• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram speed/latency combo for R5 3600?

HabibiLan

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
23 (0.24/day)
It looks like its going to be 3200C14 or 3600C16, any other recommended speeds/latency that perform same or better as those speeds I listed? I am buying 16gb for R5 3600 on B450 tomahawk with XMP and that's it, don't need other tuning.

For 3600C16 is it the 16-19-19-39 version or 16-16-16-36 version? Cos that can throw you off but I'm guessing its 16-16-16-36.

What brands of ram you guys recommend? My old build has the g.skill trident z rgb and those worked perfect and their customer service is awesome so let me know of other good brands
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,530 (4.60/day)
3600 C16 is what you want for AMD. The lower the timings the better. I would run 3600 CL16-16-16-xx if you can find it. 16-18-18-xx isn't bad either.

As far as what is good/works, your best bet with AMD is to stick to the QVL list. GSkill has Trident Z Neo's that are made for the Ryzen platform. I would look there. :)
He wanted 16GB total it seems, FYI. :)
 

HabibiLan

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
23 (0.24/day)
their is

16-16-16-36 vs 16-19-19-39 vs 16-18-18-18-38

I know the 16-16-16-36 is the bdie but ryzen recommends 3600C16 and doesn't mention which so do all the three above rams perform equally the same in terms of just enabling XMP?

I think the G.Skill trident Z neo 16gb 3600 16-19-19-39 is probably going to be my option at $136
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
304 (0.69/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5406 - AGESA 1.0.0.4B)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
511 (0.58/day)
System Name Silent
Processor i7 8700k delidded and OC'd to 5.2 daily 5.3 benchmarking/R9 3900x
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4/MSI MEG ACE x570
Cooling Noctua D15/Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 14CAS/32GB Team Dark Pro 3200/14
Video Card(s) 1080ti w/morpheus cooler w/Noctua 140mm fans/Quadro RTX 4000
Storage Optane 905p 480GB, 2 x 1TB 970 Pro Raid 0/Optane 905p 480GB
Display(s) 240hz 1080p/4x1440p 60hz
Case Coolermaster Cosmos C700M
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 600w Fanless
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 1725
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,948 (1.05/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Personally I'm using 4x 8GB 3600MHz of this. It runs fine at 3800MHz, 16-19-16-19-36. Tighter TRFC timings seem to matter a lot on Ryzen 3000 as well.
Quite affordable memory for the performance you get.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
786 (1.07/day)
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H
Cooling Case:4xAlseye EY-120(3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 16GB (8 x 2) (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RX570 Gaming
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB + Kingston A400 120GB + Western Digital Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster E1920
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse Redragon Griffin
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
He wanted 16GB total it seems, FYI. :)
16GB is dying slowly for AAA gaming.

@Caring1 idk what r u laughing at but if you actually think you'll be maxing out Cyberpunk 2077 and GTA 6 on 16 gigs of RAM you are pretty much wrong
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,064 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
16Gb is more than enough to run any game.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
786 (1.07/day)
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H
Cooling Case:4xAlseye EY-120(3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 16GB (8 x 2) (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RX570 Gaming
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB + Kingston A400 120GB + Western Digital Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster E1920
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse Redragon Griffin
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
16Gb is more than enough to run any game.
Well right now we already have games which will take ~20 gigs of ram (while benchmarking) and sorry i can't recall a name.
I understand you, convincing people that it's time to move on from 16GB of RAM is gonna be as hard as it was to convince people that 4C/4T chips are already dead back in 2017-18.
Now lets just stay on this thread's topic.
stay safe :)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,564 (1.11/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
16Gb is more than enough to run any game.
For a minute...We're getting into another level of hardware resources that's just waiting for sloppy unoptimized programs.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
786 (1.07/day)
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H
Cooling Case:4xAlseye EY-120(3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 16GB (8 x 2) (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RX570 Gaming
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB + Kingston A400 120GB + Western Digital Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster E1920
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse Redragon Griffin
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
16Gb is more than enough to run any game.
And oh one more thing, new consoles are getting 16GB of RAM.

OP if you see this and i'm pretty sure you will, if you are going to use your system for Triple A gaming trust me you might consider getting 32GB instead.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,530 (4.60/day)
I know the 16-16-16-36 is the bdie but ryzen recommends 3600C16 and doesn't mention which so do all the three above rams perform equally the same in terms of just enabling XMP?
Why do you care about Bdie? Are you overclocking these things or setting XMP and leaving it? If it is on the list for your motherboard, it should work no matter what is hiding below the heat spreaders.

16GB is dying slowly for AAA gaming.
16GB is a sweetspot for now...and I'd imagine for the next 2-3 years in most titles it will be fine. There are always some exceptions.

But yeah, the OP asked for 16Gb, so... there is that too. He can certainly buy 32GB!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,102 (1.62/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
I think the G.Skill trident Z neo 16gb 3600 16-19-19-39 is probably going to be my option at $136
I have them. They are ok. Not great not terrible.
 

HabibiLan

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
23 (0.24/day)
Why do you care about Bdie? Are you overclocking these things or setting XMP and leaving it? If it is on the list for your motherboard, it should work no matter what is hiding below the heat spreaders.
Cos of better timings on 1% and 0.1% lows not cos of avg FPS or daily tasks
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,098 (1.46/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
What BS? What game uses 20GB? Fix your GPU driver leak.

I have seen max 15GB ever, and that was on bugged Star Citizen V2.X Alphas.

Even while cruising Lightroom, I topped 26GB max with loading 128GB of raw. It so much you cannot do in one day anyways.

16GB is plenty for any casual PC user...
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,936 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.2 Ghz / -1 avx 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3900 Mhz DDR4 17-17-17-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
I ran/can run my system with 32 and 16 and the difference between either configuration is completely unnoticeable. Even the 16gb ran a bit faster and had better latency, but it is still not noticeable even with same runs of games. I drop to 16 for bench / latency runs but it's purely for the numbers.

Save money for DDR5.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
241 (0.14/day)
System Name Happy PC
Processor Intel i7-860 2.80 GHz "Stock
Motherboard OEM: MSI MS-7613 (IONA-GL8E) mATX
Cooling Regular Cheapo
Memory Hyundai Electronics and G.Skill mixed (4sticks) 12GB DDR3 @1333mhz
Video Card(s) OEM: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 ti @GC:928/MC:1350 VRAM: 1GB
Storage WDC Blue 465.76 GiB WD5000AAKS
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24"
Case Crosair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Crosair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M105
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 SP1 (with latest updates)
I downloaded the manual of the motherboard "B450 tomahawk". Both B450 tomahawk and B450 tomahawk MAX uses the same manual.
It says: Memory:

[]4x DDR4 memory slots, support up to 64GB*
Supports 1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667Mhz (by JEDEC)
Supports 2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 MHz
(by A-XMP OC MODE)
[]Dual channel memory architecture
[]Supports non-ECC UDIMM memory
[]Supports ECC UDIMM memory (non-ECC mode)
_____________________

3466 is max supported for RAM clock speed. Just a reminder you won't be able to get 3600 on this but they will still work except on -hopefully- 3466 speed. Am I correct on this guys? I am not a pro so I am asking for confirmation on this.

I would check the motherboard manual before buying in order to avoid surprises once I already bought everything and arrived at my home!

Also, get the MAX version of the motherboard because it already supports Ryzen 3000 CPUs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,329 (2.10/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
I downloaded the manual of the motherboard "B450 tomahawk". Both B450 tomahawk and B450 tomahawk MAX uses the same manual.
It says: Memory:

[]4x DDR4 memory slots, support up to 64GB*
Supports 1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667Mhz (by JEDEC)
Supports 2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 MHz
(by A-XMP OC MODE)
[]Dual channel memory architecture
[]Supports non-ECC UDIMM memory
[]Supports ECC UDIMM memory (non-ECC mode)
_____________________

3466 is max supported for RAM clock speed. Just a reminder you won't be able to get 3600 on this but they will still work except on -hopefully- 3466 speed. Am I correct on this guys? I am not a pro so I am asking for confiermation on this.

I would check the motherboard manual before buying in order to avoid surprises once I already bought everything and arrived at my home!

Also, get the MAX version of the motherboard because it already supports Ryzen 3000 CPUs.
They've tested up to 4400mhz if you look at the QVL with Matisse which is ryzen 3000.... Ryzen+ tops out at 3466mhz and Ryzen 1st gen caps out at 3333Mhz at least on the QVL
Doesn't mean you can't run higher Mhz on the older chips it just means it isn't guaranteed
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
241 (0.14/day)
System Name Happy PC
Processor Intel i7-860 2.80 GHz "Stock
Motherboard OEM: MSI MS-7613 (IONA-GL8E) mATX
Cooling Regular Cheapo
Memory Hyundai Electronics and G.Skill mixed (4sticks) 12GB DDR3 @1333mhz
Video Card(s) OEM: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 ti @GC:928/MC:1350 VRAM: 1GB
Storage WDC Blue 465.76 GiB WD5000AAKS
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24"
Case Crosair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Crosair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M105
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 SP1 (with latest updates)
They've tested up to 4400mhz if you look at the QVL with Matisse which is ryzen 3000.... Ryzen+ tops out at 3466mhz and Ryzen 1st gen caps out at 3333Mhz at least on the QVL
Doesn't mean you can't run higher Mhz on the older chips it just means it isn't guaranteed
Ahhhh, thanks oxrufiioxo so much for the clarification, I never thought it was like that!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
267 (0.88/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F11
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
I downloaded the manual of the motherboard "B450 tomahawk". Both B450 tomahawk and B450 tomahawk MAX uses the same manual.
It says: Memory:

[]4x DDR4 memory slots, support up to 64GB*
Supports 1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667Mhz (by JEDEC)
Supports 2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 MHz
(by A-XMP OC MODE)
[]Dual channel memory architecture
[]Supports non-ECC UDIMM memory
[]Supports ECC UDIMM memory (non-ECC mode)
_____________________

3466 is max supported for RAM clock speed. Just a reminder you won't be able to get 3600 on this but they will still work except on -hopefully- 3466 speed. Am I correct on this guys? I am not a pro so I am asking for confirmation on this.

I would check the motherboard manual before buying in order to avoid surprises once I already bought everything and arrived at my home!

Also, get the MAX version of the motherboard because it already supports Ryzen 3000 CPUs.
I have a tomahawk max system which has constant cold boot failures at 3600 paired with a 3600x, so yeah.
Using a b-die 16gig kit (Patriot Viper RGB 16GB DDR4-3600MHz, PVR416G360C6K) installed that has 0 issues on x570. I could always boot>restart and have it work fine, however i ended up setting it to 3466 which ended up resolving all coldboot problems.
 

HabibiLan

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
23 (0.24/day)
bdie doesnt make anything faster...you wont notice a difference between any of the kits listed....
So I ended up going with 16gb 3200C14 b.die for my R5 3600 CPU. Is it possible to OC them to 3600 16-16-16-36? Or 3600 with some looser C16 timings like 16 18 18 38 or 16 19 19 39.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,329 (2.10/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
So I ended up going with 16gb 3200C14 b.die for my R5 3600 CPU. Is it possible to OC them to 3600 16-16-16-36? Or 3600 with some looser C16 timings like 16 18 18 38 or 16 19 19 39.
This was pretty easy for me with a 3200 CL14 kit.... 2x8GB is easier to work with in my experiences.

Capture.PNG

unless you are really unlucky you should be able to push it to whatever you want

3600 CL14 should be pretty easy if your CPU doesn't like 3800....
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,530 (4.60/day)
I'd keep it wherever 1:1 is.. 3800 without major tweaks will go 1:2.

Before you take the time...

And since you wont have the higher memory multiplier, you'll need to use bclk to get there. Really not worth the time and effort for gaming...but for giggles...!
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,329 (2.10/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
On my Aorus Master/3900X it keeps 1:1 without tweaking but with my 3700X it requires tinkering still pretty easy though.

None of the 3600s I've worked with have done 3800 1:1 though.
 
Top