• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 5700 Performance Issues?

Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
Hi there, I'm not too familiar with amd cards but I've recently bought a RX 5700 dual evo. I'm not too sure if these monitoring graphs are correct but the card gpu power seems low when I play Assassins Creed Odyssey for an example and the gpu is not recognised in the in-game performance tool. Also the memory clock seems a little off. I'm noticing significant drops in frames too. The Gpu usage goes very high also in the menu, and even with 80-90% usage power draw goes from 70-80w.
I'm hoping this image might help, cheers. And don't worry about the low fan speed, I fixed that up. The curve was too low. But gpu power still doesn't go too high.
Img.jpg

Specifications :

i7 7700k
Antec vp550w psu
16GB Ram
RX 5700 Dual Evo
Coolermaster ml240
1TB hdd
240gbssd
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,069 (4.67/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Looks like you have some form of vsync stopping your FPS at 60. Check in game... GPU settings, etc.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
Looks like you have some form of vsync stopping your FPS at 60. Check in game... GPU settings, etc.
I'm using a 60hz monitor so I just have adaptive vsync on in the settings to stop stutter and screen tear. But I'm not sure why the gpu doesn't come up in the performance bar. There are only a bunch numbers?

Run 3DMark FireStrike and post a screenshot of your scores.
Running the demo but this is what it came up with. Would the fact that I'm running it on a pcie 3.0 have much of an impact or not really?

Img2.png
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,436 (0.45/day)
According to the UL database, your card is operating within normal parameters. Performance should be slightly higher.


Are you running this VBIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
According to the UL database, your card is operating within normal parameters. Performance should be slightly higher.


Are you running this VBIOS?
I'm going to assume you mean overclocking or unlocking it? No just running it as normal. I'm running it on pcie 3.0 if that makes much of a difference? I don't know much about pcie 4.0. But if its as you say then it's running normally
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,069 (4.67/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I'm going to assume you mean overclocking or unlocking it? No just running it as normal. I'm running it on pcie 3.0 if that makes much of a difference? I don't know much about pcie 4.0. But if its as you say then it's running normally
pcie 4.0 doesn't make a difference with that card.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
244 (0.07/day)
System Name Gaming PC/ EDU PC/ HFS PC
Processor Intel i9-9900KF/ Dual Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock Z390 Taichi Ultimate/ Dual Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S/ Arctic Xtreme Freezer/ Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB
Memory 64GB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB 3200/ 16GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 3200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX2080Ti Ventus / Zotac GTX1070 Mini / EVGA GTX 1060 SC Gaming
Storage Dual 970 EVO Plus 1TB + 18Tb R0/ 960 EVO 500GB + 10Tb R0/ 840EVO 250Gb + 16Tb R0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 144Hz / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440 Freesync
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition/ Dual Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX/ Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E/ On-board Realtek
Power Supply Triple Corsair Platinum HX850i
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / Logitech G903 Lightspeed / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Dual Logitech G19s
Software Win10 Pro
assuming you are using vsync or other sync to your 60hz monitor, and thats why your gpu is not at 100% load. Leave it that way, else it will show more fps which you cant see on your monitor and it will operate at higher temperatures...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,069 (4.67/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I'm using a 60hz monitor so I just have adaptive vsync on in the settings to stop stutter and screen tear. But I'm not sure why the gpu doesn't come up in the performance bar. There are only a bunch numbers?
No clue, but performance doesn't appear to be an issue...
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
assuming you are using vsync or other sync to your 60hz monitor, and thats why your gpu is not at 100% load. Leave it that way, else it will show more fps which you cant see on your monitor and it will operate at higher temperatures...
No clue, but performance doesn't appear to be an issue...
Alright then, thank you for all the clarification! Much appreciated!
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
7,412 (6.76/day)
Location
Poland
System Name Purple rain
Processor 10.5 thousand 4.2G 1.1v
Motherboard Zee 490 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory 16GB 4133 CL16-16-16-31 Viper Steel
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128,8200Pro 1TB,850 Pro 512+256+256,860 Evo 500,XPG950 480, Skyhawk 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG
Case P600S Silent w. Alpenfohn wing boost 3 ARGBT+ fans
Audio Device(s) K612 Pro w. FiiO E10k DAC,W830BT wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
you gotta have an adaptive sync compatible monitor, turning on adaptive sync in windows on a fixed refresh monitor does nothing
 
Top