1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem flashing bios.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by enxian, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a problem with a flash 9800pro to xt is a core R360 physical

    i downloaded the flash gecubeXT hynix, i have hynix memorys. ill follow all steps but i try with different names.

    flashrom -p 0 9800xt Error 0FL01 9800xt name is incorrec
    flashrom -p 0 9800xt.bin i have this error

    Serial Rom
    Bios dev = 0x4E4A
    ASIC dev= 0x4E48
    Existing memcfg=0x2240
    New memcfg =0x2240
    Existing SSID=0x0002
    New SSID=0x1002

    SSID does not match with bios file "9800xt.bin" SSID!
    use '-f' for force flashing

    Error 0FL01

    i use the -f but i hear a different sounds and not work
    my adapter info tells me 0*
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    try just: flashrom -p -f 9800xt.bin
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    I didnt use Flashrom I used Gigabytes Flash program so I just put: gvf11 -p -f 9600xt.f1 and it worked great. I have always used that program and it works great. BTW who made the PRO to start with?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i tried with sapphire bios have the same SSID of my card? i dont know what is SSID. other thing in my bios info tells me lock option "yes"

    Existing BIOS P/N =113-A07537-103
    New BIOS P/N = 113-A18812-100

    i tried with all commands and atiflash and no one's work DOS4GW.EXE in atiflash stock and dont work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    you are changing the Device ID on the card
    so it has to be forced
    I have a Sapphire 9800Pro with an XT core and mine flashed very easily using the Gecube XT BIOS and the Sapphire XT BIOS but I had to force the first flash
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i try force with two drivers but i hear sounds and dont work.

    i have an internal video card and my pc is from sony vaio.

    the DOS4GW.EXE from atiflash stuck and dont work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    how can you hear a sound? this should be done in DOS. What sounds are you hearing and what error is it giving you?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i hear sounds of my motherboard and errors in -p Error 0FL01 in the name of the file.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    you need to use 2 seperate disks
    1 to boot you into DOS then the other should contain the Flash Program +BIOS
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i have enter on MS-Dos but in a boot cd disk.

    and my disk have a flash and bios prog.


    the command is flashrom -p 0 newbios
    and the name of the file is newbios.bin

    its and 98se boot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    okay well first I would say just type in Flashrom at A prompt and it will give you the Switches
    run the one that will ID your card as it is and see if it sees it first
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    0* and asic is 300/350 and lock=yes the device id is 4E48
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    Well I would say go find Gigabyte Flash program as it easy to use and I have flashed my old card dozens of times and my 9800PRO to XT with little or no hassle(tryed the Gecube first then decided on the Sapphire)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dude can you send me the utility i cant find it...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,014 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    Try Here
    this is for flashing x800s but its what I have been using for 6 months and it has never failed me
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. enxian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow thanks dude finally flash it! i recommend the atiflash and command you gave me -p -f for quit lock. thanks the card works normal no artifacs at that speed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)