• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please help looking for stable driver for GTX295 sli! extreme problem

grevius3

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello, ive been having a lot of stability problems lately on my rig. (2xBFG 295gtx)intel i7 950, EVGA x58 classified , corsair dominator 12GB ram, windows 7 ultimate 64bit, my screen keeps turning off and the computer is unresponsive( only hard reset is working). I had to give it to a technician cause i was at a dead-end , he told me that it seems that its a conflict from the graphics card drivers. and asked if i had the original driver cd that came with the box. the thing is that i dont and know im looking to find that specific driver in order to give it to the technician , please help me , what driver number is it? and if any1 knows a link that i can download it from i would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,684 (2.69/day)
Likes
2,000
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#2
actually i guess its not just from driver
you need to check one by one and it looks from hardware
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,424 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,567
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
You don't want to use the driver that came on the CD, they are extremely outdated. Grab the latest drivers from nVidias website, as well as from your motherboard manufacturers website and install those, motherboard drivers first.

However, you might have to run driver sweeper or ccleaner to clear out the old nVidia drivers first to make sure they are installed clean.

If that doesn't solve the problem, I'd start looking at hardware going bad, possibly a failing video card. Are you using anything to monitor the temps of the cards? If not, I'd grab MSI Afterburner and use that to look at the temps, if they are getting too high the cards might just need a dusting, or the fans might be starting to go and need some oil.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,819 (5.76/day)
Likes
36,733
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#4

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
940
Location
Planet Earth.
#5
Hello, ive been having a lot of stability problems lately on my rig. (2xBFG 295gtx)intel i7 950, EVGA x58 classified , corsair dominator 12GB ram, windows 7 ultimate 64bit, my screen keeps turning off and the computer is unresponsive( only hard reset is working). I had to give it to a technician cause i was at a dead-end , he told me that it seems that its a conflict from the graphics card drivers. and asked if i had the original driver cd that came with the box. the thing is that i dont and know im looking to find that specific driver in order to give it to the technician , please help me , what driver number is it? and if any1 knows a link that i can download it from i would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you
Well one thing is for sure this technician is not a very good one if you have to give him things he should know how to get and do. I hope he is a friend and that you are not paying him.
This could be caused by many things such as a corrupt install or Hibernation file. Bad RAM, Bad PSU. You could read the crash dump files and find out just what it is too.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
Hi

If it is this version of BFG GTX295 driver 18120whql.jpg

you require Forceware 181.20 whql


If it is this version of BFG GTX295 BFG29518585whql.jpg

you require Forceware 185.85 whql

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:

grevius3

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Thank you all for the quick replies , the thing is that the psu is new , installed two days ago, the problem thought is exactly the same as before . Here is the catch : my graphics cards work fine on an other pc , and my technicians graphics card works fine on MY pc. I got absolutely no problem with dust and temps, ram is checked and is working perfectly , hdd as well . All fans are ok and cables and connections too. Windows is original and pc has been formated twice. My technician proposed to replace the nvidia cards with Ati . He said maybe the evga x58 classified motherboard is incompatible with the bfg 295 gtx . Well that's stupid isn't it? Even so that's a nightmare for me since i paid 700+ euros when i got them and i don't want to replace them, btw the cards are the single pcb (not sure if i spelled it right) version
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
Use the drivers that Nvidia provides when you go to their website. Perhaps you should try testing out each card individually to see if a card is faulty. Don't bother going to the technician anymore.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
Well... Your motherboard is perfectly capable of running two 295's. You checked both cards separately and in SLI in your machine and another machine?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#13
What's your new PSU? Does your machine work with one 295? Have you tried both one by one? What makes you think it's the cards, the system can hard-lock from different reasons.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
940
Location
Planet Earth.
#14
Look first take out one of the video cards testing each one. If the problem is still present then you need to test the RAM one by one, If the system is still having the same issue then you should look at testing the PSU. This could be a failing MB as well. It is hard to say but take and test each component one at a time and test them all one at a time. once you have done all this there will be one component that will be at fault.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#15
clean out your drivers, then use the version that is on the other pc that worked with your card. also, what model was your old psu and what model is the new one?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,466 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,137
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#16

grevius3

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
Sorry for bumping too early , my new psu is a coolermaster 1200w the old one was the akasa 1200w I've checked each component individually and all seems fine,also its not the motherboard sine it worked fine with a different graphics card
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
940
Location
Planet Earth.
#18
Sorry for bumping too early , my new psu is a coolermaster 1200w the old one was the akasa 1200w I've checked each component individually and all seems fine,also its not the motherboard sine it worked fine with a different graphics card
Well it looks like you found the answer, The PSU was to blame. Good work.
 

grevius3

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
No the problem still exists. the psu was changed for testing . Im putting back the old one after all this.