• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PerfCap Reason PWR / GPU load 99% (4 x 3090 RTX) - Workstation Rendering issues

Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
Hello all! I recently updated my PC setup and been having some performance issues!
First up I'm a VFX / 3D animator working from home so this PC setup isn't designed for gaming, but I assume its the same load / stress and rendering absolutely destroys a computer.

I recently got a custom loop and 4 x 3090s and been seeing some performance issues on Octane Render in Cinema 4D. I opened GPU-Z noticed some things:

GPU load is running at 99%
and the PerfCap Reason Pwr.

I attached my computer specs in this post and they are also present in my profile.

So I installed EVGA Precision, lowered the power target of all 4 GPUs to 60% to see if that had any impact on the PWR consumption and it didn't change one bit. I noticed the noise of the GPUs went down considerably however.
I tried under voltage with MSI afterburner but that didn't seem to do anything.

I've attached a screenshot of GPU-Z mid render, this is just showcasing one of my RTX's, but the others all have similar read-outs.

Please bear in mind, computer hardware specs and testing is relatively new to me, so please have that in mind!

Unfortunately most VFX artists I know don't know a thing about this sort of stuff.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

- Aims
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    49.1 KB · Views: 141
  • Computer Specs.PNG
    Computer Specs.PNG
    38.7 KB · Views: 142
  • photo_2022-05-16_11-09-37.jpg
    photo_2022-05-16_11-09-37.jpg
    185.2 KB · Views: 139
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
474 (0.73/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 5900x
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
VR HMD Oculus CV1
PerfCap is just a nice little notification telling you that "if I had more X, I could probably increase clock a bit". It is not telling you to is limited below what its supposed to be. It is not the cause of your performance issue if the card is running at 99% load, which it is. It is also running above its base frequency so its boosting as it should.

For the performance problems, look in to the software you are using, because at least in that picture the cards doing just fine.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
4,191 (3.29/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Well if you're seeing 99% load with PWR limit trigger then yeah, that's normal for rendering workload or gaming at full blast. If you lower power limit to 60% it will mean that your card will be hitting the power limit earlier.

When it comes to undervolting:

Obvious question - are you hitting the Apply button in Afterburner after doing the undervolt?


@Mussels has undervolted his 3090 he might help guide you.

Run card at default, use "Reset" function in GPU-Z to monitor GPU frequency during render. See your average frequency after render is finished. Use that frequency as the target frequency for undervolt.

TLDR
Hitting power limit at 99% GPU load is normal.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,354 (2.43/day)
Location
Germany
Processor A LOT... ( Alder Lake, Zen 3, Zen 2, Rocket Lake, Comet Lake... back to Bulldozer and Sandybridge.)
Motherboard A LOT... (Z490 Unify, Z590 Strix E, Z690 Pro A, B550 Strix F, B550 Tomahawk and older ones)
Cooling AIOs, NH D15, U12A/S, Fuma 2, one old Custom Loop from half a decade ago.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB) Gear 1 CR1
Video Card(s) Almost all Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB (external)
Display(s) Gigabyte M32U 4K 144Hz / ASUS ROG STRIX XG27UQR 4K 144Hz / Dell S2721DGFA / ASUS VG279QM 280Hz
Case Streacom BC1 V2, H510 Flow, H710, Corsair 4000D Airflow, Fractal Design Meshify S2, Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a Sharkoon Gaming DAC Pro S V2
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium, Straight Power 1200W Plat., Corsair RM750x
Mouse G303 Shroud Edition, Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, EC2-A
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
at around 75% of its actual powerlimit it says limited by power.
could be one of the tons of problems people get with more than 2-way SLI (3 and 4-way SLI is basically not supported by NVidia at all and gets no attention with drivers, fixes and general support)
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
4,191 (3.29/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
at around 75% of its actual powerlimit it says limited by power.
could be one of the tons of problems people get with more than 2-way SLI (3 and 4-way SLI is basically not supported by NVidia at all and gets no attention with drivers, fixes and general support)
There's no SLI bridge on that photo.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
63 (0.36/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
Your GPUs are running at their power limit and maxed out load. I would say that is working as intended. Workstation tasks are different than gaming so you won't see the same boost behaviour.
 
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
Well if you're seeing 99% load with PWR limit trigger then yeah, that's normal for rendering workload or gaming at full blast. If you lower power limit to 60% it will mean that your card will be hitting the power limit earlier.

When it comes to undervolting:

Obvious question - are you hitting the Apply button in Afterburner after doing the undervolt?


@Mussels has undervolted his 3090 he might help guide you.

Run card at default, use "Reset" function in GPU-Z to monitor GPU frequency during render. See your average frequency after render is finished. Use that frequency as the target frequency for undervolt.

TLDR
Hitting power limit at 99% GPU load is normal.
Greetings! I'll try this, would I be trying to aim at the GPU clock MHz or Memory Clock MHz for the targetfrequency?


I only got worried that once one of my renders finished, the computer shut down immediately. I looked into troubleshooting and a few people on the OTOY forums suggested that it was to do with my PSU not having enough power.

There's no SLI bridge on that photo.
Correct. I had the computer put together without the option as as Octane Render recommends disabling the SLI option in your NVIDIA control panel to maximize OctaneRender’s rendering performance.

Also whilst I have you guys here, I'm getting VRAM temps of around 100-106°c on my GPUs whilst rendering. Just wondering if that is normal considering I have a custom loop. A fellow artist said that its not normal but I wanted to get another opinion. Have in mind I don't have any active backplates (do you think its worth me getting some installed?).
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
4,191 (3.29/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Dunno man, it's 2 kW PSU and you're running 4 GPU's that theoretically can pull up to 450 W each (granted, in Furmark). Get some power meter to measure draw at the wall, see what's the max wattage your system is pulling when rendering.

Pugit Systems ran a 10-core Xeon-W with 4 3090's and they measured a peak of 1717 W power:
So, will we be offering quad RTX 3090 workstations? Outside of some very custom configurations, we likely are not going to offer this kind of setup to the general public due to the power draw concerns
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
custom loop and the VRAM is hitting 90c?
yikes I know GDDR6X runs toasty but that's up there lol
if anything its probably the GPU drivers 4 way SLI is NOT a supported config even if they really aren't in SLI ( did you install the SLI bridges?)
edit according to the board's page two slots operate at PCIE4 16x and two operate a PCIE4 8x
you may actually be saturating the pcie bus but check and make sure above4g and re-sizable bar is enabled in the bios
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
custom loop and the VRAM is hitting 90c?
yikes I know GDDR6X runs toasty but that's up there lol
if anything its probably the GPU drivers 4 way SLI is NOT a supported config even if they really aren't in SLI ( did you install the SLI bridges?)
edit according to the board's page two slots operate at PCIE4 16x and two operate a PCIE4 8x
you may actually be saturating the pcie bus but check and make sure above4g and re-sizable bar is enabled in the bios
Yeah that's what I thought. Before the custom loop I had 2 x 3090s and I was hitting 110 so when I started researching into options to cool it down, I decided to go for a custom loop and whilst I was at it add 2 more 3090s to the build. I just wasn't sure seeing as there is now 4 GPUs that the 100-106 temp was normal for that setup. I guess not. Someone did say bringing in some active backplate cooling will cut the temps down a lot though, so I am considering that.
I'll check out my bios and report back.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
first impression(s)
firstly sweet loop - esp if your first.

it seems those blocks don't have active back plates for the Vram on the back. some blocks do and there are backplates sold separately (link is example not opinion).

that dual 120mm exhaust looks nice for an addition 280mm rad for that. - that 480 on the front is fine but more gives wiggle room if rendering for hours and hours (and hours).

but yeah acitve cooling on the backplates is often nessary for 3090s. or at least that my understanding.

again sweet rig. :toast:

E: and yrah that D5 pump will more than handle another rad - which is (usually - aside from angled fittings) the lowest restriction in any loop.
 
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
first impression(s)
firstly sweet loop - esp if your first.

it seems those blocks don't have active back plates for the Vram on the back. some blocks do and there are backplates sold separately (link is example not opinion).

that dual 120mm exhaust looks nice for an addition 280mm rad for that. - that 480 on the front is fine but more gives wiggle room if rendering for hours and hours (and hours).

but yeah acitve cooling on the backplates is often nessary for 3090s. or at least that my understanding.

again sweet rig. :toast:

E: and yrah that D5 pump will more than handle another rad - which is (usually - aside from angled fittings) the lowest restriction in any loop.
Thanks mate! Put my life savings into this one to help my work load. I'll look into active back plate cooling but also noticed just now my GPUs are flashing red lights. Saw on some forums that means they are starved of power and its a bad thing. Is this right? video uploaded to vimeo:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
you can't daisy chain power cables like that on a setup like this
all gpus must have TWO Dedicate lines from the psu

this kind of setup usually requires dual power supplies due to most psus not having sufficient connectors to power 4 way setup

that means a minimum of 8 cables two per card and you can daisy chain the 3d 8 pin
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Thanks mate! Put my life savings into this one to help my work load. I'll look into active back plate cooling but also noticed just now my GPUs are flashing red lights. Saw on some forums that means they are starved of power and its a bad thing. Is this right? video uploaded to vimeo:
as far as i can tell those are ~same as the gpu-z readout. did a quick search before you edited for the video - i caught that.

ran across a youtube where the guy claims two psus cleared it up - but looking at the comments- mostly *just him* saw a difference. that @K is enough, esp if its not tripping out, but out of the two cables you DO have to each card - its usually better to have one cable for the first connector and the second cable split between 2/3.

refer too the image in your first post :
1Capture.PNG

just mind the power balancing. ;)
 
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
as far as i can tell those are ~same as the gpu-z readout. did a quick search before you edited for the video - i caught that.

ran across a youtube where the guy claims two psus cleared it up - but looking at the comments- mostly *just him* saw a difference. that @K is enough, esp if its not tripping out, but out of the two cables you DO have to each card - its usually better to have one cable for the first connector and the second cable split between 2/3.

refer too the image in your first post :
View attachment 247634
just mind the power balancing. ;)
Yeah I did look at getting 2 x PSUs but most people assured me the 2000w was more than enough for 4 x 3090s. I had this setup put together for me by a local computer shop and I feel they really messed up. I'm not sure if its daisy chained, does this photo show that?

Also how do I balance the power on the pins? (I am total newb, but been trying to learn!). Looked on other forums and the voltage of the pins should all be around 12v - so seeing as there is a mass variation in voltage, maybe thats what is causing the warning lights to go off?
 

Attachments

  • photo_2022-05-16_17-35-01.jpg
    photo_2022-05-16_17-35-01.jpg
    140.1 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
indeed he's only hitting 75% TDP this could be power or it could be the render load but I would fix the power, either way, overdrawing the connectors can lead to melted connectors and dead gpus
 
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 3960X 24-CORE 3800MHZ
Motherboard TRX40 AORUS XTREME
Cooling Custom Loop -COSAIR GPU WATER BLOCK, XG7, EK QUANTUM KINETC TBE 300 D5, VELOCITY STR4,
Memory 4 X 32GB 3200 MHZ CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO
Video Card(s) 4 X ASUS ROG-STRIX RTX 3090 024G GAMING
Storage 2 X SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) samsung odyssey G9 49"
Case CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 1000D
Power Supply FSP CANNON PRO 2000W 80+ GOLD
Benchmark Scores 2669 octane benchmark.
indeed he's only hitting 75% TDP this could be power or it could be the render load but I would fix the power, either way, overdrawing the connectors can lead to melted connectors and dead gpus
What would your solution be? Getting a second PSU, limiting the power output of the GPUs?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
What would your solution be? Getting a second PSU, limiting the power output of the GPUs?
if that psu in your specs is right you just need to plug more cables in that psu has 9 PCIE connectors make sure each card gets two dedicated cables
and I would get that backplate for the vram as well
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
What would your solution be? Getting a second PSU, limiting the power output of the GPUs?
if you were running 4 dell/OEM 3090s you would not need to worry.
Capture.PNG


you have the potential with those asus strix to greatly exceed that 2K psu but do you really need it? esp not running compute heavy loads?

just mind what you're doing.-

just swap the two cable runs going to the gpus. - leaving pin 2 alone and swapping 1 for 3. you might not need to tear apart that sweet cable management.

pulll all the #3s out. move 1/2 to 2/3. plug all previous #3s to #1.
E: this is assuming like the gpu-z image that all #1s are the "power hogs"
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,670 (0.63/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
At first glance, the cooling is way too low, not enough pump nor rad and then the psu. You need a ridonkulous amount of radiator if you wanna work at a high level and not drive yourself crazy from the noise. You're water temp must be real high...
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
19 (0.07/day)
System Name Poligon
Processor Intel Alder Lake i7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero Z690
Cooling Custom Water Loop Bykski CPU+GPU 360 alphacool 240 Barrow radiators
Memory G.Skill DDR5 Z5 6000 CL36
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 FE
Storage Western Digital NvMe SN850 black 2Tb
Display(s) Philips Momentun 436M6VBPAB 43" 4K HDR
Case Silverstone FT05
Audio Device(s) Presonus Eris e3.5
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000 Platinum
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
Software Windows 11

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
if you were running 4 dell/OEM 3090s you would not need to worry.
View attachment 247637

you have the potential with those asus strix to greatly exceed that 2K psu but do you really need it? esp not running compute heavy loads?

just mind what you're doing.-

just swap the two cable runs going to the gpus. - leaving pin 2 alone and swapping 1 for 3. you might not need to tear apart that sweet cable management.

pulll all the #3s out. move 1/2 to 2/3. plug all previous #3s to #1.
E: this is assuming like the gpu-z image that all #1s are the "power hogs"
I don't think he would exceed the psu rating at least not at stock but hes close at 1900w theoretical but either way hes in the relm of needing duel psus

this build strikes me as a zero research fuck it maximum everything speaking of that
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,670 (0.63/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
I don't think he would exceed the psu rating at least not at stock but hes close at 1900w theoretical but either way hes in the relm of needing duel psus

this build strikes me as a zero research fuck it maximum everything
Yea this.

The rig below is only dual 2080ti and a 3970x and it can sustain 1300w with water temps around mid 30s. OP's rig is so under supported it must spend its life throttled hard. These machines have to be able to run flat out for 5hr-8hr stretches. You need stupid cooling to maintain keep it from heatsoaking. Also, 128mb is not enough with quads.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,414 (6.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,384 (1.86/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
Yea this.

The rig below is only dual 2080ti and a 3970x and it can sustain 1300w with water temps around mid 30s. OP's rig is so under supported it must spend its life throttled hard. These machines have to be able to run flat out for 5hr-8hr stretches. You need stupid cooling to maintain keep it from heatsoaking. Also, 128mb is not enough with quads.

theoretically if it renders fast enough it won't spend enough time at load to heat soak lol
 
Top