• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Red Dead Redemption 2 Benchmark Test & Performance Analysis

Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
406 (0.40/day)
Any chance of comparison shots of TAA/MSAA at the various settings? This game looks bad for how it's performing.

"The map can be zoomed out with the mouse wheel, but zoom speed is incredibly slow, requiring crazy mouse wheel spinning to give you an overview"

How such an obvious problem can go unnoticed??? the amount of laziness and Incompetency of these big, rich, crappy developers is just unbelievable. small and indie developers put much more effort and passion in developing games these days.
People have shown a willingness to accept poor quality products and even pay for beta gameplay. I expect it to continue until the majority stop enabling such practices.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,668 (0.80/day)
Windows 7 has some DX12 features. It was added-in by Microsoft. There's even Microsoft Edge which works well on Windows 7.

Vulkan. ..Windows 7
Vulkan ... Linux. Should be quite easy to get it run with wine, unless it have some horrible drm.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,504 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Windows 7 has some DX12 features. It was added-in by Microsoft. There's even Microsoft Edge which works well on Windows 7.
Not really. It was done on a “by game” basis, with so far as I know, only Blizzard taking up Microsoft on the extra work, and only for Warcraft.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Location
Braga, Portugal
System Name HTC Vive PC
Processor i5 2500k@4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Asetek AIO Watercooler
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070
Storage Samsung 850 Evo SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Qnix QX2700 27" IPS 1440p monitor @ 90Hz + HTC Vive
Case Case CoolerMaster Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair Tx750w
Software WIN 10 64bits
This sentence says it all: "RDR2 is clearly a console port, and a bad one."
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
73 (0.25/day)
Is this a First for the worst Vulkan implementation lol ?!? Its gotta be right...Every Vulkan game gives huge FPS boost over DX12 except this one..
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,668 (0.80/day)
Is this a First for the worst Vulkan implementation lol ?!? Its gotta be right...Every Vulkan game gives huge FPS boost over DX12 except this one..
Dunno about that, I.E. Strange Brigade had a rough start with Vulkan vs DX12(Vulkan runs that game much better now). And at the guru3d test vulkan runs game the same or a bit higher fps than dx12:
135877
135878
 

QUANTUMPHYSICS

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2019
Messages
19 (0.63/day)
Location
NYC, NY
NO GAME currently on the market should need a 9900k and a 2080Ti. This is poor optimization
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,603 (1.09/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Uncore @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, Data WD10EZEX HDD 1TB
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
For those commenting about the 1060 3GB, people buying it back in 2016-2017 didn't have too many choices, cryptomining made everything else unaffordable.


I had a great impression of the game at first, Chapter 1, no lag issues, the 1060 6GB was handling it great, it had some preset setting that was a mix of ultra and high. Then I got to chapter 2. It got a hell of a lot more laggy with all the greenery.

Really wish DX11 was an option.

Been running high texture low everything else except medium water because low water produces this weird flashing effect, that just about gives me 60 FPS average with 1440P but sadly there are occasionally hang ups, where the game just stops for a second or two. Game still looks good for me, I don't mind games at lower settings as long as it can run smooth at this resolution. It mostly does except for when it doesn't, and it just hangs paused for a second or two like its going to crash. That happens sometimes when riding through town, or even looking at the gun store catalog. Also if you lower textures below high all the faces turn to pixel mud and things such as playing cards become unrecognizable.

GTA IV was kind of a mess on PC release too.

GTA V seemed fine by comparison, I had that when it released with just a 3770K and 770 2GB and it ran it pretty well at 1080P, not much drops, crashes, hangs.


"The map can be zoomed out with the mouse wheel, but zoom speed is incredibly slow, requiring crazy mouse wheel spinning to give you an overview"

How such an obvious problem can go unnoticed??? the amount of laziness and Incompetency of these big, rich, crappy developers is just unbelievable. small and indie developers put much more effort and passion in developing games these days.
Thankfully page up and page down zoom the map.
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,658 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I’m not gonna go thru 4+ pages but people seem forget that both GTA4 and 5 were PC crushers on release, now granted 4 was just poorly done but 5 definitely needed a generation to be fully put to max.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 64K
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
728 (2.73/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard Generic Dell
I remember the first thing I had to do in order to get GTA 3 running properly was to buy more ram.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,504 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
..a moment of silence for invidia..
:D
Why? Some recent games have been tuned for AMD, yet Nvidia plays better. It has always been so, that the two trade back and forth with which brands GPU generally do better in different games.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
1,491 (0.48/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
31 (0.21/day)
Seems like a 4 Core processor perfectly enough. I did not even wanted to buy more than 4 Cores processor, but 6 Core was the minimum by AMD.
 

Nizzer

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
1 (0.13/day)
Really not had any problems at all. Maybe I just got lucky, running it ultra wide and it hasn't fluctuated from 60. Not sure what the issues are that others are having but hope you get to experience how it's meant to be soon.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
415 (0.19/day)
Location
Riga
System Name Dell 7577
Processor i5-7300HQ
Memory 16 Gb
Video Card(s) 1060 6Gb Max-Q
Storage 256 Gb Samsung NVMe + 512Gb Crucial MX500
Display(s) N156HHE-GA1 - 120 Hz
Mouse Touchpad + Logitech MX518
Software Windows 10
Enjoyed the game on my PS4, wanted to complete the game the second time as I didn't do all the activities, but the poor frame rate and the lack of a good fast travel option held me back.
Will definitely be playing this at some point, but I guess I should not even bother with a 7300HQ and 1060 6Gb Max-Q? :D WIll have to wait till a have a desktop once again.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
31 (0.21/day)
I have the Ryzen 9 3800X, now with four disabled and four active Cores I have higher frequency and higher performance in this game. Pretty neat I am hitting 4.5GHZ
 
Top