• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Same RAM, different sizes.

Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
450 (0.09/day)
Location
San Antonio TX
System Name Don't Tell My Wife
Processor i7-8700K @4.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z390 Gaming Edge AC
Cooling EK AIO 240mm + (2) Noctua NF-S12B
Memory 16GB Trident Z @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 3070
Storage (2) 1TB M.2 SSD's
Display(s) Phillips 144Hz 1Ms + Gigabyte 34" ultrawide
Case Lian Li Lancool 2 Mesh
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair 750w Modular
Software Win 10 Pro
Question:

If I have a 32GB RAM kit (2x16) and a 16GB RAM kit (2x8) I should be able to put them on the same motherboard, correct?

As long as they are the same speed, DDR4-3600 (which they are) and they go in the right slots?

Example, the 16GB sticks go in slots 1 & 3 - the 8GB sticks go in slots 2 & 4

Is that correct, or is old age finally taking a toll?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,614 (0.86/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Hero VIII Wi-Fi
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 2 420mm
Memory 2x8GB Zadak Spark DDR4 4133MHz 19-21-21-42 Samsung B-die Running 3600MHz 14-14-14-28 1T
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800 Fighter
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
Display(s) LG 43" 4k UHD HDR
Case Fractal Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TX 850w
Mouse Roccat Kova AIMO
Keyboard PNY Hyper X Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 11 x64
Are the exactly the same kit, just different sizes, or no? If not, you'll either need to let them run the JEDEC specs (default, non xmp), or find out what main timings they can run together manually.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
1,046 (0.95/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard MSI MPG x570S EDGE MAX WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS XAF-F1451
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 15.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, Rival 3 + Rival 3 wireless, Razer Orochi V2
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless + Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
They need to have the same timings for them to work afaik, so you may need to manually set timings.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
9,222 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM AIO
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6000 MHZ 36-36-36-95
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UV @1810mhz 800mv
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) LG CX 48" 120hz, Samsung 28" 4k 144hz
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
It's an intel system so you can usually put whatever in there. Set the xmp to the 32GB kit and test for stability. Should be totally fine though.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
3,242 (2.38/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 3
Processor Intel Core i7-11700 @ ASUS Optimized (200 W)
Motherboard ASUS TUF B560M-Plus (WiFi)
Cooling be quiet! Silent Loop 2 280 mm
Memory 2x 16 GB Kinston Fury Beast RGB 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Radeon RX 6500 XT @ 2975/2400
Storage 1 TB Crucial P5, 1 TB Crucial P5 Plus
Display(s) Samsung C24F390, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Corsair Crystal 280X black
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160, AKG Y50
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Cherry MW 8 Advanced
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multi core: 14,000, single core: 1,500. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2,935.
As long as they are the same kit with the same speed and the same timings (primary and secondary), it should be fine.

I used to run an AMD FX system with two 2 GB and two 4 GB Kingston HyperX modules. Modern systems are even less hectic with RAM configuration.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
1,008 (0.20/day)
Location
USA
It's an intel system so you can usually put whatever in there. Set the xmp to the 32GB kit and test for stability. Should be totally fine though.
idk if thats the best advice. The OP has a i7-8770K. You can put them all in, but don't expect XMP to work.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
9,222 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM AIO
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6000 MHZ 36-36-36-95
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UV @1810mhz 800mv
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) LG CX 48" 120hz, Samsung 28" 4k 144hz
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
idk if thats the best advice. The OP has a i7-8770K. You can put them all in, but don't expect XMP to work.
It's probably an 8700K, since I'm not sure what an 8770K is. - which is the same system I had ~4 years or so ago, those IMCs are pretty forgiving, and if you have 2 kits rated the same, 99% of the time the higher density 32GB is the weaker kit, and you can force that XMP on the 16GB kit with no issues.

I did say test stability though, just to be sure. But I would be shocked if he had any issues.

Not to mention it's an MSI board - which those, z370/390 were great with ram.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,402 (1.87/day)
Location
Stuck in a PC. halp.
System Name Monke | Lenovo Thinkpad
Processor Ryzen 5600X PBO @4.6GHz | Ryzen 5500U
Motherboard ASRock B550 Extreme4 | ?
Cooling 240mm Rad | Not needed
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 Corsair RGB | 16 GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) RX 580 8GB | Vega 8
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 + 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | Seagate 500gb | Samsung Evo 500
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 14" 1080p 98%sRGB IPS
Case Ant Esports Tempered case | Thinkpad
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333 | ATH
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | not needed
Mouse Logitech G400 | nipple
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard | stock kb is awesome
Software Windows 10 Professional x2
Benchmark Scores There are no marks on my bench
should be fine. i have successfully run slightly different timing as well as different sizes on my old system.

you may ned to play with the settings to find out which is the most stable. usually the slower timings of the two works well.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
259 (2.64/day)
On MSI motherboards you can try using Memory try it (or what is called, different vendors different name) with DDR4-3600 and hope that the motherboard will get the right timings.
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
1,008 (0.20/day)
Location
USA
It's probably an 8700K, since I'm not sure what an 8770K is. - which is the same system I had ~4 years or so ago, those IMCs are pretty forgiving, and if you have 2 kits rated the same, 99% of the time the higher density 32GB is the weaker kit, and you can force that XMP on the 16GB kit with no issues.

I did say test stability though, just to be sure. But I would be shocked if he had any issues.

Not to mention it's an MSI board - which those, z370/390 were great with ram.
Eh I disagree, 8th gen IMC isn't that strong. People struggled to get DDR4-4000 2x8GB stable lol. Only one way to find out. The OP already has the ram so what you gonna do...
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
450 (0.09/day)
Location
San Antonio TX
System Name Don't Tell My Wife
Processor i7-8700K @4.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z390 Gaming Edge AC
Cooling EK AIO 240mm + (2) Noctua NF-S12B
Memory 16GB Trident Z @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 3070
Storage (2) 1TB M.2 SSD's
Display(s) Phillips 144Hz 1Ms + Gigabyte 34" ultrawide
Case Lian Li Lancool 2 Mesh
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair 750w Modular
Software Win 10 Pro
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
4,933 (1.07/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 5800X @4750MHz 1.298V
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal + CM MasterGel Pro TP
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws V Black 4000 MTs (2x8GB) @3866MT's
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 2270Cclk / 2010Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) AOC 24G2 IPS 144Hz FreeSync Premium 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 front panel upgrade
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G815
Software Windows 11 X64 PRO (build 22H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
That's easy just run the faster timed kit at the slower timing of the slower kit so that would be 18-22-22-42 test the shit out of it and if all is running ok then you're good to go
 

ir_cow

Staff member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
1,008 (0.20/day)
Location
USA
The first kit is Samsung B-Die. Second is either Hynix or Samsung C-die is my best guess. Adding more ram from different kits isn't even the biggest issue. You are going into unknown territory. Single-rank plus dual rank kit, plus a older Intel generation. I don't think there will be issue with it booting at say 2133. Above that, its pure guesswork. Do what @Athlonite said and just stress test it to until your are satisfied. If it doesn't work, send it back. Should have 30-day return right?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
969 (0.72/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 9900k@4.8ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asrock Fatality K6 Z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE
Storage 980 PRO 1TB (OS, others not listed)
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 Gold
Definitely test the ram properly, my 8600k couldnt do over 3000mhz with 4 dimms populated.
 

dgianstefani

TPU Proofreader
Staff member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
1,585 (0.91/day)
Location
Swansea, Wales
System Name Silent
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D @ 4.55ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix X570i Gaming
Cooling Optimus AMD Raw Copper/Plexi, EK Copper 240/40mm, Utilitube D5, 4x NF-A12x25, Mayhems XTR Nano White
Memory 32gb Dominator Platinum RGB 3933mhz 14-16-16-30 w/2x NF-A4x10 fan
Video Card(s) Rtx 3080ti Founders (Kryonaut Extreme, 15W/mk pads, Corsair XG7 Waterblock)
Storage Optane 800p 118gb, Samsung 980 Pro 1tb
Display(s) 32" 240hz 1440p Samsung G7 , 32" 1440p 60hz
Case Sliger SM570 Custom 13-Litre
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel, Vmoda Crossfade M100 Master, Razer Nommo Pro
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper Pro V2 Mercury White
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite w/Mercury PBT keycaps
Bad idea to mix. If both were B die would be acceptable.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Question:

If I have a 32GB RAM kit (2x16) and a 16GB RAM kit (2x8) I should be able to put them on the same motherboard, correct?

As long as they are the same speed, DDR4-3600 (which they are) and they go in the right slots?

Example, the 16GB sticks go in slots 1 & 3 - the 8GB sticks go in slots 2 & 4

Is that correct, or is old age finally taking a toll?
This should work fine, others have covered most of it

1. Voltages must match
2. Timings must match, but you can choose the slowest of any that differ or try overclocking.
2a. XMP and automatic settings may not work, or may read only from one kit of ram.
3. The number of ranks may differ - so you may have two dual rank and two single rank sticks for 6 ranks total. This wont affect much, but more ranks CAN increase performance while it WILL decrease overclocking.


In the end it's more or less like standard running four sticks of RAM - you may need to raise the overall RAM voltage, over-volt your memory controller, or manually tweak timings.

Can it work? Absolutely.
Is it guaranteed to work at high speeds? No.
 
Top