• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire RX 590 Nitro+ Lite Retail

egon1

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2020
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
hey guys i bought the 11289-02 NITRO RX 590 8G G5 ( Lite Retail ) 1545 / 2000 version !
is it possible to update bios to 11289-05 NITRO RX 590 8G G5 1560 / 2100 version ?

im new on bios flashing and i download random sapphire bios with 1560 / 2100 and brick 1 of my switch bios and after few hours i recoverd from my second bios and flash it back with backup.
now i wanna try again but rly dno what bios i need that i get the 1560 / 2100 clock version from the 11289-05 nitro rx 590.

so if its possible please help me out cuz im rly frustrated that i bought the 11289-02 ones..

regards egon

edit :



If u need more info's about my card or bios just lmk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
522 (0.32/day)
Location
In the middle of nowhere
System Name Scrapped Parts, Unite !
Processor i5-2500 @ 3.3 Ghz//Q9300 @ 2.5 Ghz
Motherboard GA-H67MA-USB3-B3// P35 Neo2-FR
Cooling Stock
Memory 10 GB DDR3 1333 // 3 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GeForce GTX1060 Vulcan U 6G // ASUS ENGT 220 1GD3
Storage Hitachi 500 GB, Sony 1TB, KINGSTON 400A 120GB // Samsung 160 GB
Display(s) HP 2009f
Case Xigmatek Asgard Pro // Cooler Master Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500 W
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 30fps, Tetris 40 fps, with overheated CPU and GPU
the clock difference its not massive,
you can simply overclock it to desired clocks rather than risking brick your card
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
hey guys i bought the 11289-02 NITRO RX 590 8G G5 ( Lite Retail ) 1545 / 2000 version !
is it possible to update bios to 11289-05 NITRO RX 590 8G G5 1560 / 2100 version ?

im new on bios flashing and i download random sapphire bios with 1560 / 2100 and brick 1 of my switch bios and after few hours i recoverd from my second bios and flash it back with backup.
now i wanna try again but rly dno what bios i need that i get the 1560 / 2100 clock version from the 11289-05 nitro rx 590.

so if its possible please help me out cuz im rly frustrated that i bought the 11289-02 ones..

regards egon

edit :

I will look and see
 

egon1

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2020
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Problem is the one who I have is not rly oc able and this I was looking for another bios
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Open gpu-z again, click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox, attempt to upload the bios file to the VGA Bios Collection through the program. You may receive a prompt stating the file is already in the database with a link to it, copy and paste that link here please. If you dont get the prompt upload the file and get the link to it, i need to compare the file guts.

Problem is the one who I have is not rly oc able and this I was looking for another bios
@egon1
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

egon1

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2020
Messages
8 (0.19/day)
Yes this was the first step when i realised that's not 1560 / 2100 after check Internet.
But on both switch are 1545 / 2000 with the exactly same bios.
I read on German forum that this card have dual bios but only silent bios on both cuz it is the 11289-02

So it is not possible to get the 11289-05 bios ? Or the cards to different?

still need help :(
 
Last edited:

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
Hi,
I'm facing the same issue.
I bought the 11289-02 with only 2000MHz memory clock.
While checking the different BIOS versions from Sapphire for the RX590 Nitro, I can only see one difference between all of them.
- The memory supplier -
So as normally this one is on the card:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/207300/sapphire-rx590-8192-181018-1
I thought about flashing this one:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205358/sapphire-rx590-8192-181018

It is the same memory etc, but with the 2100MHz memory clock.

Now my question:
Can something go wrong with the DUAL Bios?
Or can I switch back with the second BIOS and reflash the other one?

By the way:
I also can't really higher the memory clock, the card gets unstable pretty soon.
So my thinking is, that the VRAM voltage is somehow different between these two BIOS, does that make any sense?

Thanks for helping and regards
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,189 (0.98/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
Hmm wondering if I should check my Sapphire Radeon RX590 Nitro+ Special Edition that I got in my collection :rolleyes:
 

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
I think I'll try later to flash the BIOS file above.

I found a report on reddit from a guy, who did the same.
https://www.reddit.com/r/overclocking/comments/etv2z9
Can someone confirm, if there are more informations inside of the BIOS, then just what I can see with tools like Polaris BIOS Editor?

I'm asking because the only difference I can find is, that the memory frequency is changed and the core frequency.
Timings are the same.

The card itself is not stable in silent mode with the frequencies above.

That's why I was hoping, that way more information are in the BIOS which can explain the difference.
BR
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,119 (6.70/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
whats this lite version, i never seen any of it before, it is new model? :eek:
 

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
You can see it on the Sapphire page - scroll down to specifications:
https://www.sapphiretech.com/en/consumer/nitro-rx-590-8g-g5-oc_c
The different SKUs are the two different versions.

I only found the difference after a lot of searching etc.
Honestly, I find this unclear behavior of Sapphire crappy...

Can someone confirm, if there are more informations inside of the BIOS, then just what I can see with tools like Polaris BIOS Editor?

I'm asking because the only difference I can find is, that the memory frequency is changed and the core frequency.
Timings are the same.

The card itself is not stable in silent mode with the frequencies above.

That's why I was hoping, that way more information are in the BIOS which can explain the difference.
Someone can give a statement for this one?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes this was the first step when i realised that's not 1560 / 2100 after check Internet.
But on both switch are 1545 / 2000 with the exactly same bios.
I read on German forum that this card have dual bios but only silent bios on both cuz it is the 11289-02

So it is not possible to get the 11289-05 bios ? Or the cards to different?

still need help :(
Yes you should be able to.

Verified bios

Hi,
I'm facing the same issue.
I bought the 11289-02 with only 2000MHz memory clock.
While checking the different BIOS versions from Sapphire for the RX590 Nitro, I can only see one difference between all of them.
- The memory supplier -
So as normally this one is on the card:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/207300/sapphire-rx590-8192-181018-1
I thought about flashing this one:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205358/sapphire-rx590-8192-181018

It is the same memory etc, but with the 2100MHz memory clock.

Now my question:
Can something go wrong with the DUAL Bios?
Or can I switch back with the second BIOS and reflash the other one?

By the way:
I also can't really higher the memory clock, the card gets unstable pretty soon.
So my thinking is, that the VRAM voltage is somehow different between these two BIOS, does that make any sense?

Thanks for helping and regards
Gpu-z screenshot needed please
 

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
I'll provide the screenshot as soon as I'm home.

Most probably in 1.5h.

Thanks in advance
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get both bios switch positions please, label them left and right please

Get the links to them through gpu-z too
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Keep you bios switch in the right position and flash this bios using this tool.



@Der_Elch whats the deal?
 
Last edited:

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
Thank you very much.
Flashing was successful.

Everything is working now and looks stable.

BUT:
As soon as I try to undervolt the GPU a little (with also decreasing the max MHz), or to increase the VRAM clock to 2150MHz, the system gets unstable pretty soon.

So I'm asking myself:
Is Sapphire selecting the cards for max. performance? Like the good ones get the silent and the OC BIOS and the bad ones only the silent BIOS?
Or is it just random?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes they cherry pick them. Just leave at default clocks or bump them and you should be ok
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,657 (1.47/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Problem is the one who I have is not rly oc able and this I was looking for another bios
Do you mean you can't oc it because it isn't stable or ....?

If it is not stable with an oc then it won't likely be stable after the bios flash either.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do you mean you can't oc it because it isn't stable or ....?

If it is not stable with an oc then it won't likely be stable after the bios flash either.
He cant undervolt and would need to bump the vram volts.
 

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,499 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi once again,

A friend of mine also has a RX590 from Sapphire, and also the not OC version.



I uploaded the BIOS here, it is a new one:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/217659/217659

Is it also possible to flash another BIOS here?
I found this one, also with Samsung GDDR5 but with a different Samsung part number (only slightly different).
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208250/sapphire-rx590-8192-181220

Best regards and thanks
Yes it is but I wouldn't bother flashing an older bios to replace a newer bios. 1560 is easily obtainable via sapphire trixx or msi afterburner. Otherwise learn how to use polaris bios editor
 

Der_Elch

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
11 (0.48/day)
1560 is easily obtainable via sapphire trixx or msi afterburner. Otherwise learn how to use polaris bios editor
It is more about the memory overclocking.
With mine, I could only achieve the 2100 MHz memory with the other BIOS, not with the Radeon overclocker.

So my thought is, that the actual memory voltage or sth. else is also changed with the other BIOS.

BTW:
My friend said that we can exchange cards, if I want to.
Is the newer from him with the Samsung memory any better?
General overclocking capability, durabilty etc?

Thanks
 
Top