• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PlayStation 4K to Feature a 2,304-SP AMD "Polaris" GPU

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,976 (1.79/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
This is why I haven't bought a ps4 for the new VR headset. Hopefully they will have a bundle and I can pick this up with the PSVR. I also, want them to upgrade Move. I need this and the PSVR for family and friends to play while I'm playing my Vive (when I get it hehe).
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
241 (0.10/day)
Given the difficulty of optimizing games for different GPU architectures--even related ones--I'd say this seems highly unlikely.

More likely is they keep the same architecture, use a dieshrink to widen the GPU, and add more of the same exact resources that already exist. The only minor change is to include HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. They'd probably bump up the clockspeed of the Jaguar-based CPU, too.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,709 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Given the difficulty of optimizing games for different GPU architectures--even related ones--I'd say this seems highly unlikely.

More likely is they keep the same architecture, use a dieshrink to widen the GPU, and add more of the same exact resources that already exist. The only minor change is to include HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. They'd probably bump up the clockspeed of the Jaguar-based CPU, too.
Right, this is why all the hoopla online about it being more difficult for devs is nonsense. PS4K will run at 1080 and hopefully 60 fps most everywhere. The original will have res knocked down a bit and less post processing. This should take all of a couple hours to figure out what runs optimally if they work backwards.

It's a mouse and keyboard away from being a PC. Oh, how the tides have turned against console lovers (they're mad, too lol).

I think if we had a high aptitude for electronics among the general population, consoles would have died years ago.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,133 (0.39/day)
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build / Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon x5650 @ 4.2Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / EVGA 1080 Ti iCX FTW3
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) AOC E2460S 24" 1080p 60hz 1ms / LG 32UK550B 32" UHD 4K HDR 10 with Freesync (Wasabi Mango died )
Case Enermax Phoenix / Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b,Superlux E205 on an Mic Arm.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower xt 775watt semi modular / Corsair RM850X 850watt Fully Modular
Mouse Generic Mice / Corsair M90
Keyboard Generic Keyboard / Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
It's not about japanese devs, but major studio game makers that are not willing to work with anything other then X86 / X64. Remember the PS3? It took years to get real good looking games for that console, while it was a unique CPU from IBM and a hard task to code properly. It still produced a decent amount of Tflops for a console, it was widely used in a farm for crunching.

Now that they have X86, for a global platform (Console, PC) it is easyer to port around and save on costs. Personally i think the PS3 was a better machine for just the exclusive title's. It was a no go for a publisher or game developper to start porting games for the PS3 that where coming from X86 consoles as well.

Only the real skilled game devs where able to exploit the PS3 at it's best, and it took years.
Its a big deal to don't have the ability to use hardware at is full potential and didn't learn to at all, was the same with ps3 and with ps4 as well.

About devs in general because some company like ubisoft fucked their own games because if the pc version was better optimized = no money from console versions.

Talking instead of japanese devs ,they don't use at all the hardware at is full potential.

How is that even possible that after being kicked in the ass for the graphics by nintendo they do after the ps2 a console like the ps3 stuck at 30 fps?

Why they call amd to develop something that the devs don't use at all?

Dark Souls 3 on pc because is a port use only 1 core but runs at 60fps if you have a good gpu.

Why they don't learn in 2016 to use all the cores of the ps4?

Right now thinking to do 4k using a new gpu and a new processor when they don't know how to use it is idiotic.

Major studio like you said want x86 /x64 because a console was a pc for gaming years a go not a multimedia system.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,316 (1.77/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
This will be a beast for 1080P on probably even 120Hz. 4K? Common, let's get real :))))))))))
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,627 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
What about all the games that currently run on PS4? Wouldn't there need to be some optimizations and patches to make some of it work well? there sure wont be a smooth transition if you make a complete hardware swap without changing any of the software.
This isn't necessary now that current consoles are just using PC parts. The CPU is still x86_64, and the GPU just needs updated drivers in the OS. The games will be oblivious to this, just like games on PC.

does not sound like x4 times improvement over existing one (x4 times is needed for x4 times larger resolution).... probably in reality this will be some sort of upscale, sub 30fps "4k" .. but then again - console people would not mind as long as it sounds cool on paper and "4k", "UHD", "VR ready" so sound pretty cool for them
You'd be surprised what resolutions you can run if you turn down some settings. The PS4 now has a very weak GPU for running 1080p, but they manage it on most games. I mean, I didn't think I'd be able to play any modern games on the GTX960@1440p, but turn down a few settings and it does just fine at 1440p, and the games don't look bad.
 

iO

Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
396 (0.15/day)
Location
Germany
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard B450i Gaming
Cooling Accelero Mono CPU Edition
Memory 16 Gig VLP
Video Card(s) RX580 Armor w/ Accelero Mono
Storage 850 EVO 512
Display(s) LG 27UM67 UHD
Power Supply SS G-650
I'll believe it when I'll see it. Otherwise I'd call this a fanbois wet dream BS rumour..

Maybe a regular "Slim" die-shrink update with an 4k Upscaler and UHD BluRay support or even the PS VR splitter thing built-in but not a new console...
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
419 (0.07/day)
System Name Octopussy
Processor 1x Intel Core-i7 3930K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Full water cooling, mostly Aqua Computer and EKWB stuff!
Memory 4x 4GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2133 9-11-10-27-1T
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage 8x Hitachi 5K3000 3TB RAID-6 (Adaptec 5805); 1x 512GB Samsung 950Pro (Angelbird Wings PX1)
Display(s) PLP: Dell 2007FBb 20" TFT + Dell U3011 30" TFT + Dell 2007FBb 20" TFT
Case CaseLabs TH10A
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-1000XP
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex M800
Software MS Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores A lot.
You'd be surprised what resolutions you can run if you turn down some settings. The PS4 now has a very weak GPU for running 1080p, but they manage it on most games. I mean, I didn't think I'd be able to play any modern games on the GTX960@1440p, but turn down a few settings and it does just fine at 1440p, and the games don't look bad.
Maybe. The problem here is that 1440p are "only" ~3.8M pixels while 4K are ~8.3M pixels...
Especially for VR I guess you have to rely on a certain amount of details just to not break the immersion.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,525 (0.68/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Just my two cents:

If it truly is a Polaris GPU, it will of course be on 14nm. It is impossible that the CPU part of the new PS4 APU will use a 28nm Jaguar (or newer cores). And doing a die shrink of the said cores is unlikely, as I doubt AMD will want to do anything more with the Buldozer uarch since Zen is almost out.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,627 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Maybe. The problem here is that 1440p are "only" ~3.8M pixels while 4K are ~8.3M pixels...
Especially for VR I guess you have to rely on a certain amount of details just to not break the immersion.
You missed my point. If you ask most people around here, they'll tell you the GTX960 is not capable of playing games at 1440p. But it is more than capable if you are willing to turn down some settings, and the games still look good.

The R9 480 is supposed to be in the range of the R9 390 performance wise, so about double the performance of my GTX960. A R9 390 can play games at 4K, again with settings turned down, and the games will still look decent(good enough for console peasants:laugh:).

If it truly is a Polaris GPU, it will of course be on 14nm. It is impossible that the CPU part of the new PS4 APU will use a 28nm Jaguar (or newer cores). And doing a die shrink of the said cores is unlikely, as I doubt AMD will want to do anything more with the Buldozer uarch since Zen is almost out.
Zen is a long way away, and we already know they are releasing Bulldozer based processor on AM4 first, so they are obviously willing to continue to work with it.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
111 (0.08/day)
The R9 480 is supposed to be in the range of the R9 390 performance wise, so about double the performance of my GTX960. A R9 390 can play games at 4K, again with settings turned down, and the games will still look decent(good enough for console peasants:laugh:).


Zen is a long way away, and we already know they are releasing Bulldozer based processor on AM4 first, so they are obviously willing to continue to work with it.
When is this new PS4 coming out? Both Zen and GDDR5X should be ready around late summer. AMD has 14nm finfet Zen designs, they don't have any finfet bulldozer design IPs, so it's highly unlikely for them to use anything other than Zen and Polaris in these new chips.

The Polaris 480 should be at least as fast as the 390, so the performance increase from PS4 should be substantial.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
443 (0.18/day)
Location
GA
System Name RYZEN RECKER
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Thermaltake Silent 12 on CPU, Arctic Cooling Acellero Extreme 3 on GPU, Cougar case fans.
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair LPX 3200mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 1040 mhz core / 1500 mhz memory (R9 390 clocks..)
Storage 1TB Seagate for Steam games, 1TB WD for backup, Patriot 120gb SSD for boot. 3TB for more Steam games
Display(s) ASUS VX24A 1440p @ 72hz
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 headset
Power Supply Corsair CX850m
Mouse Steel Series Sensei
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 64-bit
My R9 290 has 2560-shaders and 320gb/s of bandwidth and 4k games destroy my FPS... Console owners are still going to be sadly disappointed.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
1,101 (0.63/day)
What about all the games that currently run on PS4? Wouldn't there need to be some optimizations and patches to make some of it work well? there sure wont be a smooth transition if you make a complete hardware swap without changing any of the software.

Also, its funny to me how fast a refresh is felt needed in this current gen consoles just because how inferior the have started, and kept the performance margin so gigantic, that people built Core i3\FX6000 machines with 120-160$ GPUs to completely demolish them
They are both AMD gpu's and CPU's with a similar memory controller. Upgrading gams graphics will be nearly as easy as turning up the framerate and resolution with a switch.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,563 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
2.1ghz jaguar? honestly I think they`ll use puma - it is 3 years newer after all
I dunno. They don't want any backwards compatibility issues. I think Jaguar at 14nm can easily do 2.1 GHz.
 

Steven fischer

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
What about all the games that currently run on PS4? Wouldn't there need to be some optimizations and patches to make some of it work well? there sure wont be a smooth transition if you make a complete hardware swap without changing any of the software.

Also, its funny to me how fast a refresh is felt needed in this current gen consoles just because how inferior the have started, and kept the performance margin so gigantic, that people built Core i3\FX6000 machines with 120-160$ GPUs to completely demolish them
 

Steven fischer

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
November, there would be no need to patch current games would simply run in 1080, as far as software is concerned it's still coded for x86, if they where switching to an arm cpu, that would be different. As long as they don't change the core OS, current games should run just fine if not better. That's all.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,627 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
When is this new PS4 coming out? Both Zen and GDDR5X should be ready around late summer. AMD has 14nm finfet Zen designs, they don't have any finfet bulldozer design IPs, so it's highly unlikely for them to use anything other than Zen and Polaris in these new chips.

The Polaris 480 should be at least as fast as the 390, so the performance increase from PS4 should be substantial.
I'm not really believing last summer for Zen. I believe late summer for AM4 and Bristol Ridge, but I'm banking on Zen in November/December.
 

Mike Kizaberg

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I really look forward to this update/upgrade of ps4, with more juice and raw performance to add to it, sony again doing a great job.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,311 (0.73/day)
Location
Essex Jct, VT
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aurorus Elite
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / Samsung EVO 860 500GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Case NZXT H500 Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM650x 650W Fully Modular
Software Windows 10
I dunno. They don't want any backwards compatibility issues. I think Jaguar at 14nm can easily do 2.1 GHz.
A 50% increase in clock speed on a set of shitty cores just gives you a shitty CPU that's 50% faster. The GPU may be twice as fast, but the CPU is still going to be a massive bottleneck.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,627 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
A 50% increase in clock speed on a set of shitty cores just gives you a shitty CPU that's 50% faster. The GPU may be twice as fast, but the CPU is still going to be a massive bottleneck.
No it won't. They are pushing the GPUs as hard as they can. The original GPU could do 1080p, but not at the best quality, the same will be true with this one. The GPU will do 4k, but at lower quality, and still be the limiting factor. If they were pairing the CPU with a top class card, then it would be a bottleneck.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,440 (5.47/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
No it won't. They are pushing the GPUs as hard as they can. The original GPU could do 1080p, but not at the best quality, the same will be true with this one. The GPU will do 4k, but at lower quality, and still be the limiting factor. If they were pairing the CPU with a top class card, then it would be a bottleneck,
Did you even see Fallout 4 FPS? And the CPU load on a solid i5? There are definitely console games that are heavy on CPU,, and more are coming.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.43/day)
Did you even see Fallout 4 FPS? And the CPU load on a solid i5? There are definitely console games that are heavy on CPU,, and more are coming.
The difference between a console and a PC makes such complaints irrelevant. PCs connect to monitors, few of which have built-in scalers. Consoles connect to TV, most of which has built-in scalers and FPS "doublers". The tightly-restricted architecture of a console allows for optimizations not possible on PC, with its widely varied hardware.

In other words, although parts used may be similar, they WAY they are used is most definitely not similar at all. Or you could simply plug you PS4 and XBONE discs into your PC, and play the games without any problems.

For all we know, PS4K could be the exact same is current PS4, but with an additional chip; the Polaris ASIC. Wouldn't be the first time such things were done.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,563 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Scalers in monitors are usually far superior to what TVs have because TVs operate inside of the ASTC/PAL standards: 480p, 720p, 1080p, or 4K. The console scales whatever it is rendering at to one of those four outputs. Xbox One uses the scaling function far more than PS4 due to its hardware deficiencies. It costs less hardware resources to render at 900p and scale to 1080p than to render at 1080p.


Case in point, I've seen my 1920x1200 monitor handle 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200, 1920x1080, and 1920x1200. Further, you can enable all kinds of scaling options in the operating system and GPU settings on top of what a decent monitor can handle.

Scaling games on PC in the way that consoles do is pretty much unheard of. If anything, they do the opposite (render at 4K, display at 1080p) which is more costly than anti-aliasing but should look better than anti-aliasing. It certainly isn't something that's at the core of game development on PC like it is on consoles to meet framerate targets. Of course, one can simulate the effect by making the game use a lower resolution than your monitor (e.g. 1600x900 on 1920x1080 monitor is common).
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,627 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Did you even see Fallout 4 FPS? And the CPU load on a solid i5? There are definitely console games that are heavy on CPU,, and more are coming.
And yet, Fallout 4 runs just fine on the current slower CPU. How is this witchcraft possible?!?

Saying the new CPU will be a bottleneck, then pointing to a game that runs just fine on the current CPU, doesn't exactly help your argument any.
 
Top