• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Should i buy primocache?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.64/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Oh wait, i found a good use for primocache
Write caching for torrents on my NAS/HTPC, to reduce wear on SSD

Torrenting to RAM storage and then moving to SSD reduces writes, and on a mech drive reduces fragmentation (if the whole thing fit in the RAM storage)
 

silentbogo

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,468 (1.46/day)
Location
Kyiv, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB Samsung DDR4 ECC UDIMM
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage ADATA Legend 2TB + ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
VR HMD Google dreamview headset(aka fancy cardboard)
Software Windows 11, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Ohh this makes me want to purchase one of those T3610's off ebay for cheap and stuff it with ram.
I think it's still more financially viable to mod BIOS and just stick an NVME drive in it. With v2 xeons you get PCIe 3.0 on some slots, which means 3GB/s is totally doable.
Did it on my HP Z620, and even on v1 CPU I'm getting enough bandwidth to fully utilize a cheap-ass Goodram PX500 NVME SSD.
Plus, on T3610 you don't even need to solder anything, the entire procedure can be done in software (and ME_Unlock jumper).
Even if you are scared of flashing new firmware or modding BIOS, you can bootstrap an NVME drive just by running a bootloader off a USB flash drive or HDD.
 

alexs20

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I was about to buy PrimoCache but then I realized that they are pure Chinese company, with physical address in China.
Since then I have another question: Should I trust to PrimoCache which is Closed-Source and runs as SYSTEM level service in my PC?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
599 (0.25/day)
Honestly some of the responses here remind me of the same type of people who outright dismiss Optane drives.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,546 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
I was about to buy PrimoCache but then I realized that they are pure Chinese company, with physical address in China.
Since then I have another question: Should I trust to PrimoCache which is Closed-Source and runs as SYSTEM level service in my PC?
That's a solid question. The answer is ultimately going to be up to you. There are many things that come out of China that are perfectly safe. During the testing a few months ago, no "iffy" behaviors were exhibited, and I was paying careful attention. If you're worried, use firewall rules to block it from access to the internet.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
That's a solid question. The answer is ultimately going to be up to you. There are many things that come out of China that are perfectly safe. During the testing a few months ago, no "iffy" behaviors were exhibited, and I was paying careful attention. If you're worried, use firewall rules to block it from access to the internet.
I actually trust lex to be paranoid about that sort of thing, so his opinion has some weight there
 

Rob_mc_1

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hi,

I am currently in the process of upgrading my system. Current system is dual e5-2630 v1 with 64 gb ram with a 1 tb 2.5in ssd for os and apps and a 4 tb hdd for my data and profile.

The system I'm moving to will be 12700k with 64 gb ram. I do have a 2tb nvme drive to replace the os drive but I will be sticking with the 4tb hdd for storage. I was looking at primocache as an option to tier cache the old 1 tb as cache for the 4 tb data drive. I was not planning on doing ram cache. Based on the comments earlier that seems to be its focus.

I was just looking at primo being $30 while a 4 tb ssd replacement being more.

In my scenerio, would it be worth it?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
6,706 (1.68/day)
Primocache is essentially superfetch on steroids. Short-term satisfaction is good (so as "on paper" numbers), but actual daily benefits are highly questionable, especially if you are already running an SSD.
You really don't know what you're talking about then, I've been using it on & off for over half a decade & it just works! Except for some unexpected power loss scenarios there's nothing like it out there ~ not even close :rolleyes:
Write caching for torrents on my NAS/HTPC, to reduce wear on SSD
Use defer write for that.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
613 (0.19/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 5950X /2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard ASUS DARK HERO / ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 16GB (4x 8GB) 4000M TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4
Video Card(s) ZOTAC AMP EXTREME AIRO 4090 / 1080 Ti /290X CFX
Storage SAMSUNG 980 PRO SSD 1TB/ WD DARK 770 2TB , Sabrent NVMe 512GB / 1 SSD 250GB / 1 HHD 3 TB
Display(s) Thermal Grizzly WireView / TCL 646 55 TV / 50 Xfinity Hisense A6 XUMO TV
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply FSP Hydro PTM PRO 1200W ATX 3.0 PCI-E GEN-5 80 Plus Platinum - EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
Hi,
If you fill in your system spec's everyone that post on your threads... would already know this and more

Asus ROG boards come with ramcache included
I've personally never used it some buddies use it mainly for benchmarks and some use it for programs
Vulnerabilities execute through memory so it's a double edged sword feature like virtual machine/ virtualization which I always disable one less security hole.
More trouble than its worth, for so little return.
My Sabrent NVMe M.2 PCIe Gen4 x4 Interface is more than enough.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-12-22 172551MI.png
    Screenshot 2021-12-22 172551MI.png
    827.2 KB · Views: 127
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,546 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
In my scenerio, would it be worth it?
Honestly, it will depend on your usage scenario. The great thing is the download includes a 30day trial, so once you get your new system, you can try it out and see if it'll work for you. If it does, you buy a copy and you're off and running. If it doesn't work for you, at least you'll know.

If you need some advice or tip for getting it setup and optimized for your system, chime in here and we'll help you get things sorted out.

BTW, welcome to TPU!
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Bumping this older thread, to show that primocache does have a benefit on modern systems: reducing writes.
They had a long convoluted article about it, boils down to the cache being TRIM aware so it can "un-delete" files without a full re-write of them so certain files getting re-used over and over saves on many writes over time.

Smaller number since my system just booted, but over the last week, i've been seeing an average 20% reduction in writes on my C: drive consistently. Games and downloads drives see about a 1% reduction.
1649034837952.png

My C: is a 128GB partition containing just the OS: no documents, downloads, desktop folders, no games, no torrents. Just the OS and installed programs like web browsers.

a 20% increase of lifespan on my boot SSD? Worth it to me.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
1,260 (0.91/day)
I was about to buy PrimoCache but then I realized that they are pure Chinese company, with physical address in China.
Since then I have another question: Should I trust to PrimoCache which is Closed-Source and runs as SYSTEM level service in my PC?
Doesn't the latest Diskeeper have a RAM cache feature? Would be interesting to test it.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Doesn't the latest Diskeeper have a RAM cache feature? Would be interesting to test it.
Do you mean this?
That's a monthly cost, while diskeeper itself is long abandoned
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
1,260 (0.91/day)
Do you mean this?...
Oh, yeah - I meant that - the DymaxIO, it still contains Diskeeper, I just forgot they'd combine it into a blob and made it a service, which understandably is undesirable. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
8,946 (6.07/day)
Location
Louisianna
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
After looking at some of my oldest now 10 year old ssd's I'm not worried about wear and tear :laugh:


1649087615993.png
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
11,908 (1.85/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
i've been seeing an average 20% reduction in writes on my C: drive
I'm confused. Where are you seeing 20%?

Beyond that, I see in your screen shot, 870MB of writes. 870MB is nothing.

For example, if you take the budget minded Samsung 870 EVO SSD and scroll down to the section "Industry-defining reliability" and note the following fine print where it says (my bold added)

* Warrantied TBW (terabytes written) for 870 EVO: 150 TBW for 250 GB model, 300 TBW for 500 GB model, 600 TBW for 1 TB model, 1,200 TBW for 2 TB model and 2,400 TBW for 4 TB model.

If you were to write a whopping 30GB to the SSD each and every day, 365 days a year, that is still only 10.95TB per year. And note that super budget 250GB SSD is rated for 150 TBW. That means if you wrote 30GB per day, 365 days per year, it would take 13.7 years (150/10.95) to wear that drive out. You would hit the 5 year warranty long before that.

Look at the 2TB SSD. With 1,200 TBW and that same 30GB every day, it would take 40,000 days or 109 years!

How many people write 30GB to their disk in one day, let alone every day, all year long, year after year? What are the odds our hard drives will last 13 years? How about our RAM sticks, PSUs, motherboards, CPUs, you name it!

Terabytes written.

The write limit with first generation SSDs was certainly a problem for a few folks in certain scenarios. But, these days, several generations later, there just isn't the need to worry about wearing out our SSDs anymore. The odds are clearly in our favor that the rest of our computer components will die, or be replaced due to obsolescence (or the upgrade "itch) before we reach the write limits on our SSDs.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
1,202 (0.74/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5800x3D
Motherboard MSI MPG x570S EDGE MAX WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS XAF-F1451
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ripjaws V Samsung B-Die Dual Rank F4-4000C16D-32GVKA
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF GAMING RTX 4070ti
Storage 17tb (8+4tb WD Black HDD's, 2+2+0.5+0.5tb M.2 SSD Drives) + 16tb WD Red Pro backup drive
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, Sony X85K 43" 4k 120hz HDR TV
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, Rival 3 + Rival 3 wireless, JLab Epic Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless + Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/s2y7ny
I went to the website and it "accelerates" hdd's for example by writing the file to a cache first then transferring the data over a period of time, that's what I'm doing already so this is a redundancy that isn't needed imo, it's not magically making the hdd faster. I already minimize ssd writes by moving temp and download folders to an hdd.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
I'm confused. Where are you seeing 20%?

Beyond that, I see in your screen shot, 870MB of writes. 870MB is nothing.

For example, if you take the budget minded Samsung 870 EVO SSD and scroll down to the section "Industry-defining reliability" and note the following fine print where it says (my bold added)



If you were to write a whopping 30GB to the SSD each and every day, 365 days a year, that is still only 10.95TB per year. And note that super budget 250GB SSD is rated for 150 TBW. That means if you wrote 30GB per day, 365 days per year, it would take 13.7 years (150/10.95) to wear that drive out. You would hit the 5 year warranty long before that.

Look at the 2TB SSD. With 1,200 TBW and that same 30GB every day, it would take 40,000 days or 109 years!

How many people write 30GB to their disk in one day, let alone every day, all year long, year after year? What are the odds our hard drives will last 13 years? How about our RAM sticks, PSUs, motherboards, CPUs, you name it!

Terabytes written.

The write limit with first generation SSDs was certainly a problem for a few folks in certain scenarios. But, these days, several generations later, there just isn't the need to worry about wearing out our SSDs anymore. The odds are clearly in our favor that the rest of our computer components will die, or be replaced due to obsolescence (or the upgrade "itch) before we reach the write limits on our SSDs.
That screenshot was showing since last boot. The amount of data was small because the system had just rebooted, and i already stated that the drive is pure OS + browsers - it doesnt do large writes.
That's the whole point. reducing smaller writes to save the SSD.



Here it is again today, after gaming. 28.5% reduction.
1649126790335.png

That number can show values of data still in the cache to be written, but the buffer is empty here.

All i've done this reboot is Dying light + edge (TPU+email)
Heres E: (user folders like desktop, downloads etc)
1649126966197.png


and D: (Steam/games)
1649127000803.png



As i stated earlier, primocache can save on repetetive file use that deletes and creates the same files via TRIM usage (somehow) - and lighter tasks like browsing and gaming, shows some good lifespan gains.

I don't benefit from the read caching much, but the write caching is helping for sure.
My two drives and their life usage. A lot to go, but with efforts like this i can keep using them another 10 years.

1649126700362.png
 

Attachments

  • 1649126990609.png
    1649126990609.png
    9.4 KB · Views: 56
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.49/day)
I believe GTA V wastes a LOT of time hitting the rockstar servers, so your underlying storage medium is nearly irrelevant.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
2,502 (1.35/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 13700k
Motherboard Asrock Z690 Steel Legend D4 - Bios 13.02
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE 10G
Storage 1TB 980 PRO (OS, games), 2TB SN850X (games), 2TB DC P4600 (work), 2x 3TB WD Red, 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750 Gold
Software Windows 10 21H2 LTSC
Having found this thread when it got linked from a newer thread.

I feel the best use of this program is making it run like the ZFS L2 cache setup.

So basically use a NAND drive to accelerate a Spindle, and in addition if you have a UPS (ideally with auto hibernate/shutdown setup on low battery in case unattended) then also enable write-defer for NAND drives.

So basically a configurable software version of the SSHD concept.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top