1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

(Probably) building a new computer ... Parts?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Atech, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Ok, ok, ok. This is basically a stop gap until K10 comes out, I'm hoping to just swap the processor out come June/July. I'm loving the recent price reductions :D

    I'm basically hoping to use this for encoding and compiling, and a bit of gaming on the side. I need experienced people's suggestions/input/critique - it would be very much appreciated!

    Asus Crosshair
    OCZ GameXStream 700w
    X2 6000+
    OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1GB*4 (2.3-2.4v)
    Barracuda 7200.10 500GB
    Akasa HD cooler (I have a history with overheating HDs)
    BFG 8800 GTS OC2
    Antec Nine Hundred

    Not sure which thermal compound to get.

    Long time since I've built myself a computer! Have I missed anything out? Are there any as-good-as components that'd be cheaper? Does the 8800 OC2 actually have a significantly higher OpenGL performance advantage over the 7950s?

    I don't need a monitor, or optical drives.

    Oh, and, er, its got to be compatible with Linux, so no hardware that needs weird drivers. I'm passing on the processor to someone else when the K10 comes out, so it needs to not fry by then xD. It's currently clocking in at ~1100 pounds.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Don't count on K10 coming in June/July...

    Core 2 Duo would be much better for encoding. Serious SSE advantage there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Could you suggest a mobo/cpu combo equivalent then please? I presume you're thinking of the E6600, I can see that for 178.59, whereas the 6000+ is 139.99. Worth the price difference?

    Edit: Are you sure the C2D runs x64 programs as fast as the X2s? I'll be using a 64 bit kernel & OS.

    Edit #2:
    Hmmmm are you sure?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    There's no compelling reason to go E6600 as E6420 (2.13GHz, 4MB) is exactly the same as E6600 but with lower stock frequency.
    E6420 OC's easily to 3GHz+, if you'r willing to spend a few minutes in bios setting it up.

    E6420 and Asus P5B deluxe or Abit Quad GT should do wonders with this CPU, the RAM you suggested is good.

    C2D does 64bit just as good as A64:
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2duo-64bit_5.html
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    There's a dilemma - Where I'm planning on getting my hardware (overclockers UK) don't have anything but the "old" C2Ds - 6400, 6600, 6700 etc.

    Edit: Nevermind, I see it isn't out yet. Nevermind, honestly, I'd rather be able to put a K10 in there when it eventually comes out.

    What about the graphics card? Will it have significantly higher OpenGL performance than the 7950 series? And have I left anything major out?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    nothing wrong with the 6400 or 6600 i wpouldnt call them old youll get 3ghz of either heck youll get 3ghz off a e4300/e6300 there fantastic oc chips :toast:

    also have a look around some other shops it always pays to compare prices i presume your in the uk hence the budget in £ and oc'ers.co.uk, try ebuyer, dabs, microdirect, scan.co.uk etc
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I decided to get a Kentsfield instead of waiting for Barcelona.

    So ... Entered card details on OCUK, just had to confirm ...

    Then it wouldn't work! They have this gay, seemingly compulsory "3D Secure" rubbish where you're suppost to supplant entering your card details every time you use it with a universal password. They give you the option to not sign up to that rubbish when Javascript is disabled, but when I click on the confirm button the form just disappears :( When Javascript is disabled, they don't give you any option but to sign up.

    I've got a feeling I'll need Internet Explorer ... damned antiquated ignorant web masters.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Not a bad build, but just like what others said go C2D.
    It might not have a huge advantage in games, but it does have an advantage in encoding.
    Plus they can OC like crazy too.

    The case, GPU, HD are all good.
    But I would suggest getting either an E6400 or one of the newer models of the C2Ds out there.
    That would change your mobo as well.
    If you want to go all out you can get an 680i mobo (which is the top end).
    However, if you dont want SLI suppor than may I suggest the Gigabyte DS3 mobo (its a pretty good OCer).

    Now onto my more favorite parts PSUs and memory.
    That memory is overkill and you could prob. get a much better pair for a cheaper price.
    As far as I know the OCZ modules are made with Epilida chips and you are mostly paying for the cooling anyways.
    All you need is DDR2-800 (PC2-6400) memory to OC the hell out of your C2D or AMD rig.
    So may I suggest looking for some Buffalo Firestix, Crucial Ballistix or G Skills high end modules (the ones with the black heatsinks).
    All of these modules are top of the line and they have Micron D9 chips which are the best OCers as of right now.

    Now onto the PSU.
    I agree that that PSU is very good.
    However, it does have one downside.
    This PSU has a large amount of ripple that do not fall under PSU requirements (hence it is not compliant with them).
    This ripple will affect the longetivity of your hardware as well as OCing.
    May I suggest one of the best PSUs around that can (if wanted) run an 8800GTX SLI rig.
    The Corsair HX620 Watt PSU is one of the best out there and it is also module (an added bonus).
    If you dont want to go that route take a look at JohnyGuru.com (I think thats how it is spelt) for PSU reviews (he is very good).
    The Corsair PSU should be around the same price as the one you listed.

    Also, are you currently running a 64 bit OS.
    Bc if you arent than you arent going to see all of your 4GBs.
    The 32 bit of Windows can only address 3 GB max.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I'm going for a Kenstfield now (X3220 if they come into stock by the time I successfully order, or a Q6600 failing that). As for my OS, I'm using Gentoo Linux 64 bit.

    I'll look into that power supply you mentioned. I was going with the OCZ one to begin with because of some reviews I read of it, that it was pretty efficient. I'll look into that PSU you mentioned.

    This PSU calculator suggested a 700w power supply (or just under) though, taking into account a 20% capacitor loss (I leave my computer with a workload to do overnight, so it's working 24/7).

    Edit: I'm going for 2*2GB modules of OCZ PC6400 now, too. It's cheaper than 4*1GB OCZ PC-8000, and it'll (hopefully) put less stress on my northbridge.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I would suggest not to get 2 x 2GB right now.
    The ones that are out arent that great and you arent going to be able to OC that much (if at all).
    The reason is bc the more memory you have on 1 stick, the less you can OC.
    Also, these are either promo chips or epilida chips that cant OC that well at all.
    I would suggest getting 4 x 1GB instead of 2 x 2GB (if you are going to OC).

    Also, you are only powering 1 8800GTS and that def. does not take 700W of power.
    What are you putting into your calc. (your entire system's specs).
    Hell, 2 8800GTXs need that much or a little bit more power.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    What I'm putting in the calc:
    Kentsfield Q6600 OC to 3.2GHz 1.5v
    2*DDR2 modules
    1* SATA hard drive
    1* DVD-RW
    1* CD-ROM (can't rip Dualdiscs with a DVD-RW - for some very strange reason)
    1* High end motherboard (Asus Striker Extreme - I must have those LEDs :p)
    3* 120mm System fans, 2*120mm LED fans, + 1* 250mm fan (it's the closest to the 200mm fan the calc has)
    1* Sound Blaster (already got one)
    LED display (the Striker has one)

    85% TDP
    100% load (since I'm compiling and encoding a lot)
    30% capacitor loss

    Edit:
    Hearsay is that the best memory for Conroes/Kentsfields is PC5400, so I'd probably just leave the memory as it is (or underclock it, then gradually clock it back up as I overclock the Kentsfield). Another reason I'm getting 2*2GB is that I might get another two in the near future.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I could be wrong, but I dont believe that is accurate.
    The thing that takes the most power is the GPU nowadays and with an 8800GTS they recommend a 450W PSU.
    Now take into account that that is for an average PC.
    There is no way the Q6600 takes that much extra power, so as long as your over 600W I say your fine.

    Oh and by the way, Corsair conservatively rated their PSU.
    So that is 620W of continuous (not maximum, like how most PSUs rate their watts).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I'm still looking at reviews for both PSUs, but Neoseeker and extremeoverclocking both rate the GameXstream very highly. Plus it has an LED on the fan xD. I'll keep looking at reviews though. Could you point out a negative one for me?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I too have looked at those sites, but they usually rate components high so they keep getting samples from them.
    The best place for PSU reviews is here http://www.jonnyguru.com/
    He has the most in depth reviews for PSUs (prob. more than you want to know).

    Take a look at his OCZ GameXStream review: http://www.jonnyguru.com/review_details.php?id=35

    Here is the Corsair HX 620 review: http://www.jonnyguru.com/review_details.php?id=32
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Ok, I'll go with the Corsair. It better be able to take a Kenstfield to 3.2-3.5GHz and beyond though :p That's supposed to require about 250w.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Hey, here's an idea, if you want to just hold yourself through until K10, why don't you get yourself a nice low-priced computer like mine?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I've already got an Athlon64 3700+ (Clawhammer) and 1GB DDR, it just can't compile/encode fast enough. I need some serious power ...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Okay :)

    (sorry, I just REALLY want the money to move over to AM2).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    if youroing togo high end on most of the stuff your getting you might as well get 2 Seagate 7200.10's (the 500 gig one you wanted) and RAID em
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I ended up getting 2 320GB ones, because of the offer OcUK had that week (£50 each).

    I've built it now, and it's really, really, really fast :D It compiled my system in just over 2 hours (using multiple GCC threads -j5). As for the cooling, wow :D I'm freezing outside of the case.

    The wiring on the other hand is a nightmare. Don't get an Antec 900 if you buy a 8800GTS. I had to take out the mid fan bracket just to squeeze the thing together. It's a very, very tight fit!

    Edit:
    Hahah, this is great. It's idling at 19C and on load it's about 22C (although I'm sure those temps are out quite a bit)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)