• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Second monitor not turning on at system boot since update

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,713 (0.53/day)
Likes
609
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#1
I have a 2 monitor setup.
This has worked fine for years.

However now windows pulled yet another update and now I have a problem.

The second monitor does not turn on when I start up the PC.
It is however still ermm "there", I can move/lose my mouse cursor on the second screen.

To fix it I have to go into the videocard control panel or just display settings in Windows and set it to anything other then "extend" and then just revert changes and the second screen will turn on.

However it is obviously rather annoying to have to do that every time I start up the pc or wake it from hibernation.

So any suggestions? anything I can delete or reset or reinstall?
I did try a complete clean reinstall of the videocard (AMD HD4000 series) drivers but that did not change anything.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
3,296 (0.79/day)
Likes
2,145
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#2
Swap the video cables and see if the problem swaps sides. If the problem swaps sides, you know the problem is on the computer side. If the same monitor does the same thing, the problem is in the monitor.

Do note if your first monitor is getting the signal to start up, Windows is sending the signal to the card. So this may not be a Windows problem at all, but rather a card or card driver issue.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,713 (0.53/day)
Likes
609
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
Swap the video cables and see if the problem swaps sides. If the problem swaps sides, you know the problem is on the computer side. If the same monitor does the same thing, the problem is in the monitor.

Do note if your first monitor is getting the signal to start up, Windows is sending the signal to the card. So this may not be a Windows problem at all, but rather a card or card driver issue.

While I will do that test but it would be quite the coincidence it worked fine for years and right after a windows update it would have suddenly failed.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
3,296 (0.79/day)
Likes
2,145
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#4
I agree, but "stuff" happens. Do you have Windows Update" set to update drivers too? If so, was the driver updated? Can you roll back to the old drivers?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,713 (0.53/day)
Likes
609
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#5
I agree, but "stuff" happens. Do you have Windows Update" set to update drivers too? If so, was the driver updated? Can you roll back to the old drivers?
well like I said in the original post, I did do a complete clean re-install of the drivers.
And the card is old now so Im using the same drivers I did before the Windows update and have been using for a long time (AMD no longer supports the videocard).
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
3,296 (0.79/day)
Likes
2,145
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#6
like I said in the original post, I did do a complete clean re-install of the drivers.
I saw that, but that typically means installing the most recent drivers out there. And sadly, it is not unheard of that the most recent drivers break things. This is why the availability to roll back to older versions is built into Windows via Device Manager.

But that is a moot point here since you indicate you are using the same drivers from long before.

That being the case, you may need to undo some Windows Updates if swapping cables proves nothing.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,800
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
Id look at the install dates and do a system restore, then I would go through updates with a fine tooth comb.