• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Question about a small upgrade I'm thinking of doing to an old pc

Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#1
Specs for my old pc

AMD X2 4200+

2 7600GT's

500watt PSU

GA-M59SLI-S5 motherboard

I was thinking of upgrading the CPU to either a phenom 1 or a triple core everything else Im not gonna change cause its a really good pc regardless of an upgrade I was wondering if you guys could recommend a good cpu? Im looking on the cpu support list and Im not sure what I can have and cannot and I was planning on giving the old CPU to my friend cause im building him a PC for Christmas out of spare parts

heres the link to the board on the Gigabyte site
http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2302

again I have no clue what Im looking at, any help would be appreciated
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#2
according to gigabyte page, it doesnt supprot any am2+ cpu, so you are out of luck. the best upgrade u can do now is take this and overclock it (the board is good). sorry if i cant help muchm more :(
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#3
according to gigabyte page, it doesnt supprot any am2+ cpu, so you are out of luck. the best upgrade u can do now is take this and overclock it (the board is good). sorry if i cant help muchm more :(
is there anything better than that? cause although that does look like a good cpu and Imma consider it just seeing what else I can get, graphics cards are great so I wont upgrade that same goes for mobo and Imma use my old ddr2 800 ram I had on there(ones I'm using now) and putting it back
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#4
according to gigabyte page, it doesnt supprot any am2+ cpu, so you are out of luck. the best upgrade u can do now is take this and overclock it (the board is good). sorry if i cant help muchm more :(


Uhh, if you scroll the page down you'll see a list of all supported am2+ CPUs. Seems to be able to take up to Ph II 940/420

http://www.gigabyte.us/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2302#anchor_os

edit:
There is some red text at the bottom stating that when you use AM2+, HT3.0 support will be dropped down to HT1.0, which i don't think is that big of an issue unless you do alot of memory intensive tasks
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#5
Uhh, if you scroll the page down you'll see a list of all supported am2+ CPUs. Seems to be able to take up to Ph II 940/420

http://www.gigabyte.us/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2302#anchor_os
see thats what I thought but I just didnt understand the note at the very bottom

(Note) If you install AMD AM2+ CPU on AM2 motherbord, the system bus speed will downgrade from HT3.0(5200 MT/s) to HT1.0(2000 MT/s) spec; however, the frequency of AM2+ CPU will not be impacted.

is that bad?
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#6
Well to corect myself, your memory is directly linked to your cpu and HT is only used to communicate with peripheral devices.

HT is how the cpu communicates with the North bridge and South bridge of the motherboard. Obviously the the faster it is, the better. However from what I can tell, there is really no signifficant bennefit in using HT3.0 on desktop computers.

In a server enviroment however, the situation is entirely different, because you have 2-4 CPUs on the same MB, communicating with one another.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#7
Well to corect myself, your memory is directly linked to your cpu and HT is only used to communicate with peripheral devices.

HT is how the cpu communicates with the North bridge and South bridge of the motherboard. Obviously the the faster it is, the better. However from what I can tell, there is really no signifficant bennefit in using HT3.0 on desktop computers.

In a server enviroment however, the situation is entirely different, because you have 2-4 CPUs on the same MB, communicating with one another.
so I guess I shouldnt let that kinda thing bother me? if it doesnt matter?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,375
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
That board does not support AM2+ processors.

I know the page is a little confusing, thanks Gigabyte, but I'll explain it.

You are interested in the very last column. If that column has an F# in it, then that processor is support, and has been support since that BIOS version. I'll use the first processor in the list as an example:

Athlon 64 FX-62 ... F2

What this means is that since BIOS version F2, the processor has been supported.

Now, when you go down to the AM2+ processors, they all have N/A in the last column. What that means is that no BIOS supports these processor, AKA the board does not support them.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#9
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#10
That board does not support AM2+ processors.

I know the page is a little confusing, thanks Gigabyte, but I'll explain it.

You are interested in the very last column. If that column has an F# in it, then that processor is support, and has been support since that BIOS version. I'll use the first processor in the list as an example:

Athlon 64 FX-62 ... F2

What this means is that since BIOS version F2, the processor has been supported.

Now, when you go down to the AM2+ processors, they all have N/A in the last column. What that means is that no BIOS supports these processor, AKA the board does not support them.
Dang, that's some terrible information management on Gigabyte's side...

Sorry for missleading you then. I'm sure the motherboard itself is perfectly capable of supporting the AM2+ CPUs but it's up to Gigabyte to add the cpu code in the bios. It would be great if someone with a similar board could test it out tho..
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#11
Dang, that's some terrible information management on Gigabyte's side...

Sorry for missleading you then. I'm sure the motherboard itself is perfectly capable of supporting the AM2+ CPUs but it's up to Gigabyte to add the cpu code in the bios. It would be great if someone with a similar board could test it out tho..
nah its ok I love gigabyte boards, and I love AMD, dont like intel cause of price and I have more problems with it I guess Ill go for a x2 6400 BE if I can find one for cheap if not then 6000, which I kinda dont mind having but I dont want it
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
971 (0.24/day)
Likes
184
Location
NorCal
System Name Modest Box
Processor Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 16GB
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1060 6GB EXOC White Edition
Storage OCZ Vertex 460A 480GB
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA 450W Bronze
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#12
That 3.1 Ghz X2 6000+ would be a quite healthy jump from your current CPU. Slide in an HD 4770 or HD 4850 and you've transformed that PC for less than $200.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#13
That 3.1 Ghz X2 6000+ would be a quite healthy jump from your current CPU. Slide in an HD 4770 or HD 4850 and you've transformed that PC for less than $200.
nah Im not gonna trade the graphics cards out because they're still good and if I took them out they would just lie around doubt I would be able to sell them either since its outdated
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#14
That 3.1 Ghz X2 6000+ would be a quite healthy jump from your current CPU. Slide in an HD 4770 or HD 4850 and you've transformed that PC for less than $200.
Not really, the 4850 is about as fast as a 8800GTX is, so no its not a big jump at all.
So the 8800GTS is slightly faster than the 4730 and just as much of a sucker in terms of power consumtion.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
971 (0.24/day)
Likes
184
Location
NorCal
System Name Modest Box
Processor Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 16GB
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1060 6GB EXOC White Edition
Storage OCZ Vertex 460A 480GB
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA 450W Bronze
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#15
Not really, the 4850 is about as fast as a 8800GTX is, so no its not a big jump at all.
So the 8800GTS is slightly faster than the 4730 and just as much of a sucker in terms of power consumtion.
Did I miss something? Did he mention an 8800 GTX, 8800 GTS or whatever? All I saw was two 7600 GT cards in SLI in his first post. Anyway, if he wants to keep the old cards an X2 6000+ Brisbane would still be a good upgrade from an X2 4200+ (again from his first post of current hardware).
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#16
Did I miss something? Did he mention an 8800 GTX, 8800 GTS or whatever? All I saw was two 7600 GT cards in SLI in his first post. Anyway, if he wants to keep the old cards an X2 6000+ Brisbane would still be a good upgrade from an X2 4200+ (again from his first post of current hardware).
7600gt's are still good no need to upgrade and it does more than enough to play games like fear, company of heroes, unreal tournament 3, l4d, half life 2, counter strike, cod 4, etc. Im not a greedy pc gamer I can deal without the use of everything max I have before

doesn't do to horribly on crysis either been able to play it medium settings turned some things on high also lags a bit but its playable