1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seriously Odd Static/Sound Issues

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kursah, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hey folks, this is a new one to me, and I've spent a little time with it, yet have found no set solution.

    I build my friend a PC out of some extra parts I had and some stuff he purchased, rig goes as follows:


    He called me last week stating that his sound was all of a sudden full of static and all the tones seemed really muted or muddy. He wasn't sure when it happened, he usually leaves his rig running all day...went and installed Red Alert 3, put on his headset and that's when he noticed the static. Keep in mind this is the onboard Realtek HD for now...

    So I go over, decide we'll start with drivers, uninstall and re-install...now it detects that the digital output and inputs are connected but nothing else is, no front panel even with connections at front panel, I removed the FP connector from the MB, upon inspection found no issues. When I connect something to the rear jack (green), the Blue and Pink jacks are illuminated and detected, but all I have is the headphone jack in the green spot.

    So I figure hell maybe the on-board sound decided to go south...so we grab a backup Soundblaster Live! PCI card I had installed in his wife's pc, known to work very well. We install it in his rig, I find some Live! 5.1 drivers for Vista x64, and same sound/static/muddy noise. Yet the card works just fine in her rig across the room...an older AMD Athlon 64 setup.

    So I decide to bring the PC home so I can mess around further, check connections, installed one of my sticks of G.Skill DDR2 1000 2GB sticks to ensure the crucials aren't somehow messing things up, and with the soundblaster, I now have extreme bass, even with the bass all the way down...if I mess with the adjusters too much I get all sorts of static, the mid-ranges and hi's are really muddy (especially vocals).

    So I decide to pull the SB Live! card out and go back to the on-board, back to the same issue of it just detecting the digital inputs and outputs that are not in use as "in use" and set to default. I can't set speakers to default because it says there aren't any connected...I did notice plugging in the headphone jack to other plugs, the blue, black, orange, etc all detect normally...but the green jack won't ever detect it just reverts to detecting blue and pink...just odd.

    I'm about ready to tear down and inspect for a bad ground or possibly a shorted connection/wire, etc...just wanted to see if anyone's been through this before.

    The thing that has me stumped the most is the SB card making similar sound output...but at least I could get sound with it, I get no sound with the onboard or some static if I mess around with it long enough, it'll play sound through the randomly detected front headphones (when still connected at the rear), but it's full of static and all plays through the LH side, nothing from the RH side. I won't be tearing down tonight, I'm pretty sick atm, so that's not helping my investigation atm, but if you have any suggestions please let me know! I've tried drivers, different plugs, ram, power sources (outlets), nothing else is wrong...the rig runs solid, stable and cool, which is even more frustrating, I'd rather have it crashing all the time than running perfect aside from sound outputs! I am using USB keyboard and a regular PS2 mouse atm...same setup I used when I built the rig w/o issues, but something could've changed. I may do a fresh Vista install and see if that sorts anything out...just hesitant to take a big step back if that's not the cure. Thanks for your time!

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Small update, I got sound output sort of back on the on-board, at least almost back to what it was before I messed with it.

    I had to choose the option:
    Disable Front Panel Jack detection

    Now all sound is routed thrigh the RH speaker when the headphones are plugged into the front panel (using my Plantronics .Audio 350's, known good). There is always static, it's at one set loudness no matter the volumes I set for master and or whatever sound/music is playing. The sound is no longer muddy...but all sound playing thru one side and the static has me flustered yet...but I'm gonna keep messing with things. I do know I routed the FP connection harness behind the MB when I built this rig, but I ran electrical tape over it and it already had a pretty thick protective liner on it...but hey anything's possible!

    EDIT: When I plug into the back panel it detects it, and even plays sound that is severly distorted with major static and only through the LH earphone! WTF IS GOING ON?!?!
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Grab those earphones and make sure they work perfectly fine on another computer that is known to work good

    You have already ruled out ram, plug, and outlet, I don't think the psu is doing that.

    If the earphones work on another computer, then just do a fresh vista install, then use the oldest drivers, and work your way up (there might be some compatability or something problem with the new drivers).

    This should work, also try lots of different headphones on that computer, because it just might not like those earphones

    Good luck

    GPU :toast:
     
    Kursah says thanks.
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yep those headphones work fine, my set, his set, his speakers, all on other sources reproduce audio per signal sent to the best of their drivers' abilities. :D

    Yeah we've tried his speakers, his headset, my headset and now my logitec 2.1 system, all make the same sound reproduction on his rig, yet sound fine on other sources. I'm thinking of a fresh Vista install...it just doesn't make any sense. Though he did have another issue a few weeks after initial use where he lost USB mouse, we had to go through via keyboard and uninstall all USB ports from device manager to get it working, aside from that it has been issue free. I even went thru and uninstalled all USB's again to see if that might help here...lol no dice.

    Thanks for the response! I'll keep this thread updated as much as I can, I've seen others have the same issues with different builds with no solutions, so hopefully one can be located in this thread!

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    maybe the NB needs a little more volts or a bit better cooling.
     
  6. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    At first I thought it said Satanic sound issues...
     
  7. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Could be, it's running at about 39-40C atm, that doesn't seem too warm. I used this board for about 9 months before I gave it to him, I never used onboard audio because I had my X-Fi in there...but it was pretty issue free when I enabled it for his build until now.

    And nothing else is unstable, the ram is stable, the cpu oc is stable, nothing else is failing as of yet...ran Memtest to ensure, ran orthos for a good couple hours, folded on the GPU and did a 10 minute run of FurMark, the rest of this rig is solid...except for the damn sound. And what still get's me is the odd sound from the Soundblaster Live! 5.1...though it could be due to modded drivers...I may have to try my X-Fi to make sure an add-in card does truly work. Though the Live! works fine in his wife's rig...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    go through with the fresh install, it's your best bet, and yes it is time consuming. Windows is screwed up on the bottom line, it goes whacky for no reason. If that doesn't work, then contact your motherboard manufacturer.

    Man I hate it when this stuff happens, it's illogical and just whack. And the thing I hate the most - it literally could be anything.
     
  9. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,601 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    PCI bus lock/sync is out of whack is what it sounds like.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well just got Vista re-installed, working on installing drivers, etc. Didn't take too long, Vista is pretty quick and painless to re-install.

    But with just Vista standard drivers it's already re-defaulted to the Digital output, and I have no sound at the moment through my headphones...so seems like we're back at square one, I'll get the Realtek drivers installed (it's ALC885 iirc too if anyone is wondering, something similar to that effect) and see what happens.

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    Call up your mobi manufacturer, they might have that problem on file, and you might get a replacement if you are on warrenty
     
  12. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've had the board a year now, no longer have the packaging (tossed that stuff when I gave it to my friend, he didn't want any of the packaging), I've searched for DFI, really found nothing on this issue.

    But I got the drivers installed, no change at all...actually atm I have no sound from the rear green output. I'm tired, so I'm gonna hit the sack and if I get time tomorrow after work, I'm going to clear the CMOS, if that doesn't help, then I'll rip the rig apart and search for areas that might have a possible short or bad ground.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,833 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,285
    Location:
    US
    Not a faulty wire is it ? or dirty connection.. Just a thought.
     
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,527 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,547
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I am having the same thought, I had a similar trouble when a 3.5 jack went south and shorted out...
     
  15. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I've had this problem with a new PSU, with two PSU's of the same model. Blurry sound and a high-pitched screech on high volume.
    Even though that might not be your problem, try to rule out the PSU as well.
     
  16. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,188
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well I did a tear-down not too long ago, found a small dust pile covering the Realtek chip, cleaned that up, changed nothing...inspected wiring for shorts, nada, MB was clear. I just popped in my X-Fi Xtreme Music to see how that fares on this board...I have a feeling the sound chip on this board decided to go tits up, it is acting similarly to the failing sound on my old Asus P5B Deluxe...which prompted me to get the X-Fi at that time.

    I'll report back in a little bit with some at least hopeful results. Aside from the sound this PC is running top notch and very solid, the voltages are solid in the Antec PSU, the MB is running solid (only at 400FSB though...nothing too stressful really...). Unfortunately I don't feel like un-doing all the cable management I did to this case as of yet to verify if it's in-fact a PSU problem considering there is nothing else wrong at this point in time. But if it comes to that I have my PC P&C or Corsair HX520 in either of my rigs I could unravel if nothing else works. :toast:

    EDIT: Yep the X-Fi works like a charm...nice and clear, loud and static/distortion free...I guess goodbye ALC885 on-board. Now to find him a good deal on a decent sound card...any suggestions? 5.1, possibly X-Fi (not required, but I have plenty of experience w/the xtreme music, I love this sound card!).

    Also how does the Xtreme Music replacement, the XtremeGamer 7.1 stack up? ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829102006 )...it's lo-pro, but I know that doesn't necessarily mean bad...and it has FP connections, which would be more useful for him than me. But at that price..hell, it's rediculous, I spent around 60 shipped on my XtremeMusic around two years ago!
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Specsaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    126 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth, The North Part of It
    i guess gamer is a good option precisely for the reasons you mentioned but at similar price there is a much newer card out there that beats the gamer. Talking about the X-Fi Titanium - it is PCI-e, comes with Dolby encoding and both optical input AND output right on the board. PCI-e is supposed to be better for audio because, unlike PCI, the bus is not shared.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)