• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX6800 "Out of signal" display when Win boot

malekakis89

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
Hi
I have a RADEON RX 6800 XT MBA 16GB GDDR6 GRAPHICS CARD bought off FB so out of warranty.
The issue I have is that it is functional (although only display port 1), however when I attempt to install the drivers,
(with or even without the AMD software), it causes the display monitor to go out of signal on all ports,
halfway through set up and also when windows tries to boot. If I go into safe mode it works fine.
I've tried uninstalling all the drivers via safe mode with DDU to ensure everything has been removed,
then attempted to reinstall them (still in safe mode) and it still causes the same issue. I've tried flashing BIOS.
I've also tried changing monitors and two different PCs with Win 10, with different OS (Ubuntu) and it still always causes the same issue.
I've come to the conclusion that it must be a hardware issue, since I've tried lots of different systems and workarounds.
I've been in touch with Sapphire customer support and have tried their suggestions but no solution.
They then suggested it was a hardware failure.
These are the GPU details
1. P/N 102d4120900000001
2. SKU 21305-01
3. Serial number Z204800000380
My Motherboard MSI MAG B550M Mortar WiFi
and power supply Super flower Leadex 850W.
Could you assist me? Or even is there a UK based repair team I could send it to?
Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
642 (0.18/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) AOC G2490VX
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
What stop code?
 

malekakis89

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
Sorry misused the BSOD (changed title now). What I meant to say was I get a BLACK screen, "Out of Signal" display monitor. There are no stop codes or anything showing when this happens.
When going into Win Event log, at the time log of installing the drivers I find this error:

411 Kernel-PnP
Device PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_73BF&SUBSYS_0E3A1002&REV_C3\6&1ffa58b9&0&00000019 had a problem starting.

Driver Name: oem16.inf
Class Guid: {4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Service: amdwddmg
Lower Filters:
Upper Filters:
Problem: 0x0
Problem Status: 0xC00000E5
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
42 (1.35/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800 XT @ 4250 MHz, 1.275V
Motherboard MSI B550-A Pro, chipset: 3.09.01.140, BIOS A.50 (7C56vA5), Agesa 1.2.0.0
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B, 4x CoolerMaster SickleFlow 120 PWM [100% RPM @ 70°C]
Memory 2x 16 GB G.Skill F4-3600C16-16GVKC, Dual Channel, Dual Ranks, 1.35V
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger Pro 8GB, driver 21.9.1, S.A.M. enabled, 155W undervolt
Storage 2x 2TB NVMe
Display(s) 1x 1920x1080p 60Hz, 1x 2560x1440p 60Hz
Power Supply 650W: 20A 3,3V; 20A 5V; 54A 12V; 80+ Gold
Benchmark Scores timespy: GPU ~9800, CPU ~10600
I've also tried changing monitors and two different PCs with Win 10, with different OS (Ubuntu) and it still always causes the same issue.
If it acts the same on 2 different PCs and monitors, then yes: this does sound like hardware failure.

You said you bought it via FB, so 2nd hand card, yes?
Maybe the other person tried to flash the vBIOS and bricked the card.
(or it could indeed just be hardware failure)

You could at least try to reflash the vBIOS - I think.
I am no expert on vBIOS flash, but maybe @eidairaman1 can help.
 

malekakis89

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
yh I came to that conclusio, I tried reflashing, but nothing changed.
But Im unsure of the Bios version I used bc the details for it are the same apart from the P/N number 113-D4120900-101 and on my card its 102-d4120900-000001
When I got the card it had bios from this site, so dont know if the previous owner used wrong version.
 

Attachments

  • 242056672_418449269853729_7503293780882269791_n.jpg
    242056672_418449269853729_7503293780882269791_n.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 34
  • Χωρίς τίτλο2.jpg
    Χωρίς τίτλο2.jpg
    447.3 KB · Views: 36

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,811 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Give me a moment, this idls a vanilla rx 6800 right?

Id say the card was damaged, stop buying stuff off facebook.

These are bios which are compstible with your gpu.


I would suggest you update your motherboard bios,stop overclocking tools (reset them) run at dtock for now.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,275 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
It is very likely a bad BIOS, a common problem with cross flashing is that certain display outputs stop working and things go weirder when drivers are installed
I noticed that serial says its a 6800 and not a 6800XT, is that the issue here? crossflashed to XT and failed?
VGA Bios Collection: Sapphire RX 6800 16 GB | TechPowerUp
flash this to it?

You keep alternating between 6800 and 6800XT, they do use different BIOS so i need to be sure whats going on there
 

malekakis89

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
Its the 6800 founder edition, not the xt (typo in the original post).
Ive tried the BIOS above but nothing has changed. Im not even sure these are the correct ones even then, because some of the numbers are unmatched.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,275 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Its the 6800 founder edition, not the xt (typo in the original post).
Ive tried the BIOS above but nothing has changed. Im not even sure these are the correct ones even then, because some of the numbers are unmatched.
Founders is an nvidia thing, unless you meant a reference card?

Your numbers do seem to match this card (you havent given us pictures of the card)
AMD Radeon RX 6800 16G GDDR6 (sapphiretech.com)

If flashing the BIOS doesnt allow the driver to install, the card is likely dead
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,811 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Its the 6800 founder edition, not the xt (typo in the original post).
Ive tried the BIOS above but nothing has changed. Im not even sure these are the correct ones even then, because some of the numbers are unmatched.

Oops yeah dont do the xt bios.

These bios are compatible with your card.


Founders is an nvidia thing, unless you meant a reference card?

Your numbers do seem to match this card (you havent given us pictures of the card)
AMD Radeon RX 6800 16G GDDR6 (sapphiretech.com)

If flashing the BIOS doesnt allow the driver to install, the card is likely dead
I say the card was damaged and the only reason why its sold on fakebook

@malekakis89 please stop buying stuff on fakebook, stick to amazon and ebay where you have a guarantee you will get your money back from amazon/ebay (like insurance- they go after the vendor of product)
 

malekakis89

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
Ok does anyone know of a tech support here in the uk who could repair the card? Ive spoken to Sapphire and theyve said that as its a hardware I should approach Overclockers (who according to their records are the original supplier), but they have refused to take it on as theres no proof of purchase.
More than happy to pay for it to be repaired out of warranty, just dont know of anyone here who would do it.
Thanks for all the tips/advice btw.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,811 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok does anyone know of a tech support here in the uk who could repair the card? Ive spoken to Sapphire and theyve said that as its a hardware I should approach Overclockers (who according to their records are the original supplier), but they have refused to take it on as theres no proof of purchase.
More than happy to pay for it to be repaired out of warranty, just dont know of anyone here who would do it.
Thanks for all the tips/advice
@Andy Shiekh
@Naki
@delshay

Ya'll know anyone who specializes in pcb repair.

I can only think of Eli Tech or Zettabit.lab on youtube and their email addresses would have to be searched on the web.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,117 (5.22/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,275 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I can only think of people who use the SPI flashers to force a BIOS install, or that one TPU'er who restores antique hardware... found him! @Robert B might have some advice
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,811 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,117 (5.22/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Perhaps a little off topic, but how can a repair shop make a living these days?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,811 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Perhaps a little off topic, but how can a repair shop make a living these days?
By doing things OEMs refuse to do sometimes for some cash, fledge out their business model.

I eventually want to do a laptoo/pc repair with small engine repair.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,537 (0.95/day)
@Andy Shiekh
@Naki
@delshay

Ya'll know anyone who specializes in pcb repair.

I can only think of Eli Tech or Zettabit.lab on youtube and their email addresses would have to be searched on the web.

I only do hardware modding, I do not repair for the public, sorry.

EDIT: @OP When dealing with a suspected fault always use "driver only" install from the options.

EDIT2: @OP You have somekind of display output, is your motherboard BIOS up-to-date.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
853 (0.22/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Sorry, guys -- being located in Bulgaria, Eastern Europe I am not able to recommend any UK or US-based good PC/laptop repair shops. :(
I am sorry I cannot be of much help here.. :oops:
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
649 (0.34/day)
I'm from Romania so I can't help out.

If you can't update the BIOS by using another graphic card (with both of the cards installed), you should find someone in UK that at least could desolder the BIOS chip and write a new BIOS, solder it back (or mount a socket), then test out the card. It is not rocket science. Anyway, to desolder the BIOS chip from such a card, some tools are required. You might do it with a regular soldering iron but it is kind of risky. A BIOS programmer like the MiniPRO/XGecu TL866(A)/II is pretty cheap.

Maybe it has a HW fault and not just a BIOS issue.

Good luck!
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,537 (0.95/day)
In most cases I use external hardware when rewriting firmware. If OP has problems writing to BIOS then I recommend CH341A programmer "with clip". ..Armed with this tool you can flash your hardware as many times as you want with no fear of bricking it..

EDIT: @OP Warranty is tied to the card, not the owner of the card. ...Are you sure it's out of warranty?
 
Last edited:
Top