• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid 0 Recovery Curveball

Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#1
Hey Everyone,

So, I had someone leave an older XPS laptop with me, and turns out that the second drive of its RAID 0 setup is messing up somehow.

Now, I have a few ideas of how to correct this, but, also, wonder what would be the best way to go about it.

First and foremost is recovery. My 680i board has the outlets to do RAID, but, is it possible to take those 2 drive, make the formation, and have them at least read on my desktop rig to get them backed up (or at least file folders to do so)?

Second, is repair. I know I used Spinrite for my single drive, but, i do not have RAID experience whatsoever.

Is there any easily guide-able advice for my first time looking into this to first, get the data, and second, repair (as a bonus. I want that data first)

Thank you to anything you can offer,
-At
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
768 (0.25/day)
Likes
171
Location
Seattle
Processor Intel Xeon x5660 (4.2ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 24gb (6x 4gb DDR3 1600) Kingston Hyperx
Video Card(s) XFX Black r290x 4gb ddr5 OC
Storage 6x 2tb 64mb WD drives, Patriot Pyro sandforce2 drive ,intel 180gb ssd
Display(s) HP w2558hc
Case Corsair Carbine 500r
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Pro Fatality
Power Supply XFX 750 watt
Mouse Thermaltake Theron ee Sports+
Keyboard Corsair Vengence k70 RGB Cherry Red
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#2
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#3
unless the chipset on the laptop is the same as on your 680i motherboard then no you wont be able to just transfer the disks over,


the best way i have found to recover a raid array is to use, http://www.runtime.org/raid.htm
however it is not free, the trial version should tell you everything about the raid settings such as the stripe size ect.




if you have another disk around that is the same size or larger, you could copy the image over of the HDD that keeps screwing up, then you just swap in the new disk into the raid array and see if that solves it.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
no its not possible.


without the same SATA controller and ALL drives from the RAID 0 array, you're screwed. data recovery is impossible since you literally only have half of each file.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#5
no its not possible.


without the same SATA controller and ALL drives from the RAID 0 array, you're screwed. data recovery is impossible since you literally only have half of each file.
if the 2nd disk is not working at all then this will be the case ^
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
if the 2nd disk is not working at all then this will be the case ^
since he said the 2nd drive is messing up (AKA, not working in the laptop) then i take that to be the case.


He cant swap the drive for a spare, nor it is likely he has an identical laptop to try the RAID array in.

So he cant replace the drives, cant replace the laptop, and cant get it working in its current setup...
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
768 (0.25/day)
Likes
171
Location
Seattle
Processor Intel Xeon x5660 (4.2ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 24gb (6x 4gb DDR3 1600) Kingston Hyperx
Video Card(s) XFX Black r290x 4gb ddr5 OC
Storage 6x 2tb 64mb WD drives, Patriot Pyro sandforce2 drive ,intel 180gb ssd
Display(s) HP w2558hc
Case Corsair Carbine 500r
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Pro Fatality
Power Supply XFX 750 watt
Mouse Thermaltake Theron ee Sports+
Keyboard Corsair Vengence k70 RGB Cherry Red
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#7
i missed the second drive being messed up.

How is the 2nd drive dying?? its it bad sections on the disk? or is it the controler board from the hard drive?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#8
it's not a laptop, but yes if the second drive is physically failing then the raid array is pretty much gone. if the drive is not yet failed completely, try getting everything off the array asap before it completely fails on you. I've seen some crazily damaged drives work out, and quantum drive out of an imac from like 10 years ago came into my office the other day with a horrible whining noise(think blower belt on hot rod) and i got some 16gigs worth of files off before it failed, all this persons music, oddly(some sick pron), and their pictures(more pron) and documents.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
it's not a laptop, but yes if the second drive is physically failing then the raid array is pretty much gone. if the drive is not yet failed completely, try getting everything off the array asap before it completely fails on you. I've seen some crazily damaged drives work out, and quantum drive out of an imac from like 10 years ago came into my office the other day with a horrible whining noise(think blower belt on hot rod) and i got some 16gigs worth of files off before it failed, all this persons music, oddly(some sick pron), and their pictures(more pron) and documents.
?


its a laptop.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#10
yes it is infact a laptop, from the OP's description, however that should have no effect on anything...


so it is irrelevent.



if the second drive is physically failing then the raid array is pretty much gone. if the drive is not yet failed completely, try getting everything off the array asap before it completely fails on you.
+1 as i already said, try to make a mirror image of the whole drive and put it onto another disk, then try to recreate the array. if for some reson the chipset rejects the new disk and wont let you recreate the array there a few tricks left to get the data back, but only if you have both halves of the array intact
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#11
Hey Everyone,

I've been busy as hell, so here is an update:


I noticed that int he menu, the system was still bootable, and went into Windows. Though very sluggish, it made it to windows normally after 2 or 3 boots.

In the Raid Screen that flashes before the boot, it shows Drive 0 as "Errors Detected", and drive 2 is fine. I try and make a new Profile, but it says "Not Enough Space". If I delete the current, then, it seems to want to format.

Well, here is what I have done. I decided that the RAID0 is to much trouble for me, and the main user, I am going to scrap it. Its an older unit, so, why bother? I am going to just format the drives, check for the health, and reinstall a copy of Win7 X64 and just run 2 hard drives. One with the OS, the other purely for storage.

I think this is best for her in a long run for her needs, and not to play lazy, but I do not feel my current knowledge and skill can effetivy get the unit back to what it was before. (If I don;t do somethign, they will plop down 2K on a MacBook Pro:nutkick: So in order to save them LOADS, I believe this is the best coarse)

The best news is because I was able to boot into Windows (Vista btw...) was able to fulyl back up all of her documents, pictures, ect. (all non pron, cause, apparently girls don't need it) This now lets up have a full list of options.

Yes its awesome she can do RAID. It would be cool to have. But, I will NEVER do a RAID 0 to anyone. A 5 system would be the only I would do. Because it keeps failures to a minimal, and lets backups happen as they could.