• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX7900XT stealth update and adrenalin left on old version

Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
21,381 (6.00/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) ASRock RX7900XT Phantom Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon AVR137 + 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse XTRFY M42
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II
Software W10 x64
What the fuck, AMD? I get back to my PC after leaving it on this morning, and the display won't wake from sleep. No signal. I press the ON button on the PC thinking perhaps my mouse and key press didnt wake from sleep. No signal.

Apparently AMD decided to update my GPU because the PC was idle. Strike one.

Apparently in doing so, fails to update Adrenalin so even after a restart of the PC I need to manually update the driver/adrenalin again. Strike two.

And as a result of the initial update, apparently missing Adrenalin, PC graphics settings are thrown back to 'as if running on software mode'. 200% scaling at 3440x1440. Low refresh rate while it says 1000hz in Windows display settings. Strike three.

Reinstalling the whole affair again and all is well again. Is this the norm with AMD's updates? Its worse behaviour than Windows update. Holy shit.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
8,233 (3.20/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD 7900X3D
Motherboard Asus X670E E Strix
Cooling In Win SR36
Memory GSKILL DDR5 32GB 5200 30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 7900XT (Watercooled)
Storage Corsair MP 700, Seagate 530 2Tb, Adata SX8200 2TBx2, Kingston 2 TBx2, Micron 8 TB, WD AN 1500
Display(s) GIGABYTE FV43U
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Deepcool 1000M
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 11 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 46183 Time Spy: 25121
What the fuck, AMD? I get back to my PC after leaving it on this morning, and the display won't wake from sleep. No signal. I press the ON button on the PC thinking perhaps my mouse and key press didnt wake from sleep. No signal.

Apparently AMD decided to update my GPU because the PC was idle. Strike one.

Apparently in doing so, fails to update Adrenalin so even after a restart of the PC I need to manually update the driver/adrenalin again. Strike two.

And as a result of the initial update, apparently missing Adrenalin, PC graphics settings are thrown back to 'as if running on software mode'. 200% scaling at 3440x1440. Low refresh rate while it says 1000hz in Windows display settings. Strike three.

Reinstalling the whole affair again and all is well again. Is this the norm with AMD's updates? Its worse behaviour than Windows update. Holy shit.
Not sure what happened here. Do you have updates to download and install automatically? Usually for me Adreniline will give me the option to download the new driver. I do also know that there has been a huge update from MS Win 11. I cannot say I have seen this behaviour myself.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
21,381 (6.00/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) ASRock RX7900XT Phantom Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon AVR137 + 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse XTRFY M42
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II
Software W10 x64
Not sure what happened here. Do you have updates to download and install automatically? Usually for me Adreniline will give me the option to download the new driver. I do also know that there has been a huge update from MS Win 11. I cannot say I have seen this behaviour myself.
Im still on 10. But yeah, gonna check those auto settings.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,748 (2.23/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
check the windows update history.
i had this problem for months where it force installed random trash.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
420 (0.35/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Homebase
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570S UD
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 RGB
Memory 2*16 Kingston Fury DDR4-3600 double ranked
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 16 GB
Storage 1*512 WD Red SN700, 1*2TB Curcial P5, 1*2TB Sandisk Plus (TLC), 1*14TB Toshiba MG
Display(s) Philips E-line 275E1S
Case Fractal Design Torrent Compact
Power Supply Corsair RM850 2019
Mouse Sharkoon Sharkforce Pro
Keyboard Fujitsu KB955
Sounds more like that Windows Update pushed a gpu driver update which is incompatible with your adrenalin suite. You can disable both auto-updates by the way.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
21,381 (6.00/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) ASRock RX7900XT Phantom Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon AVR137 + 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse XTRFY M42
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II
Software W10 x64
Sounds more like that Windows Update pushed a gpu driver update which is incompatible with your adrenalin suite. You can disable both auto-updates by the way.
Shit yeah ofc thats why 200% scaling happened probably
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
420 (0.35/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Homebase
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570S UD
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 RGB
Memory 2*16 Kingston Fury DDR4-3600 double ranked
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 16 GB
Storage 1*512 WD Red SN700, 1*2TB Curcial P5, 1*2TB Sandisk Plus (TLC), 1*14TB Toshiba MG
Display(s) Philips E-line 275E1S
Case Fractal Design Torrent Compact
Power Supply Corsair RM850 2019
Mouse Sharkoon Sharkforce Pro
Keyboard Fujitsu KB955
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
2,188 (1.16/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757

No Radeon Settings, no auto-updating. :)
(assuming it wasn't Windows. Even it it was, circumventing use of Radeon Settings may remove the inconvenience when/if it happens again)

[I had 0 interest in the concept until @Space Lynx mention a desire for 'minimal install'.
Since that post, I've been running "Driver Only" 1st Party, and MoreClockTool for wattman/freesync/etc.]
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,575 (4.69/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D -30 uv
Motherboard AsRock Steel Legend B650
Cooling MSI C360 AIO
Memory T-Create 32gb 6000 CL 30
Video Card(s) MERC310 7900 XT -60 uv +150 core
Display(s) NZXT Canvas IPS 1440p 165hz 27"
Case NZXT H710 (Red/Black)
Audio Device(s) HD58X, custom tube amp, Modi 3
Power Supply Corsair RM850W
What the fuck, AMD? I get back to my PC after leaving it on this morning, and the display won't wake from sleep. No signal. I press the ON button on the PC thinking perhaps my mouse and key press didnt wake from sleep. No signal.

Apparently AMD decided to update my GPU because the PC was idle. Strike one.

Apparently in doing so, fails to update Adrenalin so even after a restart of the PC I need to manually update the driver/adrenalin again. Strike two.

And as a result of the initial update, apparently missing Adrenalin, PC graphics settings are thrown back to 'as if running on software mode'. 200% scaling at 3440x1440. Low refresh rate while it says 1000hz in Windows display settings. Strike three.

Reinstalling the whole affair again and all is well again. Is this the norm with AMD's updates? Its worse behaviour than Windows update. Holy shit.

yeah i always turn off automatic updates every single time


No Radeon Settings, no auto-updating. :)
(assuming it wasn't Windows. Even it it was, circumventing use of Radeon Settings may remove the inconvenience when/if it happens again)

[I had 0 interest in the concept until @Space Lynx mention a desire for 'minimal install'.
Since that post, I've been running "Driver Only" 1st Party, and MoreClockTool for wattman/freesync/etc.]

I am doing minimal install, wasn't brave enough for driver only just yet, but I may give it a go on my next clean install,

is freesync working ok for you with moreclocktool? that's my only concern really.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
2,188 (1.16/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
is freesync working ok for you with moreclocktool? that's my only concern really.
Yup.
Can tell, as I get the un-fixable 'perceived brightness flicker' on low/fluctuating framerates (I'm on an EARLY VA-based 144hz FreeSync Panel. IIRC, FreeSync Pro somewhat addresses the flickering)
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,575 (4.69/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D -30 uv
Motherboard AsRock Steel Legend B650
Cooling MSI C360 AIO
Memory T-Create 32gb 6000 CL 30
Video Card(s) MERC310 7900 XT -60 uv +150 core
Display(s) NZXT Canvas IPS 1440p 165hz 27"
Case NZXT H710 (Red/Black)
Audio Device(s) HD58X, custom tube amp, Modi 3
Power Supply Corsair RM850W
Yup.
Can tell, as I get the un-fixable 'perceived brightness flicker' on low/fluctuating framerates (I'm on an EARLY VA-based 144hz FreeSync Panel. IIRC, FreeSync Pro somewhat addresses the flickering)

I will give it a go. This is a clean install from last week, but I accidently installed the horrible epic games store looking senuas saga, turns out it wasn't one of the free games there, cause i don't have it... BUT i meant to install the heroic launcher for windows and forgot, and lets face it, uninstalling a crapola like this will never fully get rid of it... so i may doa clean install again (it only takes me like 30 mins cause i don't have much lol) driver only and moreclocktools. great idea honestly.

and heroic launcher this time... @Super Firm Tofu thanks for mentioning this that one day... I always thought it was Linux only until your comment :D
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
2,188 (1.16/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
I will give it a go. This is a clean install from last week, but I accidently installed the horrible epic games store looking senuas saga, turns out it wasn't one of the free games there, cause i don't have it... BUT i meant to install the heroic launcher for windows and forgot, and lets face it, uninstalling a crapola like this will never fully get rid of it... so i may doa clean install again (it only takes me like 30 mins cause i don't have much lol) driver only and moreclocktools. great idea honestly.

and heroic launcher this time... @Super Firm Tofu thanks for mentioning this that one day... I always thought it was Linux only until your comment :D
Agreed. I'm looking @ doing ANOTHER clean install, myself.

I got 'in the mood' and DL'd 99.9% of my Steam Library, completely forgetting several titles I 'license' are DRM-rootkit filled nightmares. :oops:
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,383 (2.51/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
AMD did nothing. In fact it's a known issue and a thorn in AMD's side that Windows update keeps overriding drivers and messing things up. I've had to pause and kill Windows Update to keep this from happening.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,575 (4.69/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D -30 uv
Motherboard AsRock Steel Legend B650
Cooling MSI C360 AIO
Memory T-Create 32gb 6000 CL 30
Video Card(s) MERC310 7900 XT -60 uv +150 core
Display(s) NZXT Canvas IPS 1440p 165hz 27"
Case NZXT H710 (Red/Black)
Audio Device(s) HD58X, custom tube amp, Modi 3
Power Supply Corsair RM850W
AMD did nothing. In fact it's a known issue and a thorn in AMD's side that Windows update keeps overriding drivers and messing things up. I've had to pause and kill Windows Update to keep this from happening.

I been trying to figure out why this has never happened to me. I just remembered I use shutupten on win 11 and 10 always.

and i do recommended plus optional (but not all) when shut upten first opens, and this automatically turns gpu driver updates through windows off.

so yeah, this is why i have never had any issues lol
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
9,143 (3.36/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900 - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling 2x 360mm NexXxoS ST30 X-Flow, 1x 360mm NexXxoS ST30, 1x 240mm NexXxoS ST30
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT - Alphacool Eisblock Aurora
Storage 1x Kingston KC3000 1TB 1x Kingston A2000 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 32GN650-B + 4K Samsung TV
Case Phanteks NV7
Power Supply GPS-750C
Windows forcing GPU driver updates is nuts, is this really a thing ? Never had that happen before.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,383 (2.51/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Windows forcing GPU driver updates is nuts, is this really a thing ? Never had that happen before.
I know a dude who has had this issue for over a year on his RX480. Microsoft hasn't done a damn thing about it and AMD is sitting here pulling their hair out.

It truly is dumb.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
2,188 (1.16/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
I been trying to figure out why this has never happened to me. I just remembered I use shutupten on win 11 and 10 always.

and i do recommended plus optional (but not all) when shut upten first opens, and this automatically turns gpu driver updates through windows off.

so yeah, this is why i have never had any issues lol
I know a dude who has had this issue for over a year on his RX480. Microsoft hasn't done a damn thing about it and AMD is sitting here pulling their hair out.

It truly is dumb.

10 LTSC IoT Enterprise, here (again/now). Had those kinds of issues on Windows 11 and 10 Pro.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,575 (4.69/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D -30 uv
Motherboard AsRock Steel Legend B650
Cooling MSI C360 AIO
Memory T-Create 32gb 6000 CL 30
Video Card(s) MERC310 7900 XT -60 uv +150 core
Display(s) NZXT Canvas IPS 1440p 165hz 27"
Case NZXT H710 (Red/Black)
Audio Device(s) HD58X, custom tube amp, Modi 3
Power Supply Corsair RM850W
I know a dude who has had this issue for over a year on his RX480. Microsoft hasn't done a damn thing about it and AMD is sitting here pulling their hair out.

It truly is dumb.

its really not hard to install shutupten, literally two clicks, heh
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,383 (2.51/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
its really not hard to install shutupten, literally two clicks, heh
It's the fact that users need to use a workaround in the first place. We shouldn't need to fix someone else's issue.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,575 (4.69/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D -30 uv
Motherboard AsRock Steel Legend B650
Cooling MSI C360 AIO
Memory T-Create 32gb 6000 CL 30
Video Card(s) MERC310 7900 XT -60 uv +150 core
Display(s) NZXT Canvas IPS 1440p 165hz 27"
Case NZXT H710 (Red/Black)
Audio Device(s) HD58X, custom tube amp, Modi 3
Power Supply Corsair RM850W
It's the fact that users need to use a workaround in the first place. We shouldn't need to fix someone else's issue.

I agree, I use shutupten primarily for the privacy things it turns off, so I have used it forever. I block shutupten exe in firewall, and its only a one time thing, so two clicks on a clean install and im done forever. i have done it for many years now, its been hella nice, but it makes sense now why i never have issues other people do, even outside of gpu auto install stuff
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,750 (1.16/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / ST10000VN0008 / SA400S37960G / SNV21000G / NM620 2TB
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Windows forcing GPU driver updates is nuts, is this really a thing ? Never had that happen before.
Disabling driver updates through group policy is one of the first things I do after a Windows reinstall.

Windows Update always fucks up the Radeon drivers.

As for the Adrenaline software you download from AMD's site, you have a choice of allowing automatic driver update download, but AMD never installs those automatically. It will just change the Radeon tray icon to notify you there's an update (I've never even seen a pop up, that's just how out of the way AMD is with regards to driver updates)
1715972515574.png
 
Top