• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung 840 Pro issue.

Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
233 (0.10/day)
Likes
68
#1
Anyone know exactly why I may not be hitting the speeds advertised? I'm not all that horribly far off but everyone else is posting they are getting advertised speeds, already ran all the normal windows tweaks and double checked my BIOs settings for AHCI and such.

Right now getting about 375-400mb/s on sequential reads but the writes are about advertised which is 375mb/s writes or so. My 4k scores are only a few megabytes shy of advertised, thinking if I can figure out what maybe slowing it down I can get all my scores up to more like advertised.

Would greatly appreciate some input. As right now my system certainly feels a bit snappier from my Crucial drive, but overall at least synthetically my sequential aren't all that much higher than my old drive.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Whats your motherboard? are you using a SATA 6Gb/s cord and plug?
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Well if you are getting over 375+mb than it's for sure in a SATA 6Gb/s slot, but I've never have tried with a SATA 3Gb/s cord you may want to look and check the cord. There are some brands of SATA that claim to be SATA6, but can't actually maintain that speed do to poor cord quality.

So if I had to say I personally think your 840 is fine it maybe a driver thing with the MB.

When you installed your SSD did you make sure to switch to AHCI? and not IDE
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
233 (0.10/day)
Likes
68
#5
I may just start swapping cables between my couple of drives to see if anything cool happens to the scores. As for AHCI, mobo has been set to it the whole time, setup windows exactly the same as I used to with my Crucial M4 as well. I'm beginning to think the problem lies elsewhere.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.59/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#6
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
233 (0.10/day)
Likes
68
#7
I originally didn't wish to double post, but Kei, I swapped my sata cable from my mechanical drive right above to my 840 Pro and magically got proper speeds. So I guess I was likely using an entirely ancient cable. (Don't doubt it I have boxes full of ancient cables so for all I know that was a Sata from a decade ago.)