1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Post your HDD and SSD Speeds!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by satindemon4u, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Can you test with HDTune? I am getting an average of 266 mb/sec with that and I feel as though I would be ripping you off with a number like that.

    Again, HDTune, if possible. :/ :confused:

    Can you test with HDTune, because I really have no way of picking out an average with that.

    Anddddddddddddddddddd again. LOL!
     
  2. Winston_008

    Winston_008

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    My ocz drives in raid 0 HDTune_Benchmark_AMD_____2+0_Stripe_RAID0.png
     
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Nice speed!
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,394 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,898
    HD Tune didnt saturate the bus enough and only reported 400-600MB reads for its random writes, however it did report .1 ms access time. Accessing additional media on the drive caused the full bandwidth to show up, and I tried it twice to verify.

    Average on a SSD doesnt matter, it has no average, just different efficiencies at reading and writing file sizes based on their internal storage configuration, strip size on RAID, and NTFS file size.

    Once almost 3TB of data has been transfered onto the other volume and i get a chance to sort through some of it I will rebench. Right now my 750Gb barracuda is dying and has already claimed a few pictures that didn't make it inot the monthly backup onto the other 2TB drive :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    D:

    Alrighty!
     
  6. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    satindemon4u

    I retested again with the netbook and there weren't any dips this time, and the minimum speed was now 37.7 MB/s

    If you update the minimum speed from 1.9 to 37.7 it would be greatly appreciated

    Many thanks :)
     
  7. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    No problem! :D

    The deed is done. :)
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  8. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    added. :)
     
  10. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]

    Crucial m4 128GB

    In the machine in specs.
    Using Marvell 6G port with msahci driver.
     
  11. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,664 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Really like seeing that short stroking in action HTC nice job!

    2x OCZ vertex 2 60GB - 353.1 - 522.8 - 451.5 Arrakis+9

    easy copy pasta
    [​IMG]
     
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Updated!

    :D
     
  13. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    388 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Could you replace my old Kingston HyperX 240GB run with this please?.

    [​IMG]

    Something was up with my last run and i'm running on a different board now.
     
  14. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,733 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,439 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,919
    Location:
    US
    OCZ Solid 3
    [​IMG]

    Intel x-25m in raid 0 ( this was done some time ago )
    [​IMG]
     
  16. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    UPDATED!

    AsRock, I only added your last post to the list. I did that because I was hoping you could test with the other program with your SSD. That way I can post the most accurate results.
     
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,439 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,919
    Location:
    US
    people are warned about running HD Tune that's it's bad for them so it not going happy sorry to say.
     
  18. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    These are my results for ATTO using 2x120GBs OCZ Vertex 3 MAXIOPS in RAID 0:

    [​IMG]

    And these are my results with HD Tune:

    [​IMG]

    I have to ask though, after reading the warning, what's the risk of running this app with SSDs? I tried it out of curiosity, but does it reduce the life expectancy for my drives?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,128 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,471
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Crucial C300 64GB

    [​IMG]


    Seagate ST3320620AS 320GB

    [​IMG]
     
  20. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    err..what am I doing wrong? :confused: I have Raid 0 , but its showing up as two seprate HDDs

    Untitled.jpg
     
  21. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    heres my vertex 3 -60 gb,
     

    Attached Files:

  22. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Read that first one.
     
  23. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB @ 7,200 32MB (Operating System and storage)
    barracuda_7200_320x340.png
    Untitled.jpg

    Samsung HD322HJ 320GB Raid 0 @ 7,200 16MB (Storage, Music, Editing, Games)

    01_large.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
     
  24. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    hey alex those hdrives are good speeds[better than mine for sure!!],are they sata 2 or 3 just out of curiosity?
     
  25. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)