• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Question

Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#1
I was having a discussion over at OC, about a 250 Watts PSU running a 9800gt , and 4670.
I want to buy these 2 cards for this system very soon:

BFG 9800GT / Note it does not need a power connector
http://www.bfgtech.com/bfgr981024gtge.aspx

The PSU requirement says 350, but i am guessing because it does not require a connector, it may only draw 40-50.

And i plan to buy this:

4670
http://graphics.visiontek.com/video/4000/4670.html
400 Watt or greater power supply, but from what it says over at gpureview it says 59w.

All i have in my rig is well soon a sound card for the PCI slot, and i only have on Internal HD
and i have a 500GB external hook up to the back of my tower.

Also keep in mind: When i was using my Pentium III, everyone said the 8400GS or 2400HD won't work because 90watts can't handle it, but both cards ran just fine in it. I also used a 8500GT in that pentium III i had and it work just fine with 90watts. The 2400HD requires 270, but only draws 25w, while the 8400gs requires 300-350 and only draws around 40.
So if a 90watts PSU can handle those cards, why can't a 250 watts work with the 4670 or a 9800GT low power card?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
If the PSU has quality componentry inside and can handle the amperage I think it will work fine.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
1,388 (0.42/day)
Likes
127
Location
Macon, Georgia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 16x200
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler
Memory OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 & Corsair Dominator (2 x 1GB) DDR2 1250
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital 3.25 Inch SATA 320GB Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240HD Rose-Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen HDTV Monitor
Case LIAN LI Lancool PC-K62 Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1200 8 Channel Audio
Power Supply Corsair 650HX ATX12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Proffesional
#3
Spend that money on a Corsair 400W. Save the remainder.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#4
Generally when companies are making suggested power estimates, they're assuming you have a high end system which uses a fair bit of power. That leaves plenty of headroom for those with an average or low power system, meaning you can probably safely run a higher power graphics card with a less powerful PSU.
But don't go skimping on the PSU either, because OEM PSUs are almost always crap. The PSU I'm currently using is from an OEM case, and its crap; I could probably replace it with a 350 watt high quality PSU and it would work better!

So yes, the graphics cards will run fine with less than recommended power supplies, but you want to make sure the PSU is good quality and wont die on you, otherwise you'll be buying another computer. Since you have a prebuilt, I'm certain that the PSU in it would not be powerful enough. Buy a quality 300 watt or higher, and your rig will be fine.

Also, PSUs have a certain power usage band where they operate most efficiantly; at around 40-60% load, a PSU runs at its most efficient (IIRC). Running a PSU near full load is bad for it, makes it less efficient. So if your comp comes near to drawing full power from your PSU (which you can check with a wall socket wattage meter thingo) then you should definately consider getting a new one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,165 (0.27/day)
Likes
433
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#5
If the PSU has quality componentry inside and can handle the amperage I think it will work fine.
Problem is....this most likely isnt a quality PSU since its only rated for 250watts and is made for emachines :(

To OP: Even if it works, seriously consider replacing that PSU.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#6
If the PSU has quality componentry inside and can handle the amperage I think it will work fine.
??????????????

Spend that money on a Corsair 400W. Save the remainder.
Well if i do buy those cards, i am really considering changing my PSU, but i will have to take it to best buy and ask them to put one in, because:

Picture of the PSU/my rig here:

Looks really impossible to remove. I open up my tower and i don't see where i can remove it haha. Also these are my choices for a new PSU:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...#0##1c~~ncabcat0507009##0##a&pagetype=listing

Generally when companies are making suggested power estimates, they're assuming you have a high end system which uses a fair bit of power. That leaves plenty of headroom for those with an average or low power system, meaning you can probably safely run a higher power graphics card with a less powerful PSU.
But don't go skimping on the PSU either, because OEM PSUs are almost always crap. The PSU I'm currently using is from an OEM case, and its crap; I could probably replace it with a 350 watt high quality PSU and it would work better!

So yes, the graphics cards will run fine with less than recommended power supplies, but you want to make sure the PSU is good quality and wont die on you, otherwise you'll be buying another computer.
Thanks for the information. :) Also, if a video cards stays cool all the time, is that a good sign that its working well in a computer with a certain amount of PSU power?
 

Attachments

roque66

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name Phenom I
Processor 9950BE 2.6 @ 2.9
Motherboard Biostar 790GX
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 4G DDR2 800mhz Transcend
Video Card(s) CF HD3850 512MB GDDR3
Storage SATA II 320G
Display(s) Fujitsu Siemens 19''
Case An ugly One
Audio Device(s) AUDIGY LS
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software WINDOWS 7
#7
Generally when companies are making suggested power estimates, they're assuming you have a high end system which uses a fair bit of power. That leaves plenty of headroom for those with an average or low power system, meaning you can probably safely run a higher power graphics card with a less powerful PSU.
But don't go skimping on the PSU either, because OEM PSUs are almost always crap. The PSU I'm currently using is from an OEM case, and its crap; I could probably replace it with a 350 watt high quality PSU and it would work better!

So yes, the graphics cards will run fine with less than recommended power supplies, but you want to make sure the PSU is good quality and wont die on you, otherwise you'll be buying another computer.
normally they put lower specifications to lower computer owners buy....advertising....then the people buy and the computer just make caboom.... :D
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#8
I would never, ever try to run a decent card with a shitty low wattage OEM PSU. You take significant risks doing this, that are not limited to the card itself.
 

roque66

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name Phenom I
Processor 9950BE 2.6 @ 2.9
Motherboard Biostar 790GX
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 4G DDR2 800mhz Transcend
Video Card(s) CF HD3850 512MB GDDR3
Storage SATA II 320G
Display(s) Fujitsu Siemens 19''
Case An ugly One
Audio Device(s) AUDIGY LS
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software WINDOWS 7
#9
i had with this computer one psu xilence 500w....after i put the second hd3850 1 year ago, i said to the shop guy that probably will not be enough...he said that's ok...500w are fine for that...just playing grid max settings and the psu just burned....take it back in warrantee and give me another equal...i repeated what i said before...installed, played grid again and 10 minutes of playing caboom with light and everything :D....
now , very happy with my corsair..... buyed online.... in other shop....they give me a detonator (halfmman 500W) and i put in sempron... :D
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#10
Well if i do buy those cards, i am really considering changing my PSU, but i will have to take it to best buy and ask them to put one in, because:

Picture of the PSU/my rig here:

Looks really impossible to remove. I open up my tower and i don't see where i can remove it haha.
You should be able to remove the screws around the back, and then slide it out; there may be some clips you have to depress or unclip as well, but tbh it shouldn't be too hard.

Also, if a video cards stays cool all the time, is that a good sign that its working well in a computer with a certain amount of PSU power?
That has nothing to do with it. Heat output has to do with the amount of power the card converts to heat, which is related to clock speeds and volts; theoretically, it would be cooler if there wasn't enough power! (Doubt that actually happens though).

Underpowered components don't usually die instantly, they degrade over time, same as overvolted components (overclocked CPUs for example). So a comp may seem stable at first, but if its running near the power supply's limits then it will become unstable and eventually fail.

Buy a new PSU from Corsair or Antec (or any other suggested brand), you'll be saving yourself a lot of trouble.