• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rumor: AMD Ryzen 7000 (Raphael) to Introduce Integrated GPU in Full Processor Lineup

Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
808 (1.82/day)
The server market is demanding an iGPU and this is probably why they are doing it. Epyc will come with an iGPU as sure as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west.

I think it's great to have a highly efficient yet very good iGPU to compliment the discrete GPU. And let's face integrated RDNA2 should be pretty darn good and will probably handle 1080p gaming with decent settings so the laptop market will love this.
Not sure about AMD's plans ahead, but laptop segment will have their own APUs. The move to integrate an iGPU in the server and desktop chips will be beneficial because Intel sells a lot of processor with iGPU (even though the iGPU is very dated and slow) every year. If AMD wants to gain market share in the enterprise/ companies segment, they will need to follow suit.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,171 (1.35/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I/O pins are already there - or else, APUs on AM4 wouldn't be able to output video. All B550 boards have a HDMI output, many have DP too, even many X570 boards have one or both.
1080p decoding or 720p encoding for videoconferencing would put some load on the CPU - I have no idea how much, I'm just guessing that one core dedicated to video should be enough. That used to be a problem in 2007, it shouldn't be a problem now.

Managing customers' expectations would be the hardest part. Yes, you can have a nice Ryzen-based office PC with two displays without a dGPU. But no, you can't do exactly everything without a dGPU.
You're aware I/O pins/interfaces can be muxed, right? So yes, the pins might be for display output on the APUs, but they might be PCIe on the CPUs.
As we don't have AMD's pin-outs, it's impossible to make any kind of assumptions.

As for video playback, try H.265 or AV1 and you'll see that software decoding is madness.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
469 (1.63/day)
Location
Bulgaria
You're aware I/O pins/interfaces can be muxed, right? So yes, the pins might be for display output on the APUs, but they might be PCIe on the CPUs.
As we don't have AMD's pin-outs, it's impossible to make any kind of assumptions.


Is this^?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
196 (0.13/day)
System Name The Cum Blaster
Processor R9 3900x @ 4.35ghz CCD0, 4.25ghz CCD1
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 Wifi
Cooling NH-D15S
Memory 4x8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3800C16
Video Card(s) Vega 64 & Eiswolf GPX-Pro
Storage Lots
Display(s) 4k60hz, 1080p144hz, 1080p60hz
Case Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750W
fpu? What do you mean by that? Electric brain substitute? (Excuse me for trying to do away with common buzzwords, E.B.S. is just an AI!DL!NPU! unit.) That would make sense as it would execute its own program code - like a GPU does, not a part of CPU's code.
fpu is anything but a buzzword lol, it's been a thing for, I dunno, 20+ years?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,171 (1.35/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si


Is this^?
I dunno, where did you find that?

fpu is anything but a buzzword lol, it's been a thing for, I dunno, 20+ years?
Nah, it's more like 30+ years.
In fact, Intel used to sell a separate FPU for their 386SX CPUs that fitted in a special FPU socket.
Looking at that, it would seem they'd made them a lot longer than that, so we're talking late 70's.
Apparently AMD made the first FPUs for Intel as early as 1977...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,578 (3.04/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 5800X / 3600XT / 4700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite / B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool full custom loop 360+140mm radiators / AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17 / 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16 / 16GB LPDDR4X
Video Card(s) 2070S / 2060S / Vega7
Storage 1TB WD S100G + 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro / 1TB Adata SX8200 Pro+ 1TB MX500 / 20TB Synology DS220+
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA / Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE / Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5 / Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series / Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W / Corsair RM550
Mouse G303 / MX Anywhere 2 / Another MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown) / Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Poll has no option for backup GPU when you don't have a dedicated video card or just want to troubleshoot something.
This.
Troubleshoot/Reflash a bricked dGPU BIOS/Temporary solution because dGPUs can't be bought at the moment.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
185 (0.11/day)
System Name Main
Processor 8700K
Motherboard Maximus Hero X
Cooling EVGA 280 CLC w/ Noctua silent fans
Memory 2x8GB 3600/16
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080TI Hybrid
Not sure about AMD's plans ahead, but laptop segment will have their own APUs. The move to integrate an iGPU in the server and desktop chips will be beneficial because Intel sells a lot of processor with iGPU (even though the iGPU is very dated and slow) every year. If AMD wants to gain market share in the enterprise/ companies segment, they will need to follow suit.
In case you didn't hear, AMD is selling every 5900X and 5950X they can possibly make, all without iGPUs. Intel has been pushing their iGPU BS for a long time and just because they do doesn't make it "beneficial" because virtually nobody wants them on a high end CPU since they're almost always paired with a high end GPU. Intel's quicksync is nice and so is having a backup GPU but that's no reason for the vast majority to be forced to buy them on high end desktop SKUs.

I get your argument for enterprise though, I"m just worried that AMD will follow intel's lead and release only a single SKU for both sectors so enterprise gets their iGPUs for spreadsheets while enthusiasts and gamers get a useless section of silicon they don't care for or need.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
358 (0.10/day)
System Name potato
Processor Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Custom WC Loop
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Storage Team Cardea II 512GB + HDD 2x WD VRaptor 500GB & 2x WD Blue 4TB
Display(s) XIAOMI Curved 34" 144Hz UWQHD
Case be quiet dark base pro 900
Audio Device(s) Logitech G733
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software win 10 amd64
The server market is demanding an iGPU and this is probably why they are doing it. Epyc will come with an iGPU as sure as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west.

I think it's great to have a highly efficient yet very good iGPU to compliment the discrete GPU. And let's face integrated RDNA2 should be pretty darn good and will probably handle 1080p gaming with decent settings so the laptop market will love this.
what? servers need 2D chip with embedded IPMI functionality, like aspeed ast 2500 series :wtf:
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
165 (0.03/day)
The main problem is Windows require 3d feature now days to do compositing and stuff. A 2d chips barely work fine. But they will do it at some point. Not sure if it would make sense to add one to the current I/O die that is already quite large. Maybe once it's made with something denser than the current Global Foundry process.


One of the curse of current chips is the vast amount of silicon that are barely or never use. Adding a backup GPU that is just barely good enough won't help. Better add something that people could actually use or don't have it at all. With Intel, quicksync still useful. On AMD, there is no such thing yet.

We will see. Even if AMD is leading currently on the hardware front or on par, they still have so much catch up to do on the software side.
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,860 (0.61/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
Expecting lawsuit from Lego. lol
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2021
Messages
22 (0.20/day)
System Name Semi-Custom CyberpowerPC Ultra 5 Elite Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 2300X
Motherboard MSI B450M Pro-VDH
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory CM4X8GD3000C16K4D (OC to CL14)
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX 480 4GB Red Dragon
Storage TCSunbow X3 1TB, ADATA SU630 240GB, Seagate BarraCuda ST2000DM008 2TB
Display(s) Acer K222HQL
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520 (CyberpowerPC variant)
Looks pretty dashed to me...

Oh, I thought you were talking about the striped patten on some of the colours rather than the dashed line around the box. My mistake.

In that case, you are likely to be correct. It might be indicating that AMD hasn't yet confirmed their decision of whether they want to include Navi2 in Raphael or not.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
1,077 (6.19/day)
An iGPU would be the one thing to push me to upgrade from my 3900X (which needs no upgrading). If my GPU dies, I want to at least be able to use my PC. No backup GPUs available. And a Navi2 iGPU sounds great to me.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
774 (0.15/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 1TB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v2004
Benchmark Scores Wife says it's fast
hmmmm interesting

I would assume it's going to be some cut down thing that will be equivalent to what Intel has. I can't see them slapping on an integrated gpu with 10+ CU.

It would be nice though if they do have a little gpu built in as back up for times like these with the ridiculous dedicated gpu market.

However, I would also hope for a really good APU line, meaning I would take 4 fast cores with at least 16CU over an 8 core with 4CUs, or an 8 core with 20CU
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
76 (0.04/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 3.9
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken 3 140mm
Memory Patriot Viper 4 - DDR4 3400 MHz 2x8 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX570 8 GB
Storage Samsung 830 128 GB, Samsung 860 500 GB, 2x Western Digital RED 4 TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2312HM
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced + Noiseblocker NB-eLoop B12 + 2x Coolink SWiF2 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO 520W
Mouse Logitech MX310
Keyboard Lenovo USB
I fear if they include an iGPU on their next (faster) lineup, the cheapest 6 core cpus will cost 350-400€ easily. I hope they will start producing great value cpus again, not just pricey (fast) ones.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
244 (1.49/day)
Location
Exexfirstladyland
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
Nah, it's more like 30+ years.
In fact, Intel used to sell a separate FPU for their 386SX CPUs that fitted in a special FPU socket.
Looking at that, it would seem they'd made them a lot longer than that, so we're talking late 70's.
Apparently AMD made the first FPUs for Intel as early as 1977...
Yeah, I'm aware of that, at least since I didn't buy a 80287 (an 80286 at 12 MHz was my first PC). Thanks for the link anyway, I learned about Intel licencing stuff from AMD back in the 70s, and the dirty trick called the i487.
What I really meant is: the suggestion by @mtcn77 to put the "fpu" on a separate chiplet makes sense if fpu stands for ML accelerator, which executes its own code, independent from CPU's code. FP instructions (scalar, vector, AVX), which are found in the same execution stream as CPU's code (integer, conditions, loops) have no chance of successful acceleration by a separate chiplet. Data transfer and synchronisation would eat away any advantages of fast calculation - which is exactly what made the original 8087 very inefficient.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
430 (0.25/day)
This would allow AMD to not only sell their more powerful and more expensive chips to prebuilt manufacturers but also shrink their design process even further.

It's a long needed change and a continued step in the right direction. Simplifying your product stack is the only way to stay ahead in such a saturated market.
 
Top