• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please explain how to update to Windows Server 2012

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.73/day)
Location
Texas
Hey folks I have an older server in my office that I need to update. I'm great with personal PCs but a complete noob when it comes to servers. Can anyone explain all of this CAL stuff and point me in the direction of the lowest cost option to update?
I have one server that 5 workstations use for our dental practice management software. Lmk if there is any other pertinent information you need. TIA!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,472 (4.32/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You need a CAL for every computer that will be accessing the server. So buy Server 2012R2 and 5 CALs, convienently CALs come in 5 packs.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,206 (0.89/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 9 7950x3D
Motherboard Asus Strix X670E-I Gaming
Cooling Custom Bykski loop CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 64GB CL30
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4090 Aorus Master
Storage Kingston Fury 2TB and 4TB NVME
Display(s) LG 32" 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 mini
Audio Device(s) Asus Hive
Power Supply Thermaltake 1000w SFX-L
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 11 Pro

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,867 (3.06/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
You need a CAL for every computer that will be accessing the server. So buy Server 2012R2 and 5 CALs, convienently CALs come in 5 packs.
Doesn't it come with 5 cals as standard? I've often seen it sold like that. Note that I'm talking about older versions.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,472 (4.32/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.73/day)
Location
Texas
And just to clarify, the workstations have windows 10 on them. I still need a CAL for each workstation?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,472 (4.32/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
8,180 (1.53/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Tower of Power / Sechs
Processor i7 12700K / i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-A Gaming WiFi D4 / X99S GAMING 7
Cooling CM MasterLiquid ML360 Mirror ARGB Close-Loop AIO / CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3600 / G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 4070 Ti / ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 3070 V2 OC Edition
Storage 3x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2, 2x Crucial 1TB SSD / Samsung 870 PRO 500GB M.2
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssy G5 Gaming 144hz 1440p, ViewSonic 32" 72hz 1440p / 2x ViewSonic 32" 72hz 1440p
Case Phantek "400A" / Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC4080 / Azalia Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair RM Series RM750 / Corsair CXM CX600M
Mouse Glorious Gaming Model D Wireless / Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Glorious GMMK with box-white switches / Keychron K6 pro with blue swithes
VR HMD Quest 3 (128gb) + Rift S + HTC Vive + DK1
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Yes
Just remember that you don't have to install the user and device cals in Server 2012. It's an honor system. You just have to have them physically at your company. I have my Companies user cals in the server room in a filing cabinet. If you need RDS then you'll have to purchase those CALS and install them on the server. They are not an honor system. RDS (Remote Desktop Services) is a lot more expensive than user cals, and device cals. You would need RDS for Remote desktop and Terminal Server access (If you use Remote Desktop or Terminal Server).
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,867 (3.06/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Just remember that you don't have to install the user and device cals in Server 2012. It's an honor system.
Ah, handy for testing... ;)
 

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.73/day)
Location
Texas
Thanks folks. Next question. Any idea where I can find some low density server ram? I'm sure there's plenty used floating around.
The server only has 4gb right now and I'd like to increase that.
Needing low density DDR3 Server 1333 ECC Unbuffered. Server is supposed to support up to 32gb and has 6 slots.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (1.86/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
That's a weird number. To get 32GB you'd need 4x8GB or 8x4GB, but you said it only has six slots. If you have 4GB sticks, the most you can do is 24GB, and if it takes 8GB sticks it can only use four.

Not that it matters much anyway, as you probably don't need a ton. In my virtual environment I don't think I have any servers with more that 8GB total ram, unless they are a database server or one that is running a lot of connections (like an SCCM box or a vRealize analytics box). Most file servers can get away with 2-4GB and most application servers get away with 2-8GB. As for where to get it cheap, probably used sticks here on the forums or ebay.

Are you updating the server just to get an out of support OS out of your environment? Make sure your dental software can work with it first.
 

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.73/day)
Location
Texas
I was actually planning to do some memory usage monitoring in order to determine whether an upgrade is even necessary. It is just a file server so maybe I really am fine with 4gb.
The current problem is that I need to be HIPAA compliant in order to provide internet access to the server and the current OS is not supported by microsoft updates anymore.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (1.86/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Being HIPAA compliant is a whole new ball of wax. Anything internet facing + patient data = :banghead:

Make sure you limit access as much as possible, make services run under non-admin accounts whenever possible, disable any unnecessary services/ports/etc., make sure you have a strong (and properly configured) firewall, make sure you have regular backups, and for God's sake make sure users don't have admin rights. Limit what data users can write to on the file server to only what is needed.

When it comes to server environments, "least required access" is a good rule of thumb and security best practice, especially with these cryto viruses and randsomware. If possible, you can go as far as disable internet browsing on any machine that has access to patient data. The last thing you want is some "user" getting their computer infected and locking up the file server with all of your patient data. Unless internet access is absolutely necessary, it's a great idea in a small business to make sure people aren't screwing around on company time, too.

/end rant
 

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.73/day)
Location
Texas
Well put. Thanks brother! I am definitely going to reiterate limiting internet usage. Fortunately my staff tend to do that on their phone anyway (a different problem lol)
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (1.86/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
That is a different story, but on their devices is better than on mine. :)

Anyway, here's a TechNet article for you:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsserver/dn527667.aspx

Remember that if the system is running a 32-bit OS, there is no way to do an in-place upgrade, as the newest OS is 64-bit only (can't go 32-bit to 64-bit). And if this server is by some chance a domain controller in a domain, there are other considerations as well.

Depending on what this system is running and how old it is, it may be easier to replace.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,357 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard DROP CTRL HP Lavender, Moondrop Tessence, StupidFish foam, Everglide pads
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Please do not install any more than is needful on your server. @t_ski has some great pointers. Personally I would run 8GB at the minimum to answer your question from prior about memory some boards can be finicky I personally build on super micros and I have used Mushkin proline 1333 ECC sticks.

These are the exact ones I bought.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1K645W2191
 
Top