• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Prime95 Stress Test Error

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#1
When I run Prime95's stress test or normal test's I get the error telling me to check "results.txt" or something like that and I doesn't tell me what the error is. My system is somewhat OC'd, check my system specs for all hardware. It runs the benchmark test perfect...

CPU: AMD64 FX-55 OC'd to 2.8Ghz, voltage @ 1.55-.6, idle temp 30-33ish, load temp 45-47ish. no higher. (I would post pics of CPU-Z but they're too small to read the numbers. If anyone could help me with that it would be great).

Memory: PC3200 DDR400 Corsiar Platnium XMS series @ 2.5-3-3-6 in Dual Cahnnel.

Cooling: Artic 5 Thermal paste on CPU, Thermaltake Blue OrbII CPU Fan, 5 120MM fans on high, 1 200MM fan on high. Case is Antec Nine Hundred.

Thats about it... when I run the standard Prime95 test it doesn't get past the first test "Lehmerer" or something like (cant remember), and tells me to check "results.txt" but doesn't tell me anything else. System runs great and I have NOT had one problem with it. Don't know if I should take Prime95's error serious or not? TIA

J
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#2
Try running the torture test al three options.

1st for testing FPU stress.
2nd for maximum heat and power, some ram testing.
3rd for much ram testing.

Maybe you can see more clearly where the problem is coming from.

And it's because you normaly don't use your system to the max.
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#3
Try running the torture test al three options.

1st for testing FPU stress.
2nd for maximum heat and power, some ram testing.
3rd for much ram testing.

Maybe you can see more clearly where the problem is coming from.

And it's because you normaly don't use your system to the max.
This is in Prime95 options right? :D :banghead: Noob <---- :roll:
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#4
I would post pics of CPU-Z but they're too small to read the numbers. If anyone could help me with that it would be great
to make the text bigger, go into the cpuz folder, open cpuz.ini with a text editor, and change the "textfontsize" value to 16. this will make the text bigger. you can set it to whatever you want, but 16 already has some of the data too long to fit in some of the boxes on my system, so i keep it at 15...

EDIT:
also, i would use orthos instead of p95, it actually tells you what the problem is, its already multi-threaded for multiple cores/processors, and instead of having to walk over to the computer to see how the tests are going you can just look at a big colored bar... green means stable(so far) and red means theres an error. you can get orthos here.
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#5
to make the text bigger, go into the cpuz folder, open cpuz.ini with a text editor, and change the "textfontsize" value to 16. this will make the text bigger. you can set it to whatever you want, but 16 already has some of the data too long to fit in some of the boxes on my system, so i keep it at 15...

EDIT:
also, i would use orthos instead of p95, it actually tells you what the problem is, its already multi-threaded for multiple cores/processors, and instead of having to walk over to the computer to see how the tests are going you can just look at a big colored bar... green means stable(so far) and red means theres an error. you can get orthos here.
Ah ha! LOL... thank you. Will post screenies later.

EDIT: To your edit, I'll check it out.. thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#6

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#7
Yes. Prime/options/torture test.
I did that as well if I am correct. Gives you four options and I selected "blend" and its still came back with the error. Thing didn't even run more then 10 seconds. :wtf:
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#8
To be honest i really don't know. Maybe the ram or to high cpu clock.
I don't know much about FX oc''ing.

But i say, if it aint broke don't fix it.

How does your pc run while doing 3dmark tests?
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#9
To be honest i really don't know. Maybe the ram or to high cpu clock.
I don't know much about FX oc''ing.

But i say, if it aint broke don't fix it.

How does your pc run while doing 3dmark tests?
Haven't did any 3dmark test. I'll do 3dmark05 and 06 and post them up with the CPU-Z and temps in a couple of hrs..

J