• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor doesn't have warranty outside the USA & Canada, also card doesn't work in x16 slots.

Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#1
EDIT: "Fixed" by putting tape over the PCIe connector contacts to force the card to work at 8x.



To be fair, they do state that the warranty is only valid in the USA & Canada on their web page, it just sucks to think that they'd leave the rest of their customers out in the cold.
http://www.powercolor.com/us/support_warranty.asp
(if you're wondering, Powercolor's LA page links to the same US Warranty page)


Anyway, since this door has closed, here's my situation:

Last year I had been running this card on the secondary slot of an GA-H61M-D2P-B3 for about six months along with a Sapphire 7770 crunching. While it crunched it did so without issues.

I had kept this card as a backup in its box and earlier this week I wanted to use it for an FX6300 build BUT I came across a problem... the GPU wouldn't give a display.

I tested in several other boards:
- Asus C60M1-I, bios 0502 (latest): works (x16 physical, x4 electrical)
- Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7, bios F10 (latest) displays in slots PCIEx4_1, PCIEx8_1,PCIEx4_2. Doesn''t display on any PCIex16 slot. PCIEx8_2 wasn''t tested because there wasn''t enough clearance. }
- Gigabyte GA-880GM-USB3, bios FE (latest): doesn''t work on PCIEx16 slot, works in PCIEx1 slot (with x1 to x16 riser)
- Asrock 880GM-LE FX, bios 1.50 (latest): doesn''t work on PCIEx16 slot, works in PCIEx1 slot (with x1 to x16 riser)
- Gigabyte GA-B75-D3V, bios F7 (original): works in PCIEx1 slots (with x1 to x16 riser), works in PCIEx4 slot. Doesn''t work in PCIEx16 slot.

At the end of all my testing I was able to determine that the common denominator was the x16 slot. I tested on several boards with different kind of bioses from different vendors (AMI on the Asus and Asrock boards, Phoenix on the Gigabyte boards) and different CPUs (FX6300, FX8350, Core i5 2320, Phenom II X6 1065t, AMD C60) and the only thing in common was the x16 slot not working.

Summary: the card doesn''t give a display if installed on a x16 slot. It will work fine on any x8, x4 or x1 slot but not on any x16 slot. Sadly I wasn''t aware of this problem since I happened to put the card into an x4 slot from the beginning and the warranty from the store expired last year :banghead:


For the record, I also tried different bioses from the GPU Database. I tested every bios that had the stock speeds and support for Elpida RAM. At this point I did this:

- Install card in the x8_1 slot of an 990FXA-UD7 board.
- Flash new bios.
- Test in x8_1 slot. Boot to Windows and run GPU-Z's render test.
- Test in x16_1 slot. doesn't display.
- Repeat.

While the card is in an x16 slot it's effectively dead. atiflash -i will say "adapter not found". :banghead:

Tried looking for a jumper of some sort to see if it was misconfigured but I didn't find any.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
dead lane on the card check the connector and resistors above for damage
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
hadn't thought of that, will do
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
3,264 (2.32/day)
Likes
3,936
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING (Waiting on 1180 Ti)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27 inch 1440p PLS PB278Q (Waiting on 1180 Ti for 4K)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
#4
Are there no consumer protection laws in Mexico? It's pretty shitty for a company to sell a product and there is no guarantee that it works and no RMA.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#5
if you do find a dead resistor you can very carefully shade over it with a number 2 pencil and see if that brings the lane back
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
I looked at the components over the PCIe connector but they're capacitors. My multimeter doesn't have a capacitor tester, I'll have to get one.



On other news, Powercolor says they can process the RMA IF I pay shipping both ways. :banghead: I guess getting an used 7770 would costs less. It wouldn't be a Powercolor of course.


Another thing I hadn't think about: testing with an x8 to x16 riser on the x16 slot. It would be limited to x8 (not a big deal for a 7770 IMO) and the "fix" would cost $5 if it works. Just ordered one on eBay. In the mean time I'll get a capacitor tester (if cheap enough).
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Excuse my geography as it has been years since I sat in a classroom, but IIRC Mexico is part of North America, not Central or South! I would return the mail and ask that they look at a map or globe before cutting off your RMA!
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
745 (0.49/day)
Likes
899
Location
N.S. Can.
System Name Not an AAR Cuda/#2 Hellcat
Processor 3770k @4.5 delid/#2 7700k @4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte z77x-D3H rev1.1/#2 Rog Maximus IX Code
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 evo/#2 Corsair H100i V2
Memory 16 GB HyperX fury Black 1866 Mhz/#2 32 GB Gskill Trident Z RGB 3200 xmp
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming x 8G @1380/2100 /#2 <- Crossfire stock clocks
Storage Samsung960evo250GB os (Thanks Brother;) Samsung 840 evo 250GB (Games)Samsung 840 120 (Storage)
Display(s) Viewsonic XG 2701 Freesync
Case Haf 922m/#2 Corsair Crystal 570x
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG/#2 On board Supreme FX
Power Supply Evga 750 G2/#2Evga 850 G3
Mouse Logitech G602/ #2Logitech G900
Keyboard Azio KB505U
Software Win 10 Pro 64/ Win 10 Home
Benchmark Scores I can play 2 games at the same time.
#8
Shitty deal. What ever happened to NAFTA? I have thought of using these cards very seriously in the recent past because my local parts shop started carrying them and they are attractive in their price points. I am also a firm believer that Mexico is a full fledged part of North America. If their policy is this lapse for a cross border rma it makes me wonder if they come up with excuses for the U.S and Canada as well. Booo to Powercolor.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Just put some tape over the end of the PCI-E connector on the card to force it to run in x8 mode no matter what. It is only a 7770, so running it at x8 won't bottleneck it at all.

Like this:


Excuse my geography as it has been years since I sat in a classroom, but IIRC Mexico is part of North America, not Central or South! I would return the mail and ask that they look at a map or globe before cutting off your RMA!
Their warranty policy states US&Canada only, so that would just be wasted breath.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
Just put some tape over the end of the PCI-E connector on the card to force it to run in x8 mode no matter what. It is only a 7770, so running it at x8 won't bottleneck it at all.

Like this:
this I was just gonna post this!
edit: heres a reference for the pins you need to tape over
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#11
doh! yeah, you're right. Testing...


edit:
works! :roll:

Just another question, it's working in x4 mode as reported by GPU-Z, how many "contacts" do I have to cover? I counted 38 contacts from the front edge on the x8 to x16 riser:


but I suppose it really is an x4 to x16 riser.




edit2: yes, I ran the render test:

 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#12
Their warranty policy states US&Canada only, so that would just be wasted breath.
I would be looking around locally for that "(unless stated otherwise)" for their warranty in the local market! Seems illogical that parts can be sold anywhere without warranty coverage. Not like he came to the US or Canada and bought the card!
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
consult the image I posted for the right amounts of pins to shield
only the last large block at the bottom should be taped that should get you 8x mode
make sure your tape job doesn't overlap onto pin-pair's numbered 49
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I count 33 pins that have to be taped off to get x8, if you tape off even 1 too many it will drop the card down to x4.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,302 (0.28/day)
Likes
646
Location
South Africa
System Name Firelance
Processor i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz / 1.23V
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H @ F16h mod BIOS
Cooling Corsair H105 + 4x Gentle Typhoon 1850
Memory 2x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 CL9 @ CL7
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC with Gaming X BIOS @ 2000 core / 2300 mem
Storage 2x 256GB 840 Pro (RAID-0) + 3TB Deskstar 7K3000 + 512GB BX300 + 8TB WD Purple
Display(s) Dell U2713HM (25x14) + Acer P243W (19x12)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP² Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1
#15
Anandtech did a review of the 7970 and concluded that 2.0 x8 is the sweet spot for that card. Given that the 7770 is much less powerful, I'm sure you won't see any performance degradation running it at 2.0 x4.

What would be the proof or disproof of my theory, of course, is if you could post some benchmarks with the card running at 2.0 x4, and then if you can get it to run at 2.0 x8, rerun the same benchmarks and compare.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,957 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,917
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#16
Send it to Rick Perry and see if he deports a new card to you :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#17
apparently it was a driver thing, I installed the latest Catalyst and got the x8 alright. I was using the Windows driver in the tests, odd that it would limit the link to x4 :rolleyes:

While I was fumbling with the bioses, I noticed that the 7770 PCS and my DH had the same SSID, the only changes were the clock speeds and product number (I suppose that Powercolor uses the same PCB for both). I flashed my 7770 with the PCS bios and... voila! higher Overdrive limits :rockout:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,376 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,466
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#18
So does that mean that it's working at X8 or X16?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#19
x8, I taped over the PCIe contacts as suggested
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
745 (0.49/day)
Likes
899
Location
N.S. Can.
System Name Not an AAR Cuda/#2 Hellcat
Processor 3770k @4.5 delid/#2 7700k @4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte z77x-D3H rev1.1/#2 Rog Maximus IX Code
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 evo/#2 Corsair H100i V2
Memory 16 GB HyperX fury Black 1866 Mhz/#2 32 GB Gskill Trident Z RGB 3200 xmp
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming x 8G @1380/2100 /#2 <- Crossfire stock clocks
Storage Samsung960evo250GB os (Thanks Brother;) Samsung 840 evo 250GB (Games)Samsung 840 120 (Storage)
Display(s) Viewsonic XG 2701 Freesync
Case Haf 922m/#2 Corsair Crystal 570x
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG/#2 On board Supreme FX
Power Supply Evga 750 G2/#2Evga 850 G3
Mouse Logitech G602/ #2Logitech G900
Keyboard Azio KB505U
Software Win 10 Pro 64/ Win 10 Home
Benchmark Scores I can play 2 games at the same time.
#20
Not to sound stupid or that it really matters but will it work at 16x now that the drivers have been installed with the tape off? I am curious.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#21
no, it doesn't give a display if plugged in x16 slots, not even at boot (post, bios, etc) so it's not driver related
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,742 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,159
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
Have you tried the cards and mobos out of the case
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#23
the Asus C60M1-I and GA-880GM-USB3 were tested out of a case, the rest inside a case.



^GA-880GM-USB3
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,666 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,327
Location
Finland
System Name SER
Processor Intel Core i5-7600K @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling h2o
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2400 @ 2666MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 980 Strix @ 1500/2000MHz
Storage 2x 256GB, 2x 250GB, 240GB & 120GB SSD
Display(s) 23" 1080p + 22" 1080p
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
#24
X8 is enough for a card like 7770. My second HD5870 runs at X4 2.0 (crossfire) and it's not that bad bottleneck.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#25
I flashed back the DH's bios. The PCS bios increased voltage to 1.25v (stock 1.175v) and the card went to >80C :eek:

Turned overdrive to the max and got 4352 on 3dm11 so it seems that the x8 link is alright.
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/8598765


Thanks for all the replies. :toast: