1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post code 99 at boot; help

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ravenas, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Niether USB or PS2 work.

    And yes, all of the connectors are connected.

    POST CODE "99" DEFINITION is "Super IO Initialization".

    Thus it sounds like a CMOS problem. So I took the motherboard placed it on a wood surface removed the battery for 10 mins and jumped the CMOS. No help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I'm pretty sure the mobo is defective. I have the same problem with my MSI 890GXM-G65; however mines won't even display anything on screen. It just keeps on saying no signal. The computer will sometimes boot up and work fine, but when doing a cold boot, the computer won't even post. I tried resetted the computer to no avail. At this point, I can only conclude that my mobo is defective or not working correctly when doing a cold boot.
     
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    695
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I'm sure you tried the one stick of memory in all available slots, 1 at a time, as well..
    Just going through the mental list of "what to do's".
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yeah I have tried that. A list of what I have done is in my original post.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Just an oddball thought... You've always tried booting with a keyboard and mouse plugged in, yes?
    Try it with neither... Like I said, just an oddball thought.
     
  6. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I have tried doing so, unfortuneately, it does nothing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    Well rats... From what I've been able to dig up even MSI doesn't seem to know much about the mysterious code "99". It may be time to get a hold of them about an RMA.
     
  8. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    POST CODE "99" DEFINITION is "Super IO Initialization".
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    695
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Read it, says you tried one stik, not one stick in every available slot, one at a time. Just wanted to make sure..
    I've had quite a few mobos run into an issue where one slot fails.
    Regardless, good luck, I'm starting to feel an RMA coming.. :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    On a side note, I decided to remove the processor. The processor and the heatsink became merged together. What I mean when I say they became merged is that the thermal paste become basically a superglue between the heatsink and the processor (the FX-4170 naturally runs hot, thus, AMD has included an upgraded heatsink in it with better thermal paste). Anyhow, in order to remove the thing I could only get the mounting lever about a little over half way up. Therefore, on the back row, the pins bent a little (I would say there were making somewhere between a 80-85 degree angle orthogonal to the board). I took a credit card and a screw driver and straightend the pins, stuck it back in, still posted the same thing.

    Last but not least, I read over the mobo specifications and realized that it was backwards compatible. The MSI 990FXA-GD80 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard supports the following CPU types/sockets:

    I realized I had a (working) AMD CPU HDZ955FBGMBOX Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2GHz AM3 125W Retail, thus, I mounted it on the MOBO... SAME CODE POSTED...

    It must be the motherboard.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I tried booting up with a Corsair M60 and K60 and it just just won't boot. I would get stuck on the boot screen that is without the AsRock Logo. It has words on it during the boot.
     
  12. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    695
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Yea man, you can't kick yourself for not being thorough, you tested the shit out of it. Looks like a mobo issue imo..
    GL with the RMA if you go that route.
     
    Ravenas says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yeah I just hope when it gets there it does the same thing for them as it did for me... RMAs tend to be aggrevating at times. :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,412 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    853
    Location:
    Dutch in Spain
    4 years later and this is what is happening to me. After enjoying a working x99 motherboard for over a year. I wonder what the end of your story was?
     
  15. alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,509 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    Joly necro.
     
    erixx says thanks.
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,709 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I bought my current mother board in my specs. No RMA available, motherboard confirmed bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,361 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Does it cycle through codes and stops at 99 or it's the first code that appears ?
    If it cycles codes means the BIOS is trying to go through the POST if that is the case you might be dealing with corrupt bios.
    If it just stays at 99 would be more serious like hardware fault with the motherboard.
    Super IO its a chip on the motherboard that controls the basic functions, for example the power and restart button and power leds are connected to it and bunch other stuff.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)