• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SATA 3 ports

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#1
I just installed my new board. ASRock P67 Pro 3 and I noticed when I plug a drive into the SATA 3 ports (it has two) it doesn't recognize the drive. But the SATA 2 ports work fine. Are they not backwards compatible? Do they need a driver? Took a quick look at the manual but its not too detailed.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
They most certainly are backwards compatible, i have my 2 raided 250's plugged into my boards sata 3 ports.

Do the drives show up in the bios when plugged into the sata 3 ports?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#3
They are backwards compatible, and it doesn't seem there's a 3rd party controller involve. Try updating/installing the chipset drivers.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
I didn't have to install drivers for them to show up in the bios though, so they should at least be recognized by the bios.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#5
Worked right out of the box for me as well, but you never know with PCs.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Ok so I plunged my DVD drive into the SATA 3 that has a different SATA cable and it works fine. Must be the aftermarket SATA cable I bought a while back. I still need to do some cable management anyway. I bought some SATA cables that were shorter awhile back from Newegg

OKGEAR 10" SATA 6 Gbps Cable, Straight to Right An...
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#7
Try using one of the ones that was supplied with the motherboard to test.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
Ya thats what ill do. Tomorrow, i need to cut some wholes in my case also. The board came with two SATA cables I haven't even open the package yet
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
Ok so its not the cable. Both SATA3 headers work with the DVD drive but not my 500Gb hard drive. But it works fine on the SATA II Headers
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
204 (0.07/day)
Likes
41
Processor 4790k
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory Silicon Power XPower 2400
Video Card(s) XFX 390X
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256Gb, 2 Intel 520 120Gb RAID0, 2-60gb OCZ Solid 3 RAID0, 2-500gb WD Black RAID0
Display(s) Acer KG240A
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 860W
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016
Software Win10 X64
#10
May need to find out what controller it uses. My board has to have the marvell drivers installed for mine to work right.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,511
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
May need to find out what controller it uses. My board has to have the marvell drivers installed for mine to work right.
Yeah I mean I use my Intels but I have Marvell SATA III ports as well(disabled on mine anyway) I just use the Intels.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#12
That board doesn't seem to have a 3rd party controller on it, so this would not be the case. When you say work, are you meaning bios or windows? Or both?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,511
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
That board doesn't seem to have a 3rd party controller on it, so this would not be the case. When you say work, are you meaning bios or windows? Or both?
Your right there. Having now looked up the board myself it is Intel only.

I am wondering if it may just be a simple BIOS setting like setting the ports to AHCI for example. I mean despite the fact there are no IDE ports the "default" is still IDE.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
AHCI only when I say work I mean in BIOS and 7. My drive is a SATA2 so not a big deal. I could pull a drive from another comp I have to test that. I have my DVD in the SATA3 and HD in the SATA 2 and the Device Manager it shows the Intel driver only.

Ok so I I hot swaped my 2Tb drive in the other SATA3 port and it worked fine

Its something to do with the drive (Samsung F3 500Gb) I remember now that I had trouble pulling a SATA cable off it that locks (forgot it was a locking type) on and slightly damaged the plug on the drive maybe that's the cause.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
#15
AHCI only when I say work I mean in BIOS and 7. My drive is a SATA2 so not a big deal. I could pull a drive from another comp I have to test that. I have my DVD in the SATA3 and HD in the SATA 2 and the Device Manager it shows the Intel driver only.

Ok so I I hot swaped my 2Tb drive in the other SATA3 port and it worked fine

Its something to do with the drive (Samsung F3 500Gb) I remember now that I had trouble pulling a SATA cable off it that locks (forgot it was a locking type) on and slightly damaged the plug on the drive maybe that's the cause.
It certainly seems the case, good thing your new mobo isn't damaged. You can live with the HDD on another port anyway :p