1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI 9800gtx Poor 3dmark06 score

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by dendrobates, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I need help guys I have no idea why but I only get in the 9000's with my SLI 9800gtx setup.

    MB: ASUS a8n32 deluxe
    Proc: Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.4ghz
    Memory: 4gb pc3200 Gskill (I think)
    HD: 250gb IDE
    PSU: Corsair TX750 60amp 12v rail
    Video: 2 Zotac 9800gtx Amp edition at 750mhz core and 2300 memory
    O.S.: Vista Home Premium 64bit

    Something is holding my system back and I can't seem to figure it out. Gaming is right about where I was with a single 7900GTX. Scores are very close in single mode also maybe 1000 difference.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    it's your CPU DDR memory and the motherboard
     
    dendrobates says thanks.
  3. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's making THAT much of a difference? Where is the biggest bottleneck maybe I can overclock to help until I can afford to get something newer.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    cpu is killing the score
     
    dendrobates says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    overclocking on that platform will not help much.

    on a core2 E8400 non overclocked system should get 13k + just with one 9800GTX

    over clocked to 4.2 and it jumpes up to 17k
     
  6. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I swear this computer is costing me an arm and a leg just to be able to play semi recent games at decent framerates.

    How much performace can I expect to get from say an E8500 setup.

    You responded before I could finish my question so nevermind
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    about the same as the E8400 maybe + 200 - 250 points that's it.
     
  8. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    CPU, i barly broke 10k with Crossfire 3850+3870 with my x2 @ 2.5 in 06
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,165 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    No point in buying 2x 9800GTX with the rest of that rig.....waste of money because of bottlenecks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,115 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I can barely hit 12.2k in 06mark with my windsor at 3.3ghz and 943mhz ram! mind you that's with one gtx, but cd2s at 4ghz can do 16k on a single card... I want one!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,642 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,070
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    I score ~18700 with two 9800 GTXs, slightly OCed with cpu at 3.825MHz. Was on a really dirty windows install though.

    cheers
    DS
     
    dendrobates says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,115 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    That's getting more like it...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    the last good highend SLI option for AMD's was in all honesty the 7900's after that we saw bottlenecks with a single card and barly any point for dual cards
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok I need some advice then on new components I did some looking and what are your opinions on.

    Motherboard


    Processor


    Memory

    This will leave some room for growth.

    If you have a better idea feel free to let me know.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    if its in your budget nice parts there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,115 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    nice cpu, if you can afford that, you've got a 4ghz on air cpu!
    Good price on 1066 memory..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
  18. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I like the ASUS because it leaves 1 pci-e 1x open in tri sli for sound card so I don't have to use onboard crap. It also comes with a sound card instead of buit in to MB. The OCZ ram is nice (the second one) but has same timings as what I already listed. Is it better??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i can feel you brother..

    my rig that failed like urs getting only 11k

    2 x 8800gt
    6000+
    3.5gig ram
    700watt...

    why am i saying this??? i have no clue


    what do we have in common... at all?! *cougH* amd dualcore

    i think its ur cpu and probably overclocking it to 3.0 wont help either.. its just dotn cut it
     
    dendrobates says thanks.
  20. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    the slot on the ASUS is for their lil soundcard that comes with it. OCZ just my preference i clock it to 1200mhz without skipping a beat.
     
  21. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Or one of the Creative pci-e x-fi soundcards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,684 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    ur proc sounds good e8400 or e8500, i'd go with ddr1066 ram if i were u just to help that oc on your cpu to get more out of ur gpu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  24. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
     
  25. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    716 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Q6600 @3.0Ghz G0 stepping - 2GB ram @667mhz - only GTS320MB OC by me =12300 in 3dmark06
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)