• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Scratching my itch....

Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#1
Ok, so I've been using my trusty macbook pro for a good while now.... playing too much WoW... and now that i've cancelled that I've been quite bored.

And the itch is back :eek:

So my trusty A64 3700+ sitting in the corner is getting revisited... I used to be running 2x 512mb Mushkin DDR, one was a stick of BH-6, and one was a TCC5. Needless to say, while good memory, they don't like eachothers timings, and 1gb sucks. So, I recently upgraded to 2x 1Gb OCZ Platinum.. and well, they don't clock well but 2x 1Gb is so much faster. ;)

http://picasaweb.google.com/sabilleg/ComputerStuff?feat=directlink

The hardware.

I was running 300x9 with memory @ 2:3 I think it was, but it was just a "stick it in and boot" kinda day when I upgraded em, so i didnt feel like screwing with it.

Now, my new overclock!

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=583910



More to come..... This memory is some weird generic stuff, and it doesn't seem to like high speeds :ohwell:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,283 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,385
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Push 3.1v through that memory and up the timings to 3-4-4-8 and I bet that memory will do 250MHz.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#3
Push 3.1v through that memory and up the timings to 3-4-4-8 and I bet that memory will do 250MHz.
ugh, I can't get this memory to boot anything past 240... Highest I've got so far is 236. I really don't want 250 at 3-4-4 if I can have 236 at 2.5-3-3 :banghead:

Can't quite get the 3100 mark either. I did look at the chips, they're some really weird brand.

Was like "Qimonda" or something. Anyone heard of these, or have any known overclocks from them? a reference would be handy. These ones are kinda icky.

I keep getting a boot cursor after post. :banghead:

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=583926

CPU Voltage doesn't seem to do a whole lot, nor does memory. Perhaps a tras of 7 instead of 11?

I'll try 3.1v. I want 3100mhz -_-

Not convergent in SQR... from superpi :|
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,283 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,385
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Qimonda is pretty well known, I think they make some of the GDDR5 for ATi.

Those old San Diego cores were a bitch to get past 3.0GHz, my Opteron 148 was a real bear to even get to 3.0GHz, and my 4400+ wouldn't even get there.

Have you tried lowering the multiplier to eliminate the processor as being the item holding you back.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#5
Qimonda is pretty well known, I think they make some of the GDDR5 for ATi.

Those old San Diego cores were a bitch to get past 3.0GHz, my Opteron 148 was a real bear to even get to 3.0GHz, and my 4400+ wouldn't even get there.

Have you tried lowering the multiplier to eliminate the processor as being the item holding you back.
Yeah, this memory is just.... icky. I've tried like 6x and scaling memory up, it POSTS from anything from like 200->300. Problem is when trying to boot I get past the POST, but get a boot cursor, and it just stalls.

236 I think is the highest I've obtained so far. Running 3v now.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#6
Hmm. 385x8 works.
428x7 does NOT. Memory pushed down to 1:2.

Memory doesnt like 5:6 @ 300 either. 3:4 works It seems. :|

Damn numbers! Why is there no 388 in the bios? LOL.

Hmm. 300 isn't stable. o__O

This is retarded. 3Ghz at 385x8 boots, but 3Ghz with any other HTT won't. Memory is actually running slower, and I didn't change any voltages or anything.
 
Last edited: