• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Required PSU for 5970 with this setup

Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,927 (0.56/day)
Location
Sydney NSW, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS418 w/ 4X8TB WD Red | Pixel 4
Processor Intel Core i9-10850K | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard MSi Z490i Unify | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B | Double fan
Memory Crucial 2X16GB Ballistix White RGB DDR4 3600mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3080 VISION OC | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB, Samsung 860 QVO 2TB | 256gb M.2 SSD, 1TB Intel 760p
Display(s) Gigabyte G34WQC 34" UWQHD 144Hz VA & TIEM 32" QHD 165Hz VA | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K TV
Case Cooler Master NR200P White | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X3 (HiFiMAN HE-4XX) | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Roccat Burst Pro, Roccat Kain 202 | Logitech G403
Keyboard DIY Geek 64 PCB (Kailh Box Pink - Matcha XDA Keycaps) | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores 2018 BMW 125i F20 LCI-2 | M-Sport | Sunset Orange | Shadow Line | Sunroof
Hi guys, I am thinking of buying a 5970 second hand as they seem to go for pretty cheap and I will be using it for mining litecoin/dogecoin. It will be going into a system with the following specs;

i3-530
Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3

4gb 1600mhz g.skill ram
550W Antec TP-550 NEW
320gb hdd
Aerocool M40 case

My main question is; Will the TP-550NEW be powerful enough to run this for mining close to 24/7?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Location
Patio
System Name Halley's Comet
Processor 10900KF
Motherboard Z490 Vision D
Cooling EK CPU Hardline
Memory 2x8GB Gskill Royal
Video Card(s) 6800 XT Merc
Storage M.2 970 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Gigabyte G34WQC 34
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Asus Gladius
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
Benchmark Scores It Chops : )


I think so mate. You should be fine. I've seen some where that they are 300 watts max. You might be able to undervolt for better power consumption as well.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
113 (0.04/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Air
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Patriot Pyro 128gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k@5k
Case Old true size Mid tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 1000W
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
I highly recommend undervolting for mining. Your card will thank you for it after experiencing lower temps and less stress.

The easiest way to know if your PS can handle it is to run it. If it's really inadequate your pc will crash ,semi will probably burn out the psu over time. If your not using the pc for much or anything else you could use windows power to set the cpu to stay at it's lowest power state/cpu state. Also, you if you can do with only 1 stick of ram and a flash drive(sd card) as your main storage and also less small fans in favor of a big box fan blowing in the side of your case would be best.

Also Radeon 7950's (R9 280) 7970's (R9 280x) are your best bet for mining, easier on power and similar hash rates (at least with the 7970ghz). I have a Gigabyte Radeon 7970ghz underclocked from 1.1ghz to 1ghz and Ram at stock 1.5ghz, voltage down to 1.094v from 1.256v and hashing 701k. I picked up 2 new lifetime warranty R9 280's for $315 each last week. They should be good to hash at least 600K each if not a bit more. There's a good guide here -https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,927 (0.56/day)
Location
Sydney NSW, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS418 w/ 4X8TB WD Red | Pixel 4
Processor Intel Core i9-10850K | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard MSi Z490i Unify | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B | Double fan
Memory Crucial 2X16GB Ballistix White RGB DDR4 3600mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3080 VISION OC | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB, Samsung 860 QVO 2TB | 256gb M.2 SSD, 1TB Intel 760p
Display(s) Gigabyte G34WQC 34" UWQHD 144Hz VA & TIEM 32" QHD 165Hz VA | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K TV
Case Cooler Master NR200P White | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X3 (HiFiMAN HE-4XX) | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Roccat Burst Pro, Roccat Kain 202 | Logitech G403
Keyboard DIY Geek 64 PCB (Kailh Box Pink - Matcha XDA Keycaps) | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores 2018 BMW 125i F20 LCI-2 | M-Sport | Sunset Orange | Shadow Line | Sunroof
I highly recommend undervolting for mining. Your card will thank you for it after experiencing lower temps and less stress.

The easiest way to know if your PS can handle it is to run it. If it's really inadequate your pc will crash ,semi will probably burn out the psu over time. If your not using the pc for much or anything else you could use windows power to set the cpu to stay at it's lowest power state/cpu state. Also, you if you can do with only 1 stick of ram and a flash drive(sd card) as your main storage and also less small fans in favor of a big box fan blowing in the side of your case would be best.

Also Radeon 7950's (R9 280) 7970's (R9 280x) are your best bet for mining, easier on power and similar hash rates (at least with the 7970ghz). I have a Gigabyte Radeon 7970ghz underclocked from 1.1ghz to 1ghz and Ram at stock 1.5ghz, voltage down to 1.094v from 1.256v and hashing 701k. I picked up 2 new lifetime warranty R9 280's for $315 each last week. They should be good to hash at least 600K each if not a bit more. There's a good guide here -https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison

Yes I agree however they cost 2-3 times as much. And 5970s only seem to use 10-30w more at max load so I don't think that it will make up the difference in cost imo. Also I need a card that is no wider than a PCI bracket for my Aerocool M40 because of limited clearance (I can get away with an extra 1 or 2 cm but no more.

I do already have 2X 280xs mining away in my main rig. I picked up a second one brand new for $300AUD ( a guy bulk purchased them in America and brought them over) which is cheap as chips considering from a shop they are $400+ for the same model. I do agree they are great miners. I have my 280xs at 1080mhz, 1500mhz and 1.094v (Asus DC2 TOPs) - ~740kH/s each.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
113 (0.04/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Air
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Patriot Pyro 128gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k@5k
Case Old true size Mid tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 1000W
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Yes I agree however they cost 2-3 times as much. And 5970s only seem to use 10-30w more at max load so I don't think that it will make up the difference in cost imo. Also I need a card that is no wider than a PCI bracket for my Aerocool M40 because of limited clearance (I can get away with an extra 1 or 2 cm but no more.

I do already have 2X 280xs mining away in my main rig. I picked up a second one brand new for $300AUD ( a guy bulk purchased them in America and brought them over) which is cheap as chips considering from a shop they are $400+ for the same model. I do agree they are great miners. I have my 280xs at 1080mhz, 1500mhz and 1.094v (Asus DC2 TOPs) - ~740kH/s each.

Thats a good price for 280x's. How much are you getting the 5970's for? I know they are too expensive on ebay here in Canada to be worth the bother. My Gigabyte 7970ghz would do 740k too, but there is something wrong with it. I'm working on an RMA for it. It had this weird page glitch when scrolling down webpages for a while now as well as not turning the monitor on after turning it off for power saving. Now it's turning off the monitor in 3d (confirmed it's not the monitor) and requires the pc to be rebooted. Also, I'm getting 3d artifacts.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,927 (0.56/day)
Location
Sydney NSW, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS418 w/ 4X8TB WD Red | Pixel 4
Processor Intel Core i9-10850K | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard MSi Z490i Unify | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B | Double fan
Memory Crucial 2X16GB Ballistix White RGB DDR4 3600mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3080 VISION OC | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB, Samsung 860 QVO 2TB | 256gb M.2 SSD, 1TB Intel 760p
Display(s) Gigabyte G34WQC 34" UWQHD 144Hz VA & TIEM 32" QHD 165Hz VA | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K TV
Case Cooler Master NR200P White | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X3 (HiFiMAN HE-4XX) | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Roccat Burst Pro, Roccat Kain 202 | Logitech G403
Keyboard DIY Geek 64 PCB (Kailh Box Pink - Matcha XDA Keycaps) | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores 2018 BMW 125i F20 LCI-2 | M-Sport | Sunset Orange | Shadow Line | Sunroof
Thats a good price for 280x's. How much are you getting the 5970's for? I know they are too expensive on ebay here in Canada to be worth the bother. My Gigabyte 7970ghz would do 740k too, but there is something wrong with it. I'm working on an RMA for it. It had this weird page glitch when scrolling down webpages for a while now as well as not turning the monitor on after turning it off for power saving. Now it's turning off the monitor in 3d (confirmed it's not the monitor) and requires the pc to be rebooted. Also, I'm getting 3d artifacts.

I'm planning on getting a 5970 for under $140AUD maybe under $150 (they seem to sell between $90 and $200) it depends on the photos on eBay and the sellers reputation lol. But yeh damn good price for my second 280x.

The issues you have with your 7970 sound like what happened to my ancient GTX 260 and it turned out the VRAM chips had gone bad even though I hadn't overclocked it. Too bad mine was outside of warranty.


Edit: 1 000 posts! :rockout:
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
113 (0.04/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Air
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Patriot Pyro 128gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k@5k
Case Old true size Mid tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 1000W
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
I'm planning on getting a 5970 for under $140AUD maybe under $150 (they seem to sell between $90 and $200) it depends on the photos on eBay and the sellers reputation lol. But yeh damn good price for my second 280x.

The issues you have with your 7970 sound like what happened to my ancient GTX 260 and it turned out the VRAM chips had gone bad even though I hadn't overclocked it. Too bad mine was outside of warranty.


Edit: 1 000 posts! :rockout:


Nice. At that price I would buy more than a few. :D They are $400+ Canadian here. I meant 2d artifacts btw, no 3d ones yet. Yeah I never overclocked mine either. It was a warranty return on a Radeon 6990. I suspect they gave me an improperly tested refurb for the 7970.
 
Top