. I know that is no real impact in performance working at x8 speed, but i just want to know if is something bad with the card or the Mobo. The only think that i do different was exchange the 2nd 6pin PCI exp power cable for other. My card is MSI GTX 970 (8pin + 6pin power connectors), mobo ASrock Z170 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming, PSU EVGA SuperNOVA 850W P2 and CPU is i5 6600K runnig @ 4.4Ghz. Can u help me plz! Thanks!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Pull your mobo out, clean the slot, check your cpu. Reinstall chipset drivers, ensure no other devices are sharing bandwidth from tgat slot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#3
did you load the GPU engine to get its full potential reading? ,please post screenshot of GPUz (with a load on the engine) use the small "?" i know the X speed shouldnt be changing, but still, rule out all options. try the GPU in a different PSIe slot too, also a different PC all together.

i had this happen with an older card on my Z68 mobo, it doesnt change perf, but it is annoying.

also, checkthe motherboard Browser, to see if it is reading some other device that isnt there, i know you said there were none, but see if IT thinks there is.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
did you load the GPU engine to get its full potential reading? ,please post screenshot of GPUz (with a load on the engine) use the small "?" i know the X speed shouldnt be changing, but still, rule out all options. try the GPU in a different PSIe slot too, also a different PC all together.

i had this happen with an older card on my Z68 mobo, it doesnt change perf, but it is annoying.

also, checkthe motherboard Browser, to see if it is reading some other device that isnt there, i know you said there were none, but see if IT thinks there is.
He needs to allow device manager to show non present devicrs, which typically was a registry entry that worked from XP-W7, never mucked with w8/8.1.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
That's easy ,open device manager ,click "view" click ," show hidden items"

Is that what u mean?
There is a registry entry that will allow that function to go further in Depth.

It is called Device Manager Show Non Present Devices. Ive had to remove stuck usb devices like that before.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
399 (0.20/day)
Likes
292
System Name White Shark
Processor 7700K
Motherboard msi z270 gaming pro carbon
Cooling CM 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage Kingston SSD 300V 120gb/ Seagate 1TBx2
Display(s) Asus MG278Q freesync 144hz 1440p
Case Rosewill Orbit Z1
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 750 gold
Mouse Logitech Proteus core
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software W10
#7
......try your old pcie cables setup......if you havent.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,848 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,417
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
There is a registry entry that will allow that function to go further in Depth.

It is called Device Manager Show Non Present Devices. Ive had to remove stuck usb devices like that before.
Not needed on windows 10, just the menu option show hidden will do
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#9
Not needed on windows 10, just the menu option show hidden will do
That's what I thought because that's what Microsoft suggested when I had an issue a while back with my DVD CD drive. So, selecting view and then selecting show hidden devices will do just fine @OP

But what is the need for him to show hidden devices?I got all caught up in the option for showing disabled or hidden devices and I forgot about the matter at hand:kookoo:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Not needed on windows 10, just the menu option show hidden will do
That's what I thought because that's what Microsoft suggested when I had an issue a while back with my DVD CD drive. So, selecting view and then selecting show hidden devices will do just fine @OP

But what is the need for him to show hidden devices?I got all caught up in the option for showing disabled or hidden devices and I forgot about the matter at hand:kookoo:
This is what I am Talking about.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff184583.aspx

https://social.technet.microsoft.co...functioning-in-windows-7?forum=w7itprogeneral

From the 2nd link.

"go to the Windows Orb (Start), type regedit, press Enter and in the left pane navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SYSTEM \CurrentControlSet \Control \Session Manager \Environment and add this key (Edit > New > String Value) DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES and give it a value of 1.

If you want ‘Show hidden devices’ to be displayed permanently, add another registry key to HKEY….. above, make it a String Value named DEVMGR_SHOW_DETAILS and give it a value of 1."

If 10 does that already great, if not I would add it, it has saved my rear.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
160 (0.16/day)
Likes
105
System Name HP Pavilion Elite HPE-130me Desktop PC
Processor Intel i7-860 2.80 GHz
Motherboard "OEM" MSI MS-7613 (IONA-GL8E) mATX
Cooling Regular one
Memory Hyundai Electronics 2x4 8GB DDR3 @1333mhz
Video Card(s) OEM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 ti @GC:928/MC:1350 VRAM: 1GB
Storage WDC Blue 465.76 GiB WD5000AAKS
Display(s) HP 2310i 1920x1080 60hz 23"
Case A Cheap OEM HP Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply OEM Delta 460W power supply
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 SP1 (with latest updates)
#11
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#12
This is what I am Talking about.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff184583.aspx

https://social.technet.microsoft.co...functioning-in-windows-7?forum=w7itprogeneral

From the 2nd link.

"go to the Windows Orb (Start), type regedit, press Enter and in the left pane navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SYSTEM \CurrentControlSet \Control \Session Manager \Environment and add this key (Edit > New > String Value) DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES and give it a value of 1.

If you want ‘Show hidden devices’ to be displayed permanently, add another registry key to HKEY….. above, make it a String Value named DEVMGR_SHOW_DETAILS and give it a value of 1."

If 10 does that already great, if not I would add it, it has saved my rear.
So the difference between the registry edit and the option that I was speaking of would be until you undo the edit or set its value to zero it will continue showing all hidden devices?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
So the difference between the registry edit and the option that I was speaking of would be until you undo the edit or set its value to zero it will continue showing all hidden devices?
Yes, either you can just cmd prompt it or via run or make it permenent.

I keep it permenent incase a driver is bad. I've known about this trick since 2005/2006.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
System Name Matrix
Processor Intel i3 4150
Motherboard AsRock H97 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima 2011
Memory Kingston HyperX Black 8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 760 WindForce 3X OC Rev. 2
Display(s) Acer A221HQL
Case Enemax Luxuray
Power Supply High Power HPG-600BR-H14S
Mouse Steelseries XAI Ruse Edition
#14
(Sorry about my English ) Hello guys yesterday i disassemble my PC for cleaning purposes and now when i run GPU-Z it shows that my video card is runnig at x8 3.0 instead x16 even at full load with a game or benchmark. The video card was runnig at x16 @ 3.0 before cleaning. The video card is in the 1st PCIex slot. No other cards or M.2 SSD are connected. I already try this with no results:

1- Clean the video card contacts with a cleaning contact spray and a rubber (No solution still x8 3.0)
2- Reset the UEFI (No solution still x8 3.0)
3- Put the card in the 2nd PCIexp slot and it get worse because shows x4 speed (my mobo has 4 PCIexp) (No solution)
4- Verify the power saving options for PCIexp in Windows control panel and Nvidia control panel (No solution still x8 3.0)
5- Force GEN3 option in UEFI instead of Auto for PCIexp slot 1 (No solution still x8 3.0)

I really don´t understand what happens it was working just fine at full speed 3.0 @ x16. I know that is no real impact in performance working at x8 speed, but i just want to know if is something bad with the card or the Mobo. The only think that i do different was exchange the 2nd 6pin PCI exp power cable for other. My card is MSI GTX 970 (8pin + 6pin power connectors), mobo ASrock Z170 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming, PSU EVGA SuperNOVA 850W P2 and CPU is i5 6600K runnig @ 4.4Ghz. Can u help me plz! Thanks!
Since you get pci-e x16 from cpu, take off cpu and clean the connectors with alcohol! Don't even touch the motherbord pins! Had this problem on my i3 4150 with a GTX 660. It was running at 2x!!!! I had stuttering on games that worked fine, blaming drivers etc, until i run gpu z!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,475 (0.42/day)
Likes
660
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#16
Power down recheck all connections(plugs), make sure the molex plugs are seated fully. Have you tried stressing the GPU with GPU-Z open to see if it fluctuates?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#17
This.

Are you alt-tabbing out of games/benchmarks and checking ? Confirm with gpuz test.

To be sure, you arent running a ribbon/pcie extension right? Those go bad so easily.

Otherwise id reseat everything... and consider a bios flash to the latest or refresh if you are on the latest. Same thing with drivers.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,161 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,640
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#19
Also check if you have damage on the card near the slot (the rectangular resistors / capacitors)
You were telling me W10 opened up the option of devmgr fully without requiring the registry entry or run command?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,848 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,417
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
You were telling me W10 opened up the option of devmgr fully without requiring the registry entry or run command?
Yes, as mentioned above it's now available via the menu
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
Havana, Cuba
System Name Nameless 4 now
Processor Core i5 6600K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Fatal1ty Gaming i7
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory GSkill TridentZ 16GB (2x8GB) @ 3200MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 STRIX OC
Storage SSD Samsung 960EVO 250GB + WD RE4 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ML238H 23´ FULL HD 1080P
Case Corsair Carbide 400R w/all white fans
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W Platinum
Mouse Logitech Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K70 RAPIDFIRE
Software Windows 10 X64
#21
x8 3.0.PNG


Yesterday i updated the BIOS and nothing still in x8 mode. The card is not damaged. Can be an OS problem? I´m not using any extension power cable only the originals for PSU. The only solution that came to my mind is reinstall Windows 10. Any other sugestion? As i said, the card was working just fine at x16 speed before the cleaning and i only remove the dust of the card nothing invasive.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#22
I didnt mean power extension cable... but it seems like you are not using a pcie riser cable.

Reseat everything...check for damage on the card like was said above, or try reinstalling windows.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#23
View attachment 96121

Yesterday i updated the BIOS and nothing still in x8 mode. The card is not damaged. Can be an OS problem? I´m not using any extension power cable only the originals for PSU. The only solution that came to my mind is reinstall Windows 10. Any other sugestion? As i said, the card was working just fine at x16 speed before the cleaning and i only remove the dust of the card nothing invasive.
How did you remove the dust? Explain what you did
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
Havana, Cuba
System Name Nameless 4 now
Processor Core i5 6600K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Fatal1ty Gaming i7
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory GSkill TridentZ 16GB (2x8GB) @ 3200MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 STRIX OC
Storage SSD Samsung 960EVO 250GB + WD RE4 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ML238H 23´ FULL HD 1080P
Case Corsair Carbide 400R w/all white fans
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W Platinum
Mouse Logitech Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K70 RAPIDFIRE
Software Windows 10 X64
#24
I did not disassemble the video card for dust removal, i just use a compressed air can and a brush for cleaning. I will try again... removing the CPU this time and reinstalling OS... but im runnig out of options :(
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#25
I did not disassemble the video card for dust removal, i just use a compressed air can and a brush for cleaning. I will try again... removing the CPU this time and reinstalling OS... but im runnig out of options :(
Although compressed air cans are 9 times out of 10 safe, it's not beyond the realm of possibility that it could have caused something to occur... however I use a shop vac, which has significantly more pressure than a can of air ,and I've never damaged a video card or any component.The air could've blown something onto a component or caused some kind of issue you never know until you look

I would recommend a full disassembly, as was mentioned by others, and really give it a close look. The components that could be damaged like a capacitor ,or a resistor are pretty small ,the capacitors not so small in terms of a video card ,but a resister is pretty tiny .

Just make sure everything is in order, also verify no dust has gotten into the PCI a slot on the motherboard and make sure that you're making full 100% contact, and that the clip that locks the video card in isn't somehow impeding insertion
 
Top